We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New burger stop for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Cafe

City Cafe
216 1st Avenue Southwest, Rochester, MN 55902
+1 507-289-1949
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 253 Restaurants in Rochester
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Rochester, Minnesota
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“New burger stop for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I recently had a working lunch at City Cafe and was impressed by their "build-your-own" burger. They literally allowed you to pick the meat, bun type, vegetables, cheese type and sauce. I loved it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    46
    17
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
stpaullori
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth checking out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I liked the atmosphere, and the food was good. The service was adequate and the mojito was excellent.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire WI
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I liked the specialty menu items, the vibe of the restaurant and the close proximity to the clinic and shopping areas downtown.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lost in the midwest
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Always a great meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This location has a nice menu and we really like the tuna tacos. Always fresh and the staff and cooks are top notch. Always well prepared and professional. Great place to meet for drinks and dinner in the evenings too. We normally catch lunch here every so often and have never had a bad experience.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Delightful seafood, great patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Found it on tripadvisor. Were seated on the patio and really enjoyed the atmosphere out there. I had the scallops, they were delicious and prepared well. Date had the smothered chicken with a delicious sauce and spinach dressing on the side. The gorgonzola walnut salad and tuna slider apps were both very good. Overall our meals were very good and satisfying. Skip "the best" carrot cake (as stated on menu). It was dry and didn't have nearly enough frosting. Service was friendly and attentive.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Cafe also viewed

 

Been to City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.