We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mongolian Barbeque” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HuHot Mongolian Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
HuHot Mongolian Grill
102 Apache Mall, Rochester, MN 55902
(507) 206-4422
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 253 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Buffet
Description: Create your own Asian stir-fry! Choose from our fresh selection of meats, seafood, noodles, veggies and Asian-influenced sauces. Customize your Mongolian BBQ masterpiece, then watch as it’s cooked on our grill of epic proportions. It’s all-you-can-eat, so you can try as many combinations as you want! A unique dining experience for the whole family.
Clarks Grove, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Mongolian Barbeque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

For Midwesterners--Mongolian BBQ is NOT smoked meat and sauce--it is a combination of vegetables and sauces (and yes, different meats in small portions) stir-fried on a huge grille for 2 minutes, swept onto a plate, and delivered VERY fresh into your waiting hands.

Choose your own ingredients--starting with beef, pork, chicken, surimi--all sliced very thin. Add noodles, sprouts, green peppers, water chestnuts, brocolli--a total of 27 different ingredients (don't forget the cilantro--sometimes called "chinese parsley). Add your own combination of 15 different sauces to have it just the way you like it--with varying degrees of "Heat". (If you can't make up your mind, there are suggested recipes overhead the sauces. Finally, present your bowl to one of the 3 grillmasters tending a smoking hot 6' diameter grille. Your meal will be cooked in 2 minutes, and the grillemaster will sweep the food from the circular grille right onto your plate. It's part "performance art"--there is a tip jar near the end of the line--leave a small tip, and ring the gong!

If you didn't choose wisely--and don't like the taste, you have nobody to blame but yourself--but the staff encourages you to simply leave it and try again. You can go back as many times as you would like--I usually do 4!)

It's a fun place to go with kids or friends--it's different--and it is inexpensive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    18
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marengo, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The food is very fresh! Restaurant is very clean. I never expirenced anything like it. The food is good if you know what to combine. The recipe cards on the table did help, once we noticed them.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Souplantation, mongolian style!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Fun, crazy, pretty delicious! If you have ever visited a souplantation or sweet tomatoes, you'll know what I mean! Screaming children running amok, long lines and no traffic direction for diners milling about with overflowing bowls of food. Is it because we went on a weekend night, or is it always like this?
Sloppy salad bar/self serve, stemming from the fact that the bowls SEEM so small, and the wait so long, that you've got to try and cram on one more thing into that bowl...
Well, actually the bowls hold a lot more food than you expect. Once cooked, the food seems to double in volume.
I have to give this place props for one MAJOR plus:
Vegetarians get their own special bowl, that tells the chefs to make sure you get a specially cleaned and partitioned location on the grill! If you are veg, you'll know why this rocks. No hunks of meat falling on your veg, and and no meat-grease invading your lovely tofu! oh, and did I mention they offer tofu?
Thumbs up for vegetarian/vegan friendly. No small feat for Minnesota.
Next time I'll go back on a weekday off-peak.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Make it your way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I love to create a meal especially when someone else does the prep, cooks and cleans after. I great to make my own sauces from the listed suggestions. I know it will always come out delicious but never boring

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not too shabby...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Seems like everyone stopped here for their visit to Mayo clinic! So did I! My husband and I stopped here for dinner and I actually enjoyed it. Khan's Mongolian in Roseville is still the best but this one was close. Although they don't have a lot of meat varieties, my plate still end up very juicy and yummy. I think it was worth the price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HuHot Mongolian Grill also viewed

 

Been to HuHot Mongolian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HuHot Mongolian Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.