We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   235 Withers Harbor Drive, Red Wing, MN 55066   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Vintage hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The Good: The Rodeway Inn in Red Wing is located close to the Red Wing Pottery Place mall and pottery museum. You can walk across a parking lot and tour the museum, where you can learn about the history of Red Wing Pottery and then later do some pottery perusing. There are some eateries in the building as well and it's really not far to the downtown area. The room we stayed in was average sized, had microwave and larger mini fridge. There is a Continental breakfast yet it is smaller and has less to offer than other hotels. The coffee was good. In general we found the overall cleanliness of the hotel to be good. The staff was friendly (seemed like a husband & wife were the proprietors). Rodeway's are generally less expensive than other hotels.

The Not So Good: The Rodeway is somewhat dated. There is a hot tub but it is located in a room directly across from the fron desk window and you somewhat feel as if you are being watched by the staff (opinion). The pool was small to average sized yet good temperature. There was Wi Fi in parts of the hotel. Older tube-style TV's vs High Def, but who really goes to a hotel to watch TV?

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the front desk if you need wi fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    3
    9
    4
See reviews for
4
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Room was decent enough. I got a good deal, so I figured it wouldn't be that amazing anyway. I was a little taken aback however, when the cleaning lady/receptionist walked into the storage room/laundry with bare feet and we were eating the continental breakfast...

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Stayed in the 3 bedroom suite for an overnight with girlfriends. Maybe I never got over my first impression after opening the front door for check-in and it smelled like a dirty ashtray, YUCK. And I'm a smoker!! Not sure what the standard rooms looked like but the 3 bedroom suite was not what we were hoping for. The couch and chair in the living area were so old I wouldn't give them to goodwill. The bedspreads and curtains just seemed so worn and outdated. The fridge had so much ice built up we couldn't fit a whole six pack in it. The toilet seat was broken. Simple things to fix, but someone has to care enough to fix them. On the upside, the AC worked nicely, the pool was clean and warm and the location of the hotel was perfect with easy access to downtown and a nice italian restaurant within walking distance. Red Wing is a beautiful town and we enjoyed a trolley tour of the city with some humorous narration and a cruise on the river on a comfortable boat. VERY affordable prices for both. And the crew on the boat supplied binoculars and pointed out all the eagles and nests along the shore. Fun trip to Red Wing but we wouldn't stay at the Rodeway Inn again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Top Contributor
396 reviews 396 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

We were in Red Wing seeing friends after a day in wisconsin along the river. The Rodeway Inn was the cheapest hotel near our friends. It was also as good as others we have stayed at in Red Wing. The room was large enough the beds were confortable but the pillows were pretty flat but I expected that and brought one from home. It was very clean and seemed to have a nice pool area but as we were seeing friends we just used it as a place to sleep that night. Breakfast looked a little skimpy so we went to Perkins instead.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
143 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Despite the hotel having a somewhat tired look the rooms are very reasonable. The rooms are adequate and comfortable and despite the hotel being off the main highway it is in a quiet location and we got a good night's sleep. The staff are very cheerful and we were checked in super efficiently.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

We saw this motel recommended on Tripadvisor and it more than lived up to it's praises. The room was small, but clean and quiet and provided a refrigerator and wi-fi. The breakfast was skimpy, but at the low room rate one could not complain.

  • Liked — Bargain basement price
  • Disliked — Not much choice for breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

This hotel didn't look like much from the outside, but we stayed in the whirlpool suite and it was a beautiful, very large room. The room was very clean and the staff was friendly and very helpful. As for location, it is located right next to the antique shops and not too far from downtown Red Wing. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Liked — The staff was friendly and very helpful.
  • Disliked — The exterior could use a little remodeling.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 235 Withers Harbor Drive, Red Wing, MN 55066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wing Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.