We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites
752 Withers Harbor Drive, Red Wing, MN 55066-2089   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Red Wing
Astoria, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable and friendly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Been on road a week. Nicest stay yet. Laurie at front desk was a fount of local information. Very comfortable bed. Hot breakfast. Large room with nice tv. We would stay here again. Nice pool with swim through from inside to outside. Restaurant next door.







  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    13
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
10
18
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Ashby, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My husband has stayed at this hotel for about 4 months at a time, going on 3 years now, while working in the area. The owners are more than accommodating. The rooms are clean as well as the rest of the hotel. It is centrally located to many other businesses. He has never been disappointed by the service or the staff.
Linda B, just to be fair you booked it online through Priceline for dirt cheap and put 6 people ( not children) in your room... You were trying to get something for nothing, in my book that is stealing. Then when you didn't get your own way, you got on here to make them look bad. You are not being fair, you neglecting to tell the public the truth....

Room Tip: Call ahead with special needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Michael, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here through Priceline. They put us into a room that smelled terrible and when asked to switch they said they were booked...but there were maybe a few cars in the parking lot. We were with our kids...so our room had a queen bed and a sofa couch. The guy at the front desk told us we can use that for the kids. So, we asked for bedding but were charged $10 for it! Who does that? The customer service was not good at all...would not recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWFD, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Lindy:

I am very sorry that your expectations were not met and for the ill effect that it had on your stay at our hotel.

We strive to work with all of our outside source partners to ensure communications are in place to meet the needs of our guests. We will look into the issues you have brought to our attention and review our policies and the communications. I would like to assure you that your comments are greatly appreciated.

It is my hope that you will accept our apology. Our goal is that each stay is given our best effort. When we do not meet the needs of our guests we must step back and take a look and make neccessary adjustments.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Kind regards,

Lori Hutton
Front Desk Manager/Group Sales Coordinator
BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed one night here en route to western MN. We had two queen beds plus a sofa, chair and sitting area. Small refrigerator was a bonus. We had small electrical problem in bath (plugged in my night light and bulb exploded!). However, management responded quickly to reset circuit breaker and restore power to bath. Overall, very comfortable stay. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I would recommend that first floor rooms be on the side away from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We chose this hotel because it is situated a little further from Hwy 61 than the others. We were not disappointed! A wonderful property. Tastefully decorated, and very comfortable, rooms. Our room contained a Queen size bed as well as a sofa sleeper and still had a lot of extra room. We had a little balcony overlooking the parking lot and river valley beyond. We fell in love with the swimming pool. A large indoor pool with a passage to swim thru to a smaller outdoor pool. Something you don't find very often, especially in the northern states. Very friendly front desk staff. There is a Perkins restaurant right next door, at the back of the Perkins is a very tall retaining wall that is a sight to see in and of itself due to the hundreds of flowers that are planted along it. We will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the parking lot haver small balconies, not sure about the rooms facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWFD, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
My staff and I are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We have the only indoor/outdoor pool in the area.
We have had guests come and stay with us so that they could tell their friends
that they had gone swimming "outside" in January in Minnesota.
We look forward to your return trip.

Vance A. Stemen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We just spent one night in this hotel, we had a room with a king size bed, sofa, 2 over sized chairs, desk, dresser, 2 night stands, microwave, fridge and coffee pot. The room was very clean and large. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were amazing...would love to have a set for my own bed at home.

We didn't swim but the pool looked inviting, a very unique pool for Minnesota as you can swim from the indoor pool into the outdoor pool.

Check-in and out went smooth. Lobby area is very small but cozy!

It was a very quiet hotel and would enjoy staying here again on a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWFD, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
"Nice little hotel in a nice little town... "...what a lovely compliment to our hotel and to Red Wing!

Our hotel staff was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.It is the greatest compliment to our hotel when a guest has enjoyed themselves. We do our best for each guest. We try to enhance each stay. When it happens that a guests needs have been met we feel something of a measure of goodness about ourselves in what we have been able to provide.

It has been our pleasure to have served you.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment.

Lori Hutton
Front Desk Manager
BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Wi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our room was pretty, and spacious and very clean....but the best part was the feel of their sheets!!! so silky feeling ....it was a joy to climb in bed that night, so many hotels have stiff scratchy sheets, what a pleasure..... also their pool is unexpected too since it's both an indoor and an outdoor pool at once.....you simply swim through the opening in the wall, and a sign said it was open all year long .....and invited you to come swim in the snow in winter....pretty great for Minnesota. We plan on trying it......and a movie theater is very close....and the Perkin's Restuarant is practically in their parking lot, with the best eggs benedict I've had in a long time and a beautiful outdoor wall of flowers to look at, such a pleasant way to start the day....

Room Tip: ask about their THEMED ROOMS, we didn't stay in one, but the maid let us look into a few she was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites

Also Known As:
Best Western Red Wing
Red Wing Best Western
Address: 752 Withers Harbor Drive, Red Wing, MN 55066-2089
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are less than a mile from the Mississippi River and Historic Downtown Main Street. We are located just across the highway from the Historic Pottery Place District and next door to Perkins Restaurant and Bakery. We offer executive and deluxe leisure rooms, elegant luxury suites with whirlpool or specialty theme rooms. All rooms have refrigerator, microwave and coffee pots. With easy access off Hwy 61 we are close to a variety multi-use outdoor trails, a variety of water activities at the numerous local lakes and rivers and Treasure Island Casino. We offer high-speed Internet access, a daily enhanced complimentary continental breakfast, exercise facility, and an indoor/outdoor swim thru swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Best Western, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.