We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester

Save Saved
You added GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 16th Avenue NW, Rochester, MN 55901 (Formerly Travelodge Rochester)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 53 hotels in Rochester
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
“Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

It's one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed in. I did the white glove test and did not find dust. The Staff is "GREAT", polite and friendly. Steve the Breakfast Host, helped a guest at his busiest time and did not miss a beat wih his other duties.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the GuestHouse Inn and Suites of Rochester, and telling us about it on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear your stay went well!


Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    36
    18
    9
    3
See reviews for
33
18
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed on the third floor with a Jacuzzi in the room. I was a little leery after booking the room reading the reviews about a Jacuzzi not working, but ours worked like a dream! What a relaxing way to celebrate an anniversary. The room was affordable, very clean, and the king size bed was comfortable. Third floor was quiet. We had dinner at "Famous Dave's" - 10 percent off the dinner bill for staying at the hotel. Also, since its attached, we didn't even need to brave the cold weather. I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review. I am happy to hear your stay was relaxing and enjoyable! Hope to see you soon.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland Heights, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed here for 2 weeks while on business and it was excellent. The front desk was very helpful with recommendations on places to eat and the entire staff was very friendly. The room was perfect for living out of during the extended stay (clean/quiet) and I will definitely be staying here again the next time I am in Rochester.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear that your stay went well and that we were able to accommodate your needs. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Forest, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I needed an affordable hotel because I can't afford the hotels close to Mayo and needed to be there a whole week for testing. I had originally scheduled online and then contacted the hotel manager to see if there was any discount for Mayo patients. She was able to offer me their extended stay package that was even more affordable. When making my reservation I got a kitchenette suite to save money on eating out while I was there. Me and my husband were able to bring our own food to store in a full size fridge and cook on a stove top and microwave. We also had a toaster sink, cooking utensils, pans, glasses, plates and silverware in our room. We did treat ourselves though to room service from Famous Dave's that is attached to the hotel and delivers straight to your room (very good and very good service). This hotel offered a free shuttle service to and from the Mayo clinic that picked up at the front doors and was very convenient. Our room was on the 3rd floor. Every morning when we would leave our room or when we would come back the halls would smell fresh and clean which confuses me when I read other reviews. You could tell when room service had done their job because you could smell a flowery type aroma in the halls. The room was very clean and when we had our do not disturb sign up when I needed rest they never bothered us. The only thing about the hotel is that is a little outdated. It's not a fancy hotel like the ones closer to Mayo that charge $100 or more a night but it is affordable and I honestly don't have any complaints about the hotel itself. Also they have new Visio tv's that work with Xbox as well as free Wi Fi that worked great with my Laptop, Xbox and my Kindle. I do suggest that they monitor the halls in the evening if a lot of kids/teens will be staying there. One night the fire alarm went off and we heard kids running down the hall laughing as if they had pulled it. There was no fire either. The upsetting part is it was in the middle of the night and me and my husband were sleeping. We were exhausted from a long day at Mayo and I had to get up early for a long day of testing the next day and it was a little upsetting. But then that was out of the control of the hotel unless they choose to monitor the halls. Like I said if you are looking for a Hilton type hotel then you need to find one and pay the price for one. This hotel was nice and affordable for my long stay for Mayo.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and had a great kitchenette suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here a few times, for business at the Civic Center and during Mayo Clinic visits. It lacks convenience of the hotels right down by the Clinic, and is nearly half the price. It is very adequate, clean and well decorated....very good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here in July 2012 and the hotel is convenient to Mayo Clinic and the highway. However, the third floor room smelled like smoke, despite a no smoking policy, and the housekeeping leaves something to be desired. Upon initial arrival we found candy wrappers on the floor and chair, the microwave uncleaned and the table sticky.

The TVs are Vizio flatscreens but the cable quality is poor with lines through the picture and fuzzy images. It's also worth noting that their kitchens do not include a stove and the sink is quite small. Furniture is outdated and somewhat dirty in appearance but the beds were at least somewhat adequate in comfort.

The hotel offers wireless Internet access but the signal is so weak that any Apple iOS devices will not see it. Laptops/computers will see the signal and if you're really lucky it'll work at times. Most of the time the Internet connection, with a mid-level or lower signal strength, was completely unusable and too slow. Many other guests had the same comments and the front desk staff seem to be aware of the problems and simply "restart the wireless" at times.

The hotel is rather quiet and peaceful. Especially on the third floor. The rooms are of adequate size and the hot water is instantaneous. The bathroom has no hooks of any kind though so do not plan on hanging anything. All doors are supposed to be locked but we found that many on the back of the building were left propped open or they didn't latch. Totally unacceptable and unsafe feeling within the hotel. To that end, many smokers take one step outside the door and then light up. This apparently is ok with the property managers as there were ashcans nearby and some of their employees did the same.

We would only stay here again if pressed for money. Rochester has many hotels and this seems to be an older one that shows it's age and has less than acceptable housekeeping/maintenance.

Room Tip: Get a room on the third floor and near the hotel desk (low three hundreds).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

I've been working in Rochester for about a month now and I've stayed on the first and second floors. The first floor allows pets and the rooms smell a bit. The second floor is the same as the first but without the pet smell. The third floor is very nice compared to the other two. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Also there is a famous Dave's BBQ connected to the hotel so you don't have to go far for a cocktail. The food is a little pricey but is very good. I'd stay there again but would request a room on the third floor.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the GuestHouse Inn and Suites of Rochester, and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you back in the future.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester

Also Known As:
Guesthouse International Inn & Suites Rochester Hotel Rochester
Guesthouse International Inn And Suites Rochester
Guesthouse International Inn & Suites Rochester Hotel
Hotel International Rochester
Address: 435 16th Avenue NW, Rochester, MN 55901 (Formerly Travelodge Rochester)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayo Clinic Rates, Free Mayo Shuttle, 100 % Smoke-Free, Famous Dave's BBQ on site. Newly Remodeled Indoor Pool, Weekly Rates. All Rooms Include; Deluxe Breakfast, Wireless Internet; Refrigerator, Microwave, Iron/Iron board, Hairdryer, Coffeemaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.