We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check the sheets” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nichols Inn Red Wing

Save Saved
You added Nichols Inn Red Wing to your Saves list
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nichols Inn Red Wing
1750 Highway 61, Red Wing, MN 55066   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Red Wing
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Check the sheets”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We gave the manager ample time to contact us on our complaint, and nothing has come, so...we checked in, our room 'looked' like it was clean (towels folded, beds nicely made, no dirty glasses, etc. The first 'sign' was a bar of soap (used) in the bathroom....looked at the floor and there was hair .....decided to look at the sheets and they were obviously from the people before. There is a sign in the room telling you to put the little sign on the bed if you want the sheets changed, perhaps this also means when you check out so that next people have a clean bed??
The desk manager saved the day as she personally cleaned the room and handled the situation well.
I would have given the hotel an average rating if this incident didn't occur, and a poor if the desk manager didn't resolve the problem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    21
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
21
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was disappointed with the quality of furnishings and bedding. The size of the breakfast area was not adequate for the number of guests and the food was mediocre (not brand name yogurt or cereals). The room was clean, although sparce and the bathroom vanity was too small to accommodate our toiletries. The hotel is located very close to very busy Hwy. 61. The price for the room was not a value for what you get (King, nonsmoking room). I would look for other lodging in Red Wing next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a upper floor away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We spent one night here while biking the Cannon. Valley Trail. They had a stay and bike special so the room price included 2 trail passes. The very helpful desk clerk let us check in early so we could change into our biking clothes! The room was plenty large with frig and microwave. For being close to a main road, it was quiet. Breakfast was basic hotel fair, nothing great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at Nichols Inn when Treasure Island was booked and we had concert tickets. Room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was awesome for continental. Protein (boiled eggs) and dairy choices (yogurt) were appreciated. There seemed to be someone cleaning constantly and it showed. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Very pleased with a 2 night stay at Nichols Inn. Very clean rooms, good choices for breakfast, easy to get to. Free WiFi and accommodating staff. Hard mattresses, but cleanliness is most important to me. I would stay here again, especially if watching my budget.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Nichols Inn is our choice when staying in Red Wing and biking on the Cannon Valley trail. The hotel is located on the West side of town, about a mile from downtown. But downtown is just a short bike ride along the river on a bike boulevard, and the Cannon Valley Trail is the other direction about a mile. There's a good bike shop (The Wheelhouse) a block away (to the West). Kelly's Bar (best craft beer selection in town) is also a block or two away (to the East). The Nichols offers one of the best free breakfasts you'll find, with waffles, french toast, and hard boiled eggs (always my test for a good continental breakfast). Rooms are clean, if a little generic, and the staff is always friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

Red wing is a beautiful small village close to Rochester and twin cities. This place is a suitable nice place to stay while you visit the city. It has good performance for its price

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nichols Inn Red Wing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nichols Inn Red Wing

Address: 1750 Highway 61, Red Wing, MN 55066
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Nichols Inn Red Wing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nichols Inn Red Wing Hotel Red Wing
Nichols Hotel Red Wing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nichols Inn Red Wing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.