We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly staff and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Rochester

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Rochester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Rochester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4141 Maine Avenue SE, Rochester, MN 55904   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 53 hotels in Rochester
Regina, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel, friendly staff and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This hotel is just off the main highway and is very quiet. Rooms are very clean and spacious with a fridge, microwave and sitting area. Staff are extremely friendly and go out of your way to help. They will drive you to restaurants and pick you up when you are ready to come back. Drivers- Jose, Gabe and Gerson were so courteous. Shannon, Josh and Chandler at front were the most helpful and friendly staff I have ever met in a hotel. The Mayo Clinic shuttle stops at this hotel and takes you to and from Mayo. Although it is a bit farther out than the downtown hotels, the value, service, staff and rooms are tops and reasonable price to stay. You won't be disappointed at this hotel.

Room Tip: ask to be away from elevator and soda machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razu248, General Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property about your stay. I am glad to hear that you had such a fantastic time at our hotel and that our staff was so accommodating to your needs!Our wonderful staff is something we really pride ourselves on and its great to hear praise for their hard work! Thank you for recognizing our amenities. The shuttle service is a wonderful add-on to our property and I’m glad you had the chance to take advantage of that perk while staying with us. Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you again soon when you are planning on traveling back to Rochester Minnesota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    22
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
40
21
9
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kkw2
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We spent a week here during our visit to the Mayo clinic. I've not stayed at other hotels in the area but I know I would stay here again. The property is pretty new and very comfortable. My husband found the bed to be too soft but I thought it was great. The bedding was nice as well. The pool and hot tub were clean and relaxing. The price was reasonable with the Mayo Clinic discount. The staff was very helpful in sending a couple of faxes for me. We appreciated that the TV had a jack so we could hook my laptop up and watch movies. I also used the washer and dryer, I think it cost $1.75 to wash and dry one load. The hotel is a bit outside of town so it's quiet but not so far that you feel like you are making this long drive to town. The clinic shuttle was always on time. In the afternoon when we would have had an hour wait we called the hotel and they came to get us. The hotel is located by a movie theater and a target. My only negative thing to say would be about the breakfast. It's your standard continental breakfast fare with waffels which is fine, but they advertise hot foods as well. They should stick to the standard fare because in 7 days there was not one "hot" item was edible. We did have soup and a cookie one night that was good. This is one small irritant in a week of comfort and good service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razu248, General Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property about your stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time staying with us. The location that we are at is the new and upcoming area of Rochester with the shopping near and close restaurants. Downtown, being only a few minuets away we agree that it is a fantastic location! We do change our hot breakfast items daily to showcase a new item throughout the week. I do apologies that it wasn't to your liking and we will look into other options in the future. Thank you again for your review. We do hope you will come and visit us again soon when you’re planning on traveling back to Rochester Minnesota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This property is very comfortable, it's new and well maintained. The staff is Minnesota nice and very helpful. The hotel is on the south side of town and approximately a 10 minute drive to downtown Rochester/Mayo Clinic. "Shops on Main" is walking distance from the hotel where you can find many places to eat, a movie theater, Target and other retail shopping.

The hotel has a indoor pool/spa, work out facility, business center and free breakfast every morning. Rooms have a nice work area with a large desk with a separate seating area and a large bathroom. Our room faced a nearby pond. It was nice and tranquil. Ask for a room that faces north for the best views. Western view rooms face the parking lot.

If you are visiting the Mayo Clinic as a patient or vistor contact the hotel directly for discounted rates.

Room Tip: Ask room that face north for a view of the pond, eastern for farm fields. Western view rooms face th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razu248, General Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property about your stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time staying with us. The location that we are at is the new and upcoming area of Rochester with the shopping near and close restaurants. Downtown, being only a few minuets away we agree that it is a fantastic location! Thank you again for your review. We do hope you will come and visit us again soon when you’re planning on traveling back to Rochester Minnesota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were visiting Mayo and had a hard time choosing a place to stay. Comfort Suites had a reasonable mid-range price online but we called the hotel itself and they had a special rate for Mayo patients. It is relatively new and out in a newer area next to an empty field. Therefore it was extremely quiet! We had a king bed with a pull out couch we didn't use, a desk and small fridge. It was just enough for the two of us, didn't smell (which I appreciated) and the breakfast buffet had proteins available, not just carbs. The website said it didn't have an exercise facility but it did, complete with two weight machines. Everyone was very friendly but we didn't need any help which was great. The bus to mayo was great. When we ventured the 5 miles into Mayo and saw all the other options I was so glad we chose the Comfort Suites on Maine!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razu248, General Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property about your stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time staying with us. The location that we are at is the new and upcoming area of Rochester with the shopping near and close restaurants. Downtown, being only a few minuets away, while still staying quiet with out the traffic noise we agree that it is a fantastic location! Thank you again for your review. We do hope you will come and visit us again soon when you’re planning on traveling back to Rochester Minnesota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hotel seems to be fairly new, and quite nice. Room was good sized - 2 queens, plus a sitting / office area. Everything seemed clean and in good repair. Free breakfast was good as well -- waffles (for fall, in addition to regular flavor, they had pumpkin which was yummy), cereal, muffins, sausage, yogurt, fruit, etc. Location is about 12 minutes from Mayo / downtown, and it seems like you are in the "boonies" (it's behind the tractor supply store!) but that makes for a quiet night. A couple of odd things... the t.v. is in the bedroom area, not the sitting area. And the towels are in the shower. Make sure you have a GPS or directions before you go. Overall, in comparison to the other Rochester hotels I've stayed in (and I've stayed in a few), I'd rate it a good value. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great value for the money. I stumbled across this hotel a couple of years ago. This hotel is new and pleasant. It is in a quiet and safe setting, away from traffic, etc. Staff very helpful. If you want a quiet place to sleep (priority for me) at a reasonable price, this is it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed four days closer to Mayo Clinic at a different hotel, but were required to spend one more night in Rochester so we checked into the Comfort Suites. The price was double what we paid at our other hotel, but it was also twice as nice!!

This hotel appears newly built and it located on the outer edges of Rochester in a newly developed area with no other hotels. There was a shopping center nearby, a Target store, a large movie theater, Fleet Farm, and one gas station (Kwik Trip).

We arrived at 7:00pm and checked in within three minutes. We had a room on the second floor. The hotel lobby is very nice with a fireplace and very tasteful seasonal decorations.

Our room was very clean. This is an energy conservation hotel so the main lights and heat/air conditioning do not work unless you insert the key card into the slot by the door. It is a good idea to have more than one key so if you run downstairs you can keep the heat and lights on while you are gone. The thermostat is electronic with various fan settings and temperature setting increments by 1/2 degrees which was great . It had large display numbers and was easy to use.

Upon entering our room on the left was the bathroom. Moving into the room there was a sleeper sofa on the left with a table, lamp on a ledge behind the sofa, and a floor lamp. There was a desk with a chair across from the sofa and a small fridge to the side of the desk on the floor. A half wall separated the sofa area from the two queen size beds also on the left side of the room. On the right side was an eight drawer low dresser, a chair, and flat screen television. Also in the far right corner was a two door closet. The comforters were clean; the beds each had four pillows and one blanket. The mattress was some type of pillow top style and extremely comfortable.

Breakfast included the following: cold hard boiled eggs, various yogurt (regular and greek styles), danishes (apple and cream cheese), plain bagels, plain cream cheese, three types of cold cereal, oatmeal packets, skim and 2% milk, coffee, hot chocolate, teas, and juices. Of course there was the standard Choice Hotels cook your own waffle irons with syrup.

Checkout was quick and took perhaps 45 seconds. Each person we met who worked for the hotel was very police and helpful. Another great stay at a Choice Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for two keys as one needs to be inserted in the wall to run the lights, heat, and air conditioni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Rochester

Address: 4141 Maine Avenue SE, Rochester, MN 55904
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rochester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#17 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Rochester 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® is located on the southeastern area of Rochester Minnesota. Just minutes from Mayo Clinic, St. Marys Hospital and IBM Executive Briefing Center. We offer discounted rates for Mayo Clinic visitors as well as St. Marys Hospital visitors. For information on these discounts as well as others please contact us directly at the phone number listed above. We are very close to a variety of shopping stores, restaurants, and a movie theater. We are also minuets from a number of parks golf courses and ponds. We offer FREE transportation to the Mayo Clinic, and St. Marys Hospital Mondays – Fridays, FREE parking, FREE wireless Internet FREE local calls, FREE weekday local newspaper, and a FREE hot deluxe breakfast, which include waffles, eggs, meat, fresh fruit, cereal and more. We also offer a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag which includes various breakfast items if you are in a hurry and have no time to sit down for breakfast. Take a dip in our sparkling indoor heated pool and indoor hot tub. Enjoy our our exercise room during your comfortable stay with us. We have a business center that is equipped with two computers, copy and fax services. We also have a meeting room that can accommodate meetings or family get togethers. All of our rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, flat-screen televisions, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hairdryers, irons, ironing boards, charging station for phones and other devices. We offer snacks, and laundry detergent in our Sundry Shop, coin operated laundry facilities in our beautifully decorated lobby area. The Comfort Suites® is a new development built in 2008. We offer fantastic customer service and wonderful amenities waiting for you to visit us in Rochester Minnesota. Book a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Rochester Hotel Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Rochester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.