We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in a nice city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nichols Inn Red Wing

Nichols Inn Red Wing
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nichols Inn Red Wing to your Saves list
Nichols Inn Red Wing
1750 Highway 61, Red Wing, MN 55066   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice place in a nice city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

Red wing is a beautiful small village close to Rochester and twin cities. This place is a suitable nice place to stay while you visit the city. It has good performance for its price

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
24
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
hiawatha, ia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

A relatively inexpensive hotel that is clean and well maintained are hard to come by, but this place fit the bill. Quiet location. Decent continental breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We were on an impromptu bald eagle-watching trip and a gas station attendant told us a new-ish hotel opened up the street so we checked it out. It's a little confusing to find the front door tho the hotel sign is very visible from the road. The front desk is on the other side of the building from where cars enter from the main road, and then the check-in area is adjacent to another hotel, Americinn. The check-in guy was very friendly and patient and showed us a couple of guest rooms before we decided to stay. Most other lodging in the area started in the $80-90 range while Nichols had a $60 special so we took it. There isn't a pool but bfast is included--make-your-own-waffle, cold cereals, bread/bagels, donut holes, yogurt, fruit, hard boiled eggs, microwave french toast--no meats. The guest rooms have mini fridge and bath&body works amenities, free wifi. The beds seem lower end and springs creak whenever you move. The bed linens are very basic while the towels are decently plush. The area wasn't particularly busy so there was just occasional street car noise and I only heard train blowing in the morning (was glad they didn't run at night). They advertise the hotel being constructed with some sort of special material for sound-proofing but don't know if it was any better than normal. There may not have been anyone next door to us since it wasn't busy. Could still hear other guest room doors open/close and there was some rumbling sound, perhaps from vending machines. Most immediate loud noise was from the room heater. For dinner we went to Smokin' Oak just a few min drive north which was much better than expected (rotisserie, BBQ etc). Overall very clean hotel, friendly workers and bed is fine for one night.

Room Tip: Make sure not to get room next to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Nice, very clean room, and a friendly staff. The lobby was inviting. Free WiFi. Price was reasonable. Only stayed one night, but the room was immaculate and the place was very quiet. Most parking is around the back. The hotel is right beside of the Americana Inn when trying to get to it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomah, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed at the Nichols Inn on Friday October 28th, 2011. It was clean and we got a rate for $74.00. The room was a good size and had no issues. The staff was really friendly and free continental breakfast was great. Only thing I didn't like was the lack of parking but otherwise would recommend over the other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Reserve your room using an online search
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, SD
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed here during the recent fall festival. We had never been to the area before and thought this would be a good time to check it out. Other hotels I looked into were either booked or terribly rated on this site so we opted for the Nichols Inn and were well pleased. It is nothing fancy, but clean, clean, clean and tidy, and that's how I like it. It isn't near downtown where most of the action was during our stay, but it is close to the pottery district and several restaurants. The continental breakfast was okay, but we opted to have breakfast at the Smokey Oat Cafe up the street which was excellent. The room was very quiet and had some nice amenities like "Bath and Body Works" soap and shampoo and also a great full-length mirror in the room and a nice vanity mirror in the bathroom. Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We choose this hotel simply because it looked to have the nicest rooms. It was clean and quiet and decorated nicely; although everything from the lobby, to the breakfast area, to the room itself, was small. There was no pool, DVD player or a room with a view since all rooms look out over a parking area. But the sole reason I will never visit this hotel again is because of the bed. It was rock hard --something out of 1984 -- there was no pillowtop, soft blankets or even and "egg crate" to alleviate any impending back pain. And the pillows were just bad. They were small and hard; so beat up that they could be folded in half and never pop back open. I was awake every hour trying to get comfortable and found that sitting in a desk chair at 4:00am was more relaxing than laying in the bed. My young daughter told me the next morning that she contemplated sleeping on the floor since it would probably have been more restful. Needless to say, we checked out the following day and stayed someplace else...and when I got home, I called my chiropractor.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nichols Inn Red Wing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nichols Inn Red Wing

Address: 1750 Highway 61, Red Wing, MN 55066
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Nichols Inn Red Wing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nichols Inn Red Wing Hotel Red Wing
Nichols Hotel Red Wing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nichols Inn Red Wing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.