We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rochester Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pescara

Pescara
150 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904
(507) 280-6900
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pescara is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 253 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 2nd St SW and Broadway
Transit: We are located 2 blocks away from the Rochester City Bus Depot.
Description: Pescara invites those with an appetite for fresh, forward food to share small plates, savor fine wine and enjoy selections from sea and land. Located in the newly renovated DoubleTree Hotel in downtown Rochester, it"s the perfect place to gather for business lunches, pre-theater appetizers or romantic dinners.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Rochester Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Four of us had an outstanding meal July 17th. Darren was our server - very fun, knowledgeable and attentive. The MOD was seen many times doing table touches. We had the caesar salads, Crab Louis, calamari, walleye and scallop dish. The standout was the scallops. Very rich and great sauce. The bread was spot on and a great way to soak up all the extra sauce. The portions are not huge, but the depth of flavor and richness of the dishes made them the perfect size. I thought the prices were in line with the meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    77
    22
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A little pricey but still good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

So having had a couple good lunches at Pescara in the past, we tried dinner this trip. Had a beautiful chunk of halibut in a lovely lemon buerre sauce. It came with bread, but we needed to order salad and vegetables ala carte. The fish was just a tad overcooked, but the sauce made up for it. A mojito before dinner was a mistake......overly sweet, no fiz.....had to keep adding lime to cut the sweetness. Service was excellent, atmosphere was lovely. I'd still stand by my earlier review of the restaurant with a disclaimer about price. Dinners are not nearly as reasonably priced as lunches and the difference is greater than in most restaurants.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Order fish as its a fish restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Surly porter, shrimp fra diablo over wild rice with a salad was very good. Fruits of the sea with pancetta was very good. Brussels sprouts were excellent. Dined here two evenings. Service and staff were excellent.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Brunch for Quality and Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I've been to Pescara for dinner, and it was very good, but when I had brunch there recently, I just had to write a review! The buffet is quality rather than quantity with quiche, shrimp pasta, gouda home fries, even lobster bisque, but I really loved the items you can order from the kitchen, which are perfect portions. We tried a bunch of items, and the standouts were the oatmeal pancakes and the biscuits and gravy. A mimosa is included and the service was great. For about $20, it's a steal!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pricey, but really amazing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have eaten here both for lunch and dinner and the service and quality of the food was exceptional. The only complaint would be that the dinner service was nearly $200 and we each only had a glass of wine. For special occasions, though it is probably worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pescara also viewed

 

Been to Pescara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pescara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.