We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4323 Highway 52 N.W. Frontage Rd., Rochester, MN 55901-4154   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Rochester
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Just average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed in a two room suite and it was arranged strangely - sort of a long room. Things were well-worn and there was water damage on the ceiling. We were not next to the pool but could still hear all the noises from kids playing in the pool area. And the lights outside disrupted our sleep. The people were helpful about checking us in but it was really just an average hotel. If you're going to Mayo, you might look for the new Holiday Inn on Broadway. The Country Inns is a bit of a trek to Mayo.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I don’t believe this review is for the correct hotel. The Rochester Country Inn and Suites North, does not offer a two bedroom suite. Guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us, should you find yourself in the area again, we invite you to stay at the Rochester Country Inn and Suites North.



Sincerely,



Hana Anderson

Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    23
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
31
14
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I have reviewed this hotel in the past, and it has been a good choice for the money. This stay was significantly worse than any other stay. Upon check-in, we were informed that a company was steam cleaning the entire hotel. The lobby smelled quite strongly of whatever chemical used to clean and was very unpleasant. Due to allergies, I requested our room not be cleaned until after our stay. We thought our room was relatively clean. The next morning we left for a trip to Minneapolis. Upon our return eight hours later, our room had not been cleaned, but the blankets were thrown over the top of the beds. No trash was emptied, the bathroom was not clean, the sheets were not even straightened. On top of it all, we found medication that did not belong to us on the floor of our room near the bathroom. This is quite disturbing since we have a small child. I informed the front desk of the medication and the general state of our room. The front desk offered us a new room, but the new room had been cleaned that day. The carpet was still very wet, so the room was quite humid and smelled strongly. We asked to not stay in that room. Our PTAC unit did not efficiency cool the room and was very loud. When I talked to the front desk the next morning about this, the lady was very dismissive of my problems and offered no solution. I tried to contact corporate when we arrived home on Monday (Memorial Day) and to-date have received no response. I would not stay at this property given the lack of cleanliness and response to my issues.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester C, Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. It is very important for the hotel to receive feedback in order to improve the guests overall experience. I also want to apologize for the issues you dealt with and I am sorry that we did not get a chance to speak during your stay with us.

The items found in your room are unacceptable and we have addressed them with our housekeeping team. I have also discussed the issues with the front desk staff and have made sure that the communication with housekeeping, as well as the carpet cleaners, is very prompt and clearly understood. I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to improve our operations in the hope you do stay at our property again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I called to book one Saturday night stay. They said ok, it would be $129 + tax. She put me on hold to start the booking process. When she came on the line, she indicated she was required to book a minimum of 2 nights for that weekend at $116+ tax a night. One night was not available. When I questioned her why 10 minutes ago one night was available and now it's not, she said didn't know why but the computer wouldn't let her book just 1 night. Confused by this, I hung up and called Comfort Inn on Brandel Rd. I was able to book one night at $90+ tax. Call Comfort Inn on Brandel at 507.289.3344

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester C, Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. I apologize our front desk staff was not made aware prior to your call that we had a two night minimum stay that weekend due to a special event. We have taken steps to be sure our front desk staff members are fully informed of any restrictions we may have to avoid situations like this in the future. We hope you give us a chance to make things right and try the Country Inn & Suites Rochester again next time you find yourself in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aledo, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We greatly enjoyed our stay at Country Inn & Suites at Rochester, South for twelve nights
during March! Extraordinary staff/service, and most helpful at all times! What a pleasure
to have a very clean and very quiet room. Country Inn and Suites is truly "home away from home",
and that is so great when you have clinic appointments, and you feel like you are "home"
when you return to this great property! We highly recommend this property to anyone
visiting the Rochester, MN area! Also, the breakfast is most delicious, and the shuttle service
is always on time. What a lovely property, and super staff/service!!!! P.S. Loved the cookies!!!!

Room Tip: All great rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed here for a two nights March 21-23. The room was clean and comfortable with new flat screens and delicious smelling Pantene shampoo and Vaseline lotion. I think this is the first time I actually bought a product based on a free sample!

The only downside is the people that want a complimentary cookie and don't use the tongs and instead touch several cookies before getting the one they want. Yuck.

The front desk was really helpful and Country Inn has a great points redemption program unlike some others.

Easy to navigate to the Mayo from here and close to Target and other of our favorites like Chipotle and Panera.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilberts, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

comforable beds and pillows,quiet. We were there for the Mayo clinic and I took the shuttle back and forth. It is the first pick up but the shuttle also stops at 4 other places. They have a good variety for breakfast. We also enjoyed the hot tub. If you like to work out skip place. The machines are broken and room is small.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed here over Thanksgiving weekend for around $75/night. The room was clean and the pool area was nice but small. Our showerhead didn't have a great deal of pressure, but that wouldn't stop me from staying here again. It seemed very popular with families with young children (as we were). So, there was some noise from the hall, but it was blocked out pretty well. The breakfast was good but the items were not refilled very quickly. Easy to find with quite a few food options nearby and not far from a mall and Target.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN

Address: 4323 Highway 52 N.W. Frontage Rd., Rochester, MN 55901-4154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Rochester, MN hotel offers all the essential modern amenities for your relaxing stay near the Mayo Clinic, University of Minnesota Rochester and IBM Rochester headquarters. The Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN offers free shuttle service to the Mayo Clinic in downtown Rochester as well as the IBM headquarters and the Rochester International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Carlson, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Rochester Hotel Rochester
Country Inn And Suites Rochester
Country Inn Rochester
Rochester Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.