We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two weeks at this place on business” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 South Broadway Ave., Rochester, MN 55904 (Formerly Rochester City Centre Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #33 of 55 Hotels in Rochester
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Two weeks at this place on business”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The location is convenient but after staying there I would stay at the double tree that connects to it. It is old and outdated. If you are lucky you may get a room that does not have internet or enough space to walk between the bed and TV.
The only upside to this hotel is that they give you drink coupons upon check in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Alecia P,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. we appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding our rooms. We will look into this. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    32
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
30
15
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elk River, MN
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent one night here in a basic room, the bed was large and comfortable. The room was a little small and claustrophobic though this may be an exception because we backed up to the private elevator. Everything was clean. Wifi worked well. Staff was pleasant and helpful.
The skyway to May clinic was handy but dont expect the trip between there and the hotel to be short, the walk took about twenty minutes with alof of foot traffic from other people and it is quite a busy place. There is a caribou in between which is handy as well:)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful desk staff, nice bar and friendly service. Food adequate with fair prices. Large rooms with comfortable mattresses. Bathroom a bit small by useable. Convenient parking. Elevators are quiet with central vending and ice station. Room rates very competitive with neighboring hotels. Book online for best rate.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menominee
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

For medical reasons we stayed at this hotel. Parking was Excellant, staff was very nice and accomodating, rooms were clean but I did have a few issues with a bobby pin and some plastic item which I couldn't identify on the floor so housekeeping needs a little work but overall pretty clean. If you are a patient at the Mayo although parking and the clinic were in walking distance I would get a little closer if you have a "run out of steam" issue but overall a good price for the room. Resturant we ate at I believe it was called the Thyme was very good service wise and food wise but prices were a little high.
I gave it this rating because of the staff who were EXTREMELY accomdating!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Mountain, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Parking lot under renovation too took 20 minutes just to get out one morning. Quite inconvenient. Breakfast restaurant service was slow. Very convenient to Mayo Clinic. Rooms were nice. Short stay. Did not try restaurant for any other meals.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We made three trips to Rochester in 2012 and stayed 46 nights. From our first stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown we never considered staying anywhere else. The convenient skyway access to the Mayo Clinic fit our needs perfectly. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the food and service in the restaurant is excellent and the bar is a great gathering place for strangers at the end of a long day. We could always count on a smile, friendly hello and a nice cold drink when Mike and Bert were working. In the restaurant, Michelle, anticipated our needs before we did! She provided excellent service. Above all the atmosphere is warm and inviting. Cherrie and her staff are wonderful, caring, professionals that pay attention to the smallest details. The staff truly works together as a team and it shows in all that they do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I was very pleased, from the exceptional customer service, to the comfortable Serta mattress, to the entire new decor. This is an improved Holiday Inn with a wonderful look and great customer service attitude! Bathrooms are small but updated and the granite touches are lovely. Easy access could be an issue until you know the ropes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown

Address: 220 South Broadway Ave., Rochester, MN 55904 (Formerly Rochester City Centre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 55 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient address among Rochester, Minnesota hotels. Experience the community named the 'Best Small City in America' by Money Magazine, where cosmopolitan atmosphere meets Midwestern hospitality. Located in the heart of this bustling locale, the Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown offers a memorable destination for your next vacation or business trip. Look to our downtown Mayo Clinic area hotel for direct climate-controlled subway/skyway access to the city's attractions, including the world-famous Mayo Clinic, St. Mary's Hospital and Methodist Hospital. Explore the Shops at University Square just one block by skyway. Enjoy classic family fun at Silver Lake Park or Graham Arena-both just one mile away. You'll find our deluxe Rochester, Minnesota hotel provides spacious accommodations and convenient services in a comfortable setting. Well-appointed spacious rooms are just the beginning at our downtown Holiday Inn hotel. Be sure to enjoy our Thyme Restaurant and Lounge featuring creative entrees, cocktails and Papa Gotti's New York Style Thin-Crust Pizza. Parking is available in city owned parking ramp adjacent to hotel at $13.00 Plus tax per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rochester
Holiday Inn Mayo Clinic
Rochester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.