We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall best experience at a hotel ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mayo Patient Rate
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
Tulsa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overall best experience at a hotel ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The manager and staff are just phenomenal, kind, accomodating, very nice. Hotel and rooms are very well kept and clean. Very convenient location connected to the Skyway and subway to Mayo Clinic, shops, restaurants, etc. THe hotel offers a free taxi/shuttle service to take you to places nearby. Very nice personnel, responsible and kind. We stayed at the Marriott and had a good experience as well, but the Hilton was just phenomenal and better value.

Room Tip: Any but second floor is the busiest as it connects to the skyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear MauiTulsa: Wow, what a compliment! Thank you very much for your post. We couldn't be happier to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sure that our General Manager will pass along these great comments to our staff. We welcome you back anytime your travels bring you to Rochester, MN. Thank you again!
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    96
    41
    9
    7
See reviews for
71
42
42
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn (HGI) for 4 nights while my wife had several appointments at the Mayo Clinic. We choose the HGI based on price and Trip Advisor reviews. The HGI is not a luxury or full service hotel. It is a very nice and clean standard hotel. There is no restaurant on the property; however, they do offer breakfast and they have a full kitchen where they prepare hot food for the breakfast meal. They also offer cold cereal, oatmeal, various pastries, toast/english muffins, fruit, and yogurt. There is also a small bar serving drinks in the evening.

The HGI was exactly what we needed, our room was very clean and comfortable. We had a King Jr Suite. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel room beds I've slept on. I liked that we could run the fan on the HVAC unit - we did this at night to create "white noise" - as you know, staying in any hotel you tend to hear other people, the HVAC fan running helps drown that out.

The only drawback is that the HGI is one of the further hotels from the Mayo Clinic. If you plan on walking there, you can do this without having to go outside (using skyways and walking subways). It took us about 10 mins to walk there via the skyways and subways. There are shops and restaurants along the way to the Mayo Clinic so you can grab coffee or food along the way. There are closer hotels (Khaler and Marriott) but I cannot speak to their quality. Summary: if we go back to the Mayo Clinic, we would stay at the HGI again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Hawaii3708: Thank you very much for your post and we are glad to hear that you will stay with us again when you return to Rochester. For the walk, yes we are connecting via skyway/subway to the Mayo Clinic. If this is not a preferrable option, can I recommend that you utilize our complimentary Town Car service. Our Town Car can drop you off at your needed building and then also pick you back up to return to the hotel. If you need anything further, please email me at deb.knox@hilton.com
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Everything was great had everything we needed and very clean. Didn't have any issues with anything. Came in very late every night security was great and felt safe. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Rochester. Convenient to Mayo clinic and Rochester convention center.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Dasher621 ~ Thank you very much for your kind post about our hotel and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. If your travels should have you returning to Rochester, we would love to have you stay with us again. Thank you
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel is in downtown Rochester, MN and connected to the skyway and subway covered walking systems. It was great to walk just a few steps to the mall and nearby restaurants. The staff at the Hilton are very sweet and willing to help with anything. The hotel has free pick-up and drop-off service to St. Marys Hospital which was perfect during my stay with my mother in the hospital. I would stay at this hotel again if we ever have to go back to The Mayo Clinic or St Marys Hospital.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear SJW675: Thank you very much for taking the time to post your kind comments. We are very glad to hear that we provided you with a great stay while you were here in Rochester and look forward to your return. If you need anything further, please just email me at deb.knox@hilton.com
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire WI
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times. Wonderful for the business traveler, and also Mayo patients. It is connected to the skyway/subway system. Rooms are a bit expensive, as is the breakfast, though the breakfast is very good. Beds were not comfortable, and noise level from the alley in the back of hotel woke me at 5am each day. Hotel is clean, has great amenities, fitness center, pool, whirlpool and cozy bar for hotel guests. Walking distance to anything you need. For the price, I would expect a better sleep experience, which I did not have.

Room Tip: Select a room on the front of the hotel to eliminate the noise from the alley in back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear mcbarkr: Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments about our hotel. I am glad that you enjoy your time with us, but if you could please send me an email with your full name and the dates that you last stayed to deb.knox@hilton.com, I will make sure to add notes on your folio that you prefer the east side of the hotel. This should alert the staff when you check in the next time with us. Thank you.
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marengo, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Mayo Patients are taken care of at the Hilton Garden Inn. The front desk people are always welcoming. Jason always gets us to the places we need to be. Michael helps us find different places to visit. Our rooms are always clean. The managers are always eager to make our stay as good as it can be, The breakfast staff always have a good, hearty breakfast for their guests.
Way to go--Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear KH: Thank you very much for the great post about our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that if you should need to return to Rochester that you will continue to stay with us. Thank you again!
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

A really nice property for Mayo patients. There are special patient rates and you'll never have to go outside into the weather if you don't want to. Everything is connected by either subway or enclosed walkways.

The staff is really nice and the amenities are complete. Restaurant and bar offers good service. Cooked to order breakfast is the best way to start your day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the street side. Rooms on the back are quite noisy when the trash is dumped betwee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear AlabamaTraveljack: Thank you for your kind post about our hotel. I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. If there is anything that I can assist you with prior to your next visit to Rochester, please just email me at deb.knox@hilton.com. Thank you again for staying with us!
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown

Address: 225 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rochester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#12 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown Hotel Rochester
Hilton Rochester
Rochester Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.