We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 5th Avenue Inn & Suites

5th Avenue Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added 5th Avenue Inn & Suites to your Saves list
5th Avenue Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   20 Fifth Avenue NW, Rochester, MN 55901 (Formerly Brentwood on Fifth)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
Shafer, Minnesota
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

It's never fun being sick but I find comfort at this hotel because of the staff. They always treat me with great respect and on days its hard to find a smile they always help me to find one. I like the fact that I am not just another face in the crowd. I have been staying here on an off for just over a year and get the same excellent service and smiles as I did when I started on my journey here. While I was here his time there was a major Winter storm it was crazy busy at the hotel but even then all are needs were taken care of and with a smile. This hotel is very affordable, the rooms are very clean, and new upgrades are taking place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    7
    9
    3
See reviews for
10
5
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kaufman
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We flew in from Texas Jan 21st only planning on staying for one week at the most. We went home April 19th.
Never imagined we would have to stay that long
My husband spent all but one week at St Mary’s hospital.
I needed to find a cheaper place to stay than the Kahler Inn and Suites. So I called around to other hotels in the area. What I needed was a place that would be safe and clean and would give me a discount by the month.
I called the 5th Ave Inn and Suites and they said come on over check out the room and see if you want to stay before you check out of the other hotel.
I felt like I walked into my best friends home to stay for a visit. The people are great they care about you. Sure the hotel has problems but so did the other one for a lot more money.
The shuttle would drop me off at the front door of the hotel and I always know I would find a cup of coffee and a friend to ask how my husband was doing.
We are coming back to Rochester for my husbands second surgery and I’m going back to my room at the 5th Ave Inn and Suites to visit my friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmond, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

we stayed two nights, the rooms were ok, no shampoo, the center of the building is open with railings that didn't look too safe too me, and the pool was empty...we were on the fourth floor and any noise anywhere tended to echo up through the empty center of the building making sleep very intermintent. Breakfast was poor, toaster food, toast or sad waffle squares. A little fruit the first day, none the second. Rolls the first day, none the next. . Elevator was small, but quick and quiet. No greeting from the second desk clerk, first one was ok. Now that I"m home, I might be able to sleep.....We stayed a Thurs night and Friday Night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

As always, I try to save a few dollars, but regretted this decision enough that we changed hotels after the first night. We were at Mayo for three nights one week, staying at the Best Western and three nights the next week with going home on the weekend. We only stayed at 5th Avenue the first night during the second week and moved back to the Best Western. It was worth the extra $40.00/night.
5th Avenue Inn is an older model hotel with each room having a very large plate glass window overlooking the indoor hallway. The room was clean, but old. The one thing we really did not like were the beds. Their were no fitted bottom sheets just the tuck-in kind that comes out very easily. The bottom sheet was not fitted all the way to the bottom, so your feet were all over the bare mattress. The shower pressure was so-so. The room was not dark at night because of hallway and outside light.
The pool was emptied and the breakfast was just bread, donuts, dry cereal and fruit. I guess we each have our own opinion of what is acceptable, and for us, we went elsewhere. Yes it is very close to Mayo, but so are many other hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This place is clean with big rooms. It very convenient to Mayo, short walk. The staff has been friendly, fun and easy to work with. One thing I didn't like was how loud the bathroom fan is. One thing I found interesting is that the bathroom has two doors, one by the dinning area and one by beds/kitchen area. I did like having a refrigerator and microwave, the refrigerator kept my stuff as cold as I wanted it.
If you are looking for a place to stay close to Mayo this is a good place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Iowa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Tim and I love to stay at 5th Ave. Inn & Suites...so convenient for us to walk to clinic, staff has been wonderful and very helpful. When I have to stay here when Tim is in the hospital at Methodist, I feel so safe here and I wouldn't stay anywhere else. The staff has been so helpful and friendly and we have gotten to know a few of them....so nice....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shafer, Minnesota
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I fell in love with 5th Avenue Inn & Suites from the beginning! I stay here one to three times a month and will always come here in the future. The desk staff is excellent! They know me by name and greet me with a smile. They always ask how I'm doing and are there at your service when you need anything. Yes it is a small place with little amenities but to me I don't feel I'm just another face in the crowd and here's your room key. The key here is a great price, customer service, clean rooms, and laughter. The rooms are spacious and clean! There is an assortment of items for continental breakfast and Wifi. I have never had problems with reserving or having to rush around my busy schedule at the Mayo Clinic. I come here because I'm sick so the comfort here makes me feel right at home. I would recommend this hotel any day of the week. They are in the process of room improvements but to me thats not always the key to a top hotel. I will always consider this hotel a great place to stay. Cindy Sperr

Room Tip: 2nd floor is comfortable and quiet with a central lounge and reading area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 5th Avenue Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5th Avenue Inn & Suites

Address: 20 Fifth Avenue NW, Rochester, MN 55901 (Formerly Brentwood on Fifth)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — 5th Avenue Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 660
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your 5th Avenue Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5th Avenue Inn And Suites
5th Avenue Hotel Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 5th Avenue Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.