We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Has the Name, That's About It"” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 South Broadway Ave., Rochester, MN 55904 (Formerly Rochester City Centre Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #43 of 57 Hotels in Rochester
Cable, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"Has the Name, That's About It"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I just don't understand why some hotels make the entries and walk through areas 10x the size that's needed, to find the rooms (and bathrooms) are so small you feel like you're in a closet. Lighting in the room was horrendous, with all of them on it was still like being in a cave with a candle lit. I think the room was clean but really couldn't tell because I really couldn't see. I had booked two nights which meant 3 days in parking. They didn't tell me there was a $12 parking charge per day so that was disturbing. On top of that, We booked over the Christmas holiday when the parking WAS suppose to be free and got charged any way. The only two good things I can say about this place was the staff and the location. Of course you don't sleep in the closet with the staff, and I would have, and will drive a mile or two from downtown next time I book in that area. If this helps, please mark it helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear John F,

We appreciate that you took the time to share your review of your recent experience at our property. This feedback is very helpful to us as we establish our best path to providing successful guest satisfaction.

While we are pleased to hear you found our staff and location commendable, we would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations in regards to some aspects of your stay. We certainly regret the room you received was not to your liking.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Pierz, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had emailed the hotel beforehand to get directions and parking info. The staff that emailed back gave perfect directions and tips for parking. It does cost $12/night for parking; just bring your ticket to the front desk and they'll give you a different one. That way you can come and go out of the lot as many times as you need to without paying individually each time. Park as close to the ramp exit on the second floor (east side). Not that it's a big deal, but if you park on the second level closest to the elevators and skyway, you'll have to go up to third level of the ramp before being able to come back down when leaving. I bet that makes no sense at all, but you'll understand once you see it. Second floor is where you enter the hotel and where the registration desk is. Hotel staff were friendly and put up with a huge group of us (14 yr old JO volleyball team and families). Rooms were nice and clean. Lots of pillows. Decent sized fridge and a microwave in our room. Pool was so-so. The girls said it was cold. It's just a small rectangle. No hottub; which was disappointing to the adults and girls. We didn't try the sauna or the on-site bar. Maybe it's a restaurant too; not sure. Because we were a big group, our coach emailed the hotel to make the reservations and we were told there was continental breakfast. Not sure what the deal was, but when we got there, the staff said "no, we don't serve breakfast". Hmmmm...... some sort of mix-up I guess but they did accomodate and serve us breakfast both mornings and we got to pick the time so that we would make our volleyball matches on time. Very nice of them!!! And even a sign welcoming us to breakfast each morning :)

Room Tip: I would choose an 8th floor room just so the noises from rooms above won't be an issue. Rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArubaOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The location is convenient but after staying there I would stay at the double tree that connects to it. It is old and outdated. If you are lucky you may get a room that does not have internet or enough space to walk between the bed and TV.
The only upside to this hotel is that they give you drink coupons upon check in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alecia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Alecia P,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. we appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding our rooms. We will look into this. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River, MN
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent one night here in a basic room, the bed was large and comfortable. The room was a little small and claustrophobic though this may be an exception because we backed up to the private elevator. Everything was clean. Wifi worked well. Staff was pleasant and helpful.
The skyway to May clinic was handy but dont expect the trip between there and the hotel to be short, the walk took about twenty minutes with alof of foot traffic from other people and it is quite a busy place. There is a caribou in between which is handy as well:)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Wonderful desk staff, nice bar and friendly service. Food adequate with fair prices. Large rooms with comfortable mattresses. Bathroom a bit small by useable. Convenient parking. Elevators are quiet with central vending and ice station. Room rates very competitive with neighboring hotels. Book online for best rate.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alpenkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menominee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

For medical reasons we stayed at this hotel. Parking was Excellant, staff was very nice and accomodating, rooms were clean but I did have a few issues with a bobby pin and some plastic item which I couldn't identify on the floor so housekeeping needs a little work but overall pretty clean. If you are a patient at the Mayo although parking and the clinic were in walking distance I would get a little closer if you have a "run out of steam" issue but overall a good price for the room. Resturant we ate at I believe it was called the Thyme was very good service wise and food wise but prices were a little high.
I gave it this rating because of the staff who were EXTREMELY accomdating!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstef99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Mountain, Michigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Parking lot under renovation too took 20 minutes just to get out one morning. Quite inconvenient. Breakfast restaurant service was slow. Very convenient to Mayo Clinic. Rooms were nice. Short stay. Did not try restaurant for any other meals.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowshoer811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.3 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#26 of 57 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#34 of 57 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 stars 972 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Rochester-Downtown
Days Inn Rochester-Downtown
#42 of 57 in Rochester
3.0 of 5 stars 511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown

Address: 220 South Broadway Ave., Rochester, MN 55904 (Formerly Rochester City Centre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 57 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient address among Rochester, Minnesota hotels. Experience the community named the 'Best Small City in America' by Money Magazine, where cosmopolitan atmosphere meets Midwestern hospitality. Located in the heart of this bustling locale, the Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown offers a memorable destination for your next vacation or business trip. Look to our downtown Mayo Clinic area hotel for direct climate-controlled subway/skyway access to the city's attractions, including the world-famous Mayo Clinic, St. Mary's Hospital and Methodist Hospital. Explore the Shops at University Square just one block by the pedestrian skyway. Enjoy classic family fun at Silver Lake Park or Graham Arena-both just one mile away. You'll find our deluxe Rochester, Minnesota hotel provides spacious accommodations and convenient services in a comfortable setting. Well-appointed spacious rooms are just the beginning at our downtown Holiday Inn hotel. Be sure to enjoy our Thyme Restaurant and Lounge featuring creative entrees, cocktails and featuring live music every Friday night. Parking is available in city owned parking ramp adjacent to hotel at $13.50 Plus tax per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rochester
Holiday Inn Mayo Clinic
Rochester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing