We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grille

Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grille
1705 S Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904-7960
507-288-6551
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 252 Restaurants in Rochester
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Carpentersville, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Steaks and ribs were tremendous; best meal we had on the entire trip; were able to request a seat right in front of flat screen to watch our home NBA team play.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    49
    24
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not too bad all things considered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had drinks an dinner at Whiskey Creek an a recent Saturday evening. The place was packed we didn't get there until around 7:45 pm. Being we were a party of 4 and a 3 YO we had about a 20 minute wait for a table so we went in the bar for a drink. The atmosphere is casual, comfortably rustic and relaxing, but with the large crowd it was rather loud and challenging to carry on a conversation. This was not what I would call a negative as being busy obviously is not a bad thing for a bar/restaurant.

Once seated at our table our waiter was initially attentive and then disappeared for what seemed like a long time. He finally appeared once again to take our orders. Although they were very busy it seemed to take an inordinate amount of time for our food to arrive. When it did my wifes meal was brought out close to 10 minutes before the erst of our meals. By the time all our meals were served hers was already getting cold. That said the quality of the food was very good, my chicken was cooked just right as was the flat iron steak and shrimp the others had.

Overall it was a very good experience, I think we need to go back again sometime when they aren't quite so busy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, Iowa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great food...be there early for restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nice greeting, but did not want to sit in bar area at 730p.m. to eat; the manager wanted us there though. Bar area has multiple TVs, more noise, and is not very well lighted. The food was excellent. Fresh salad, fresh-warm bread loaf. Had the prime rib and it was very tasty. Kind and courteous help staff.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not so hot!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Service was slow! Food was just about average. Staff seemed as if they were stuck on themselves. We waited a long time before we were attended.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice place to unwind after day at Mayo Clinic.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Enjoy the casual, western and cattle country themes, with many TV's to watch. The two parts are handy depending on mood of diners. One to be out of the hustle and activities has many booths with nice seats, the other a nice bar/dining area with many booths and tables with music and tv's.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grille also viewed

 

Been to Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.