We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Broadway Residences and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Broadway Residences and Suites to your Saves list
Broadway Residences and Suites
15 1st Street SE, Rochester, MN 55904   |  
Hotel amenities
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Pros: very spacious, great location, free breakfast in the morning, nice indoor pool.
Cons: outdated furniture, lumpy beds, poorly stocked kitchen, staff seem helpful only if you speak Arabic.
Overall: not a bad place to stay for a long visit, but not nice like a hotel.

Room Tip: There are smoking floors and nonsmoking floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
1
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, MN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I booked rooms two times this year at the Broadway Residences and Suites in Rochester, MN. My Mom was seeing doctors at the Mayo Clinic, and so we needed comfortable rooms for my parents, and my sister and me. On both occasions I selected the two-bedroom apartment. The apartment had a king bedroom and a double queen bedroom, each with full attached bathrooms. There was also a powder room off of the living area. The apartment included a full kitchen, living room and dining room, and a washer/dryer in a kitchen pantry cupboard.

We all appreciated the spacious, home-like atmosphere. We were able to walk back to our rooms and relax in between appointments. Our first apartment was clean and modern, while our second apartment was a little more dated, but obviously being updated a little bit at a time. Housekeeping staff were very friendly and accommodating, and all linens were very clean. We found that traffic noise could be clearly heard on the eighth floor, however, all was very quiet during our stay on the twentieth floor. There are many windows, and great views of downtown Rochester. Although the building is on Broadway, the entrance is on 1st Street NE at the side of the building. The free Internet access (with ethernet cords provided in living room and one bedroom drawer) is not reliable. I'm not sure if wireless is available for a fee. Barnes and Noble and the Mayo Clinic buildings do provide free wireless.

My family agreed that we wouldn’t stay anywhere else if we visit Rochester again.

Here is some basic information about our room and the hotel’s location:
2 bedroom, 2.5 bath apartment (our bedrooms had king/2 queen)
Full kitchen, living room, dining room
$280/night + parking (about $8/day across the street, about $18/day valet)
Skyway/subway to Mayo Clinic buildings (skyway access on 3rd floor)
Skyway to library
Skyway to University Shops (adjacent to Mayo)
Starbucks in the skyway to University Shops
Best restaurants at University Shops: Chester's (sit down), Salad Brother's (counter)
Two-story Barnes and Noble at University Shops
In the subway level: shops, restaurants, Caribou Coffee, and Mayo Cafeteria

Room Tip: Try to get a room above the fifteenth floor if you want to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This hotel is life less no colors no posters no decoration so dirty and not good arabic channels i come to this hotel since 2008 they didnt change the furniture so ugly and the staff is lazy and not hyper we want this hotel to improve

Room Tip: alll the rooms are not good except the luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

I came with my wife to Mayo Clinic and we were planning to stay for about a month at Broadway Residence.
The staff were good and friendly with whatever very little they can do, however the one bed room apartment with a dump simply put.
Furniture is very dirty and broken.I scraped my elbow on the sharp rest of the sofa.
The bedroom is horrible with sagging mattress ,carpets are filthy,ventilation is very poor with constant cooking around you.
I was told that they have larger rooms starting at $700-800 a night that might be better,however with the ownership that allowed their facility to rundown so much,it's only matter of time.
GO SOMEWHERE ELSE

Room Tip: Go to Marriott or anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Huge suites with full dining room, living room, kitchen and 2 bedrooms. Great views in both directions. 7 minute walk to Mayo Clinic through the skyways. Makes an extended stay at Mayo much more tolerable.

Room Tip: Ask for high and the south view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panzano-in-chianti
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

This stylish,newish, 26 storey apartment hotel is in a class of its own for long-term visitors to Rochester - people staying a couple of weeks might be ok in the tiny claustrophobic "residential suites" at the International or Marriott, but in my opinion this is the only place in town for those who plan to stay a month or more, who can afford the around $200 a day long-term all-inclusive rate for a spacious, modern, two or three bedroom apartment , fully equipped and serviced - i.e.instead of a kitchenette, there is a fully equipped normal sized kitchen with large oven, fridge, dishwasher, microwave....all bedrooms have a bathroom en suite and of course there is a washing machine, dryer , free wired high speed internet access...etc....there's also a large fitness room, indoor pool, shuttle and concierge....but for me the main selling point is that the apartments are at least double and even triple the size of everything else downtown,and the fact that the hotel is connected by skyways to the whole of downtown, means that without going outside, in 30 seconds you can be drinking coffee at Starbucks in the Doubletree hotel or dining its first class restaurant Pescara.... there's also - Blu H2O - a great place to get your hair styled or a manicure and pedicure....one more skyway and you are at Barnes and Noble...... and a short walk away from the Mayo and gonda buildings ....in short, for long term visitors, this is as good as it gets....

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Broadway Residences and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Residences and Suites

Address: 15 1st Street SE, Rochester, MN 55904
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Broadway Residences and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Residences Hotel Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadway Residences and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.