We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay - visiting Mayo Clinic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Rochester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Rochester to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Rochester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4141 Maine Avenue SE, Rochester, MN 55904   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Rochester
Weeping Water, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay - visiting Mayo Clinic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My son and I stayed there from Feb. 25th to the 28th. Very nice, quiet place to stay while visiting the Mayo Clinic. We would take the shuttle each morning and usually return by Cab in the afternoon. $13.50 fee for cab but by end of day did not want to wait for shuttle. Could park downtown for about $1/hr or $7 for all day. Small parking lots in downtown ramparks. Downtown has excellet subway & overhead express ways so you can walk from bldg to bldg without going outside. Hotel hot food in mornings could have been better but hard to please all. I would stay there again if we have to go back. The beds and pillows were great! Should have bought that pillow when I was there!! Good Luck!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razu248, General Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property about your stay. I am glad to hear that you had such a fantastic time at our hotel and that our staff was so accommodating to your needs! Thank you for recognizing our amenities. The shuttle service is a wonderful add-on to our property and I’m glad you had the chance to take advantage of that perk while staying with us. Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you again soon when you are planning on traveling back to Rochester Minnesota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    25
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
45
22
11
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Breezy Point, Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This Hotel itself is quite nice. Great Breakfast, very nice rooms.
The problem is they cater to youth Hockey, public birthday parties, and allow public to rent a room and bring in lots of kids to the pool.
We have stayed there many times and have not been able to use the pool, due to it being full of very noisy kids. Even the Church Youth Groups are uncontrolled. They run the halls, making noise. The front desk seems to cater to these groups and any individual travelers are just extra rooms.
We have since found a better, and less costly Hotel that does not accept these noisy youth groups.

Room Tip: Very noisy when Youth Groups are there. Ask when making reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razu248, General Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property about your stay. I sincerely apologize for the noise that you had experienced during your time with us. We try to make sure the all of our guests are comfortable and happy. Since your review we have put in place a Group Conduct Contract with a set quiet time every night, to help prevent the noise from large youth groups, as well as contacting the group coordinator if there happens to be any complaints or concerns from our other guests. We really hope to see you again to show you our new plans and to help us with any other suggestions to help with this concern. Thank you again for your review. Please visit us again when traveling back to Rochester Minnesota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, South Dakota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here during our visit to the Mayo Clinic. The hotel was very clean, staff was kind, and food was pretty good! The hotel is right next to some stores, and attractions. I would recommend going here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razu248, General Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property about your stay. I am glad to hear that you had such a fantastic time at our hotel and that our staff was so accommodating to your needs! Our wonderful staff is something we really pride ourselves on and its great to hear praise for their hard work! Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you again soon when you are planning on traveling back to Rochester Minnesota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed at many hotels in Rochester, and this is one of my favorites. In fact, I've probably stayed here a dozen nights since it opened (approx. three years ago?). It's very clean and the suites are nicely apportioned. The beds are terrific with great, soft bedding. They serve a nice breakfast in the morning, and I've never encountered any staff that weren't very friendly and helpful. My kids always enjoy the pool and hot tub. While it's located on the southern edge of town, it's right off of Broadway (Hwy. 63) and the first exit south of Hwy. 52. It's a short drive to downtown (about five minutes if the lights cooperate), and it's nice to have free parking, which none of the downtown hotels offer, and which has increased in cost considerably in the last few years. Like most of Rochester's hotels, they offer you free shuttle service to just about anywhere you want to go. You can also walk across the street to a large movie theatre complex. The rates are always competitive. You get a lot of bang for your buck!

Room Tip: I always prefer a room facing the pond--the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razu248, General Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property about your stay. I am glad to hear that you had such a fantastic time at our hotel and that our staff was so accommodating to your needs! Thank you for recognizing our amenities. The shuttle service is a wonderful add-on to our property and I’m glad you had the chance to take advantage of that perk while staying with us. Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you again soon when you are planning on traveling back to Rochester Minnesota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This hotel is just off the main highway and is very quiet. Rooms are very clean and spacious with a fridge, microwave and sitting area. Staff are extremely friendly and go out of your way to help. They will drive you to restaurants and pick you up when you are ready to come back. Drivers- Jose, Gabe and Gerson were so courteous. Shannon, Josh and Chandler at front were the most helpful and friendly staff I have ever met in a hotel. The Mayo Clinic shuttle stops at this hotel and takes you to and from Mayo. Although it is a bit farther out than the downtown hotels, the value, service, staff and rooms are tops and reasonable price to stay. You won't be disappointed at this hotel.

Room Tip: ask to be away from elevator and soda machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razu248, General Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property about your stay. I am glad to hear that you had such a fantastic time at our hotel and that our staff was so accommodating to your needs!Our wonderful staff is something we really pride ourselves on and its great to hear praise for their hard work! Thank you for recognizing our amenities. The shuttle service is a wonderful add-on to our property and I’m glad you had the chance to take advantage of that perk while staying with us. Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you again soon when you are planning on traveling back to Rochester Minnesota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kkw2
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We spent a week here during our visit to the Mayo clinic. I've not stayed at other hotels in the area but I know I would stay here again. The property is pretty new and very comfortable. My husband found the bed to be too soft but I thought it was great. The bedding was nice as well. The pool and hot tub were clean and relaxing. The price was reasonable with the Mayo Clinic discount. The staff was very helpful in sending a couple of faxes for me. We appreciated that the TV had a jack so we could hook my laptop up and watch movies. I also used the washer and dryer, I think it cost $1.75 to wash and dry one load. The hotel is a bit outside of town so it's quiet but not so far that you feel like you are making this long drive to town. The clinic shuttle was always on time. In the afternoon when we would have had an hour wait we called the hotel and they came to get us. The hotel is located by a movie theater and a target. My only negative thing to say would be about the breakfast. It's your standard continental breakfast fare with waffels which is fine, but they advertise hot foods as well. They should stick to the standard fare because in 7 days there was not one "hot" item was edible. We did have soup and a cookie one night that was good. This is one small irritant in a week of comfort and good service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razu248, General Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property about your stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time staying with us. The location that we are at is the new and upcoming area of Rochester with the shopping near and close restaurants. Downtown, being only a few minuets away we agree that it is a fantastic location! We do change our hot breakfast items daily to showcase a new item throughout the week. I do apologies that it wasn't to your liking and we will look into other options in the future. Thank you again for your review. We do hope you will come and visit us again soon when you’re planning on traveling back to Rochester Minnesota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This property is very comfortable, it's new and well maintained. The staff is Minnesota nice and very helpful. The hotel is on the south side of town and approximately a 10 minute drive to downtown Rochester/Mayo Clinic. "Shops on Main" is walking distance from the hotel where you can find many places to eat, a movie theater, Target and other retail shopping.

The hotel has a indoor pool/spa, work out facility, business center and free breakfast every morning. Rooms have a nice work area with a large desk with a separate seating area and a large bathroom. Our room faced a nearby pond. It was nice and tranquil. Ask for a room that faces north for the best views. Western view rooms face the parking lot.

If you are visiting the Mayo Clinic as a patient or vistor contact the hotel directly for discounted rates.

Room Tip: Ask room that face north for a view of the pond, eastern for farm fields. Western view rooms face th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razu248, General Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property about your stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time staying with us. The location that we are at is the new and upcoming area of Rochester with the shopping near and close restaurants. Downtown, being only a few minuets away we agree that it is a fantastic location! Thank you again for your review. We do hope you will come and visit us again soon when you’re planning on traveling back to Rochester Minnesota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Rochester

Address: 4141 Maine Avenue SE, Rochester, MN 55904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rochester
#18 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Rochester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® is located on the southeastern area of Rochester Minnesota. Just minutes from Mayo Clinic, St. Marys Hospital and IBM Executive Briefing Center. We offer discounted rates for Mayo Clinic visitors as well as St. Marys Hospital visitors. For information on these discounts as well as others please contact us directly at the phone number listed above. We are very close to a variety of shopping stores, restaurants, and a movie theater. We are also minuets from a number of parks golf courses and ponds. We offer FREE transportation to the Mayo Clinic, and St. Marys Hospital Mondays – Fridays, FREE parking, FREE wireless Internet FREE local calls, FREE weekday local newspaper, and a FREE hot deluxe breakfast, which include waffles, eggs, meat, fresh fruit, cereal and more. We also offer a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag which includes various breakfast items if you are in a hurry and have no time to sit down for breakfast. Take a dip in our sparkling indoor heated pool and indoor hot tub. Enjoy our our exercise room during your comfortable stay with us. We have a business center that is equipped with two computers, copy and fax services. We also have a meeting room that can accommodate meetings or family get togethers. All of our rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, flat-screen televisions, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hairdryers, irons, ironing boards, charging station for phones and other devices. We offer snacks, and laundry detergent in our Sundry Shop, coin operated laundry facilities in our beautifully decorated lobby area. The Comfort Suites® is a new development built in 2008. We offer fantastic customer service and wonderful amenities waiting for you to visit us in Rochester Minnesota. Book a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Rochester Hotel Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Rochester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.