We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nupa Express

Nupa Express
1035 Civic Center Drive NW, Rochester, MN 55901
507 206 5044
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 253 Restaurants in Rochester
Restaurant details
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great little spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

No-frills spot about .8 miles from the Mayo area, about a $4 cab ride if you choose not to walk. Popular with the locals. Excellent healthy and well-prepared Greek food.
I had a grilled chicken pita - YUM! - and couldn't resist ordering their fries as they are fresh-cut, and I was not disappointed.
Definitely would have re-visited Nupa if I'd had more time in Rochester.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    13
    6
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stacy, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great Mediterranean fare! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Good is fresh and excellent. Served quickly for lunch crowd. Excellent gyro meat and grilled chicken. The tiziki sauce is second to none and they even have lemon and cucumber in the water. If you are in Rochester you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What we were looking for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We had been looking forward to this after driving for 9 hours. Everything was fresh and awesome...not the biggest portions but it filled us well enough. I especially enjoyed my Muffaleto sandwich - the spicy olive tampanade was perfect and the bread was nice and chewy (the good kind of chewy!) My wife loved her falafel salad and my kids all enjoyed their dishes (even my son who "hates" all that different/not regular food).

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best healthy fast food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My family and I ate gyros and fries for lunch inside this restaurant. The dining area is not very big, but very nice, clean, and comfortable. They were playing Greek music, which I really enjoyed. The gyros were absolutely amazing, the best I had ever had: it had a LOT of gyro meat (the most I had ever seen in a gyro by far), the pita bread was delicious, and the whole gyro very tasty. The fries were amazing, among the best I had ever tasted anywhere. The price was fairly reasonable, and the service was very friendly. I highly recommend it. It's definitely the healthiest lunch in town. You can also order it through Waiter Express, and have it delivered, which is a great plus, especially if you are staying at a hotel by Mayo Clinic, and can't drive to the restaurant which is on the west side of Hwy. 14.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“consistently good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

If we want take out we come here; if we want to eat-in we go to their Crossroads place. Dependably high quality Greek food; it is one of our favorite quick meals in Rochester. The staples...pita, hummus, gyros, avgolemono soup and Greek salad are yummy, fresh and obviously homemade. Other favorites are the spicy feta and the chicken pita lunch...beautifully grilled marinated chicken breast cut up with onion and tomato on a pita with yummy tzatziki, a Greek side salad and fries or rice...a great quick lunch! We have never been disappointed by the food at Nupa.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nupa Express also viewed

 

Been to Nupa Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nupa Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.