We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Straight forward” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 South Broadway Ave., Rochester, MN 55904 (Formerly Rochester City Centre Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 53 hotels in Rochester
Elk River, MN
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Straight forward”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent one night here in a basic room, the bed was large and comfortable. The room was a little small and claustrophobic though this may be an exception because we backed up to the private elevator. Everything was clean. Wifi worked well. Staff was pleasant and helpful.
The skyway to May clinic was handy but dont expect the trip between there and the hotel to be short, the walk took about twenty minutes with alof of foot traffic from other people and it is quite a busy place. There is a caribou in between which is handy as well:)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    20
    5
    6
See reviews for
27
12
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful desk staff, nice bar and friendly service. Food adequate with fair prices. Large rooms with comfortable mattresses. Bathroom a bit small by useable. Convenient parking. Elevators are quiet with central vending and ice station. Room rates very competitive with neighboring hotels. Book online for best rate.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menominee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

For medical reasons we stayed at this hotel. Parking was Excellant, staff was very nice and accomodating, rooms were clean but I did have a few issues with a bobby pin and some plastic item which I couldn't identify on the floor so housekeeping needs a little work but overall pretty clean. If you are a patient at the Mayo although parking and the clinic were in walking distance I would get a little closer if you have a "run out of steam" issue but overall a good price for the room. Resturant we ate at I believe it was called the Thyme was very good service wise and food wise but prices were a little high.
I gave it this rating because of the staff who were EXTREMELY accomdating!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Mountain, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Parking lot under renovation too took 20 minutes just to get out one morning. Quite inconvenient. Breakfast restaurant service was slow. Very convenient to Mayo Clinic. Rooms were nice. Short stay. Did not try restaurant for any other meals.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We made three trips to Rochester in 2012 and stayed 46 nights. From our first stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown we never considered staying anywhere else. The convenient skyway access to the Mayo Clinic fit our needs perfectly. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the food and service in the restaurant is excellent and the bar is a great gathering place for strangers at the end of a long day. We could always count on a smile, friendly hello and a nice cold drink when Mike and Bert were working. In the restaurant, Michelle, anticipated our needs before we did! She provided excellent service. Above all the atmosphere is warm and inviting. Cherrie and her staff are wonderful, caring, professionals that pay attention to the smallest details. The staff truly works together as a team and it shows in all that they do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I was very pleased, from the exceptional customer service, to the comfortable Serta mattress, to the entire new decor. This is an improved Holiday Inn with a wonderful look and great customer service attitude! Bathrooms are small but updated and the granite touches are lovely. Easy access could be an issue until you know the ropes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

good location, clean, easy accessible to down town shops and mayo clinic vis skywalk.Free internet. swiming pool at site
i wrote to the manager and he did not respond to me over my 8 days stay( they wrote contact us and we will make your stay comfortable.
Although i booked my room with brake fast and taxes, they added brake fast tax and gratuity of 18% to my bill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown

Address: 220 South Broadway Ave., Rochester, MN 55904 (Formerly Rochester City Centre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 53 hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient address among Rochester, Minnesota hotels. Experience the community named the 'Best Small City in America' by Money Magazine, where cosmopolitan atmosphere meets Midwestern hospitality. Located in the heart of this bustling locale, the Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown offers a memorable destination for your next vacation or business trip. Look to our downtown Mayo Clinic area hotel for direct climate-controlled subway/skyway access to the city's attractions, including the world-famous Mayo Clinic, St. Mary's Hospital and Methodist Hospital. Explore the Shops at University Square just one block by skyway. Enjoy classic family fun at Silver Lake Park or Graham Arena-both just one mile away. You'll find our deluxe Rochester, Minnesota hotel provides spacious accommodations and convenient services in a comfortable setting. Well-appointed spacious rooms are just the beginning at our downtown Holiday Inn hotel. Be sure to enjoy our Thyme Restaurant and Lounge featuring creative entrees, cocktails and Papa Gotti's New York Style Thin-Crust Pizza. Parking is available in city owned parking ramp adjacent to hotel at $13.00 Plus tax per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rochester
Holiday Inn Mayo Clinic
Rochester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.