We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester

Save Saved
You added GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 16th Avenue NW, Rochester, MN 55901 (Formerly Travelodge Rochester)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Rochester
Minnesota City, Minnesota
1 review
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here a few times, for business at the Civic Center and during Mayo Clinic visits. It lacks convenience of the hotels right down by the Clinic, and is nearly half the price. It is very adequate, clean and well decorated....very good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    41
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
42
19
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here in July 2012 and the hotel is convenient to Mayo Clinic and the highway. However, the third floor room smelled like smoke, despite a no smoking policy, and the housekeeping leaves something to be desired. Upon initial arrival we found candy wrappers on the floor and chair, the microwave uncleaned and the table sticky.

The TVs are Vizio flatscreens but the cable quality is poor with lines through the picture and fuzzy images. It's also worth noting that their kitchens do not include a stove and the sink is quite small. Furniture is outdated and somewhat dirty in appearance but the beds were at least somewhat adequate in comfort.

The hotel offers wireless Internet access but the signal is so weak that any Apple iOS devices will not see it. Laptops/computers will see the signal and if you're really lucky it'll work at times. Most of the time the Internet connection, with a mid-level or lower signal strength, was completely unusable and too slow. Many other guests had the same comments and the front desk staff seem to be aware of the problems and simply "restart the wireless" at times.

The hotel is rather quiet and peaceful. Especially on the third floor. The rooms are of adequate size and the hot water is instantaneous. The bathroom has no hooks of any kind though so do not plan on hanging anything. All doors are supposed to be locked but we found that many on the back of the building were left propped open or they didn't latch. Totally unacceptable and unsafe feeling within the hotel. To that end, many smokers take one step outside the door and then light up. This apparently is ok with the property managers as there were ashcans nearby and some of their employees did the same.

We would only stay here again if pressed for money. Rochester has many hotels and this seems to be an older one that shows it's age and has less than acceptable housekeeping/maintenance.

Room Tip: Get a room on the third floor and near the hotel desk (low three hundreds).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

I've been working in Rochester for about a month now and I've stayed on the first and second floors. The first floor allows pets and the rooms smell a bit. The second floor is the same as the first but without the pet smell. The third floor is very nice compared to the other two. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Also there is a famous Dave's BBQ connected to the hotel so you don't have to go far for a cocktail. The food is a little pricey but is very good. I'd stay there again but would request a room on the third floor.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the GuestHouse Inn and Suites of Rochester, and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you back in the future.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I stayed here during a training at Mayo clinic because of the kitchen facilities and the shuttle. I was not dissapointed because the room was large and well furnished. It was quiet and I was able to read. The Famous Dave is an experience you shouldnt miss. The food is excellent. The maids may sometimes miss cleaning some areas but they promptly correct anything you want them to. The breakfast was average but okay. Overall I will stay there anytime I am in Rochester.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for staying with us here in Rochester. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and we hope you continue to come back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Only 1 mile to the Mayo Clinic, this hotel is very convienent for those traveling to the area for treatment at the Mayo. We stayed on the 3rd flr and the room was quite large. Also used the pool and hot tub, both of which were large and very relaxing. Very good rates so ask for the Mayo discount. Room was comfortable, but the furniture was outdated, showing much wear. Did appreciate the nice flat screen TV. Bathroom was small and with no hooks of any kind, couldn't hang up a bathrobe or sleepwear. A hook would be easy enough to install. Hotel does offer wireless internet, but the signal was so bad, I literally could not use my laptop and mine is brand new. Other guests were overheard commenting on the wireless signal as well.

Lots of places to eat very close by with Famous Dave's being attached to the hotel. Good parking. My biggest complained would be that the outside entrance we used had a card lock that was not working and anyone could just enter this entrance without a card. This was not acceptable at all and I am glad we only stayed 2 nights because of this.

I would stay here again but not unless I knew that door was secured.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here in Rochester. I also want to thank you for taking the time and posting a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments about our facility and your stay here. We are in the process of fixing the concerns that came about during your stay, thank you for letting us know about them.

Hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellensburg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed here because it was cheap and near Mayo. Our reservation quickly changed from 3 nights to one night - mainly because of cleanliness. We didn't take our shoes off ever. The floors just kind of grossed us out and the bathroom floor was sticky. The guy at the reception desk was very nice but, that doesn't completely make-up for the hotel. We will not be staying here when we make a trip back to Rochester in June.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Guest House Inn and Suites in Rochester MN and taking the time to let us know how we are doing. I am truly sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. I can assure you that this is not our standard and we are currently making every effort to ensure this does not happen in the future. I do apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused and Thank you again for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Went to Rochester during a family emergency and needed t quickly find a place to stay. I was surprised to fine so many places near St. Mary's Hospital very expensive. Searching further, I found Guest House Inn only a mile away with nice amenities and a fair price. Rooms were large and quiet, the continental breakfast good with a wide variety of food and convenient to major highways, Mayo Clinic and St. Mary's. WiFi was free and had great connections where ever you were in the hotel. There was a refrigerator, microwave and flat screen TV.

Room Tip: Third floor was quiet with elevator access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are happy to hear your stay was comfortable! Your TripAdvisor review is greatly appreciated and we hope you choose to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester

Address: 435 16th Avenue NW, Rochester, MN 55901 (Formerly Travelodge Rochester)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayo Clinic Rates, Free Mayo Shuttle, 100 % Smoke-Free, Famous Dave's BBQ on site. Newly Remodeled Indoor Pool, Weekly Rates. All Rooms Include; Deluxe Breakfast, Wireless Internet; Refrigerator, Microwave, Iron/Iron board, Hairdryer, Coffeemaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse International Inn And Suites Rochester
Guesthouse International Inn & Suites Rochester Hotel Rochester
Hotel International Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.