We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near to Mayo Clinic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 South Broadway Ave., Rochester, MN 55904 (Formerly Rochester City Centre Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #33 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
Menominee
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Near to Mayo Clinic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

For medical reasons we stayed at this hotel. Parking was Excellant, staff was very nice and accomodating, rooms were clean but I did have a few issues with a bobby pin and some plastic item which I couldn't identify on the floor so housekeeping needs a little work but overall pretty clean. If you are a patient at the Mayo although parking and the clinic were in walking distance I would get a little closer if you have a "run out of steam" issue but overall a good price for the room. Resturant we ate at I believe it was called the Thyme was very good service wise and food wise but prices were a little high.
I gave it this rating because of the staff who were EXTREMELY accomdating!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    33
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
31
15
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iron Mountain, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Parking lot under renovation too took 20 minutes just to get out one morning. Quite inconvenient. Breakfast restaurant service was slow. Very convenient to Mayo Clinic. Rooms were nice. Short stay. Did not try restaurant for any other meals.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We made three trips to Rochester in 2012 and stayed 46 nights. From our first stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown we never considered staying anywhere else. The convenient skyway access to the Mayo Clinic fit our needs perfectly. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the food and service in the restaurant is excellent and the bar is a great gathering place for strangers at the end of a long day. We could always count on a smile, friendly hello and a nice cold drink when Mike and Bert were working. In the restaurant, Michelle, anticipated our needs before we did! She provided excellent service. Above all the atmosphere is warm and inviting. Cherrie and her staff are wonderful, caring, professionals that pay attention to the smallest details. The staff truly works together as a team and it shows in all that they do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I was very pleased, from the exceptional customer service, to the comfortable Serta mattress, to the entire new decor. This is an improved Holiday Inn with a wonderful look and great customer service attitude! Bathrooms are small but updated and the granite touches are lovely. Easy access could be an issue until you know the ropes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

good location, clean, easy accessible to down town shops and mayo clinic vis skywalk.Free internet. swiming pool at site
i wrote to the manager and he did not respond to me over my 8 days stay( they wrote contact us and we will make your stay comfortable.
Although i booked my room with brake fast and taxes, they added brake fast tax and gratuity of 18% to my bill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I give it an average because good and bad were balanced. The important things were good: we had a large room with two queen beds, the bathroom was standard with a good shower and plentiful tho well washed and therefore not soft towels. The hotel was quite and centrally located in downtown. Reception was on the second floor because the first floor was office space. The decor was gaudy in the hallways. I found the bed comfortable. There is great turnover because most people staying here are going to the Mayo clinic for evaluation consultation or treatment. The front desk was behind on updating the paperwork and the clerks were discussing who had done more of the filing while the computer was very slow. We got assigned a room that was already occupied and the clerk blamed the customers who had extended their stay but not notified the desk. An employee escorted us to the new room and asked my wife "What brings you to Rottenchester?" the room keys were cards that had to be changed daily because they kept malfunctioning. One time as I was waiting to get a new room key/card the front desk person was telling someone checking in that he was getting a coupon for a free drink so" you can celebrate if your appointment at the Mayo Clinic goes well...or you can have a cup of coffee in the morning." Note: parking in nearby city parking structures is $12/ day thru the hotel with unlimited in and out. The 24 hour charge in the same parking is $12.50 per day and you have to pay each time you leave. Several of the lots are connected to the hotel and the Mayo by skywalks. This was not mentioned when we booked the hotel. Breakfast is Not included in the room rate. Had we known these facts we would have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, which we prefer, which quoted a higher price but includes free parking And free breakfast. Caveat empetor. The HI Downtown does have a pool, sauna and exercise room. So as I said, a mixed bag and therefore 3star rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Of course the hotel was beautiful with great rooms, but the service makes it five stars. From the moment we arrived, the staff was willing to go out of their way to make our experience good. The room was large and very clean. We came into town for Mayo Clinic and we can travel all the way there from our hotel by skywalk or they have a shuttle, which was awesome because it was rainy. There was a bartender that was rude, but when we told Jen and Cherri they profusely apologized for him and told us it was his first night and that they were willing to go to any length to make it right. When we said we didn't need anything extra, they called our room the next morning to tell us that they had dropped breakfast and coffee right outside our door. It was so nice! They definitely went above and beyond on service and I would reccommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown

Address: 220 South Broadway Ave., Rochester, MN 55904 (Formerly Rochester City Centre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient address among Rochester, Minnesota hotels. Experience the community named the 'Best Small City in America' by Money Magazine, where cosmopolitan atmosphere meets Midwestern hospitality. Located in the heart of this bustling locale, the Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown offers a memorable destination for your next vacation or business trip. Look to our downtown Mayo Clinic area hotel for direct climate-controlled subway/skyway access to the city's attractions, including the world-famous Mayo Clinic, St. Mary's Hospital and Methodist Hospital. Explore the Shops at University Square just one block by skyway. Enjoy classic family fun at Silver Lake Park or Graham Arena-both just one mile away. You'll find our deluxe Rochester, Minnesota hotel provides spacious accommodations and convenient services in a comfortable setting. Well-appointed spacious rooms are just the beginning at our downtown Holiday Inn hotel. Be sure to enjoy our Thyme Restaurant and Lounge featuring creative entrees, cocktails and Papa Gotti's New York Style Thin-Crust Pizza. Parking is available in city owned parking ramp adjacent to hotel at $13.00 Plus tax per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rochester
Holiday Inn Mayo Clinic
Rochester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.