We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful first experience at a B&B!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Round Barn Farm Bed, Breakfast, and Bread

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Round Barn Farm Bed, Breakfast, and Bread
Save Saved
You added Round Barn Farm Bed, Breakfast, and Bread to your Saves list
28650 Wildwood Lane, Red Wing, MN 55066   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Red Wing B&B and Inns
Fridley, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful first experience at a B&B!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is the first time my husband and I have ever stayed at a B&B and we were blown away!! From the delicious three course breakfast, to the warm and comfy bed, to our delightful hosts Elaine and Robin! They were able to share so much history about their beautiful property as well as great suggestions of activities to do in the area. We left them with a warm loaf a bread and not wanting to go! We recommend the Round Barn Farm to everyone and look forward to going there again!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Spinning Room and it was delightful, but since we were the only couple there for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    5
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cottage Grove
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed in the Willow Suite which is one of the larger rooms. Fireplace, swing, feather bed, Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom, and comfortable bed. We loved the room and felt transported back in time. The house is gorgeous. The owners do an exceptional job at making you feel at home, explaining the history of the home, property and barn, and serving a delicious breakfast. We baked bread in the outdoor over and it was a fun experience. The barn tour was so interesting because they know so much about the history. Also, the barn would be a great place to have a party. It is a must see. We plan to buy gift certificates for our in-laws to have a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Very well presented historic charm, free from the usual drawbacks of an old inn. We loved how the owners reviewed, and have preserved history... We've stayed at many B&B's and have never had such an enthusiastic, welcoming, and interesting experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Had a wonderful time and would highly recommend. The 3 course breakfast was a real treat. Lots of attention to details in the house and rooms. The bed was also awesomely comfy. Elaine and Robin were great hosts. The bread baking in the outdoor oven was a fun learning experience and the tour of the round barn was interesting.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a wonderful place! Not your typical old run down B&B, this place is immaculate, top notch, first class and the best we have stayed at by far. We left feeling like it was definitely worth the price and that it was an "experience" not just a night away. The beds are AMAZING, the host and hostess are friendly, accomodating and truly care about thier guests experience while still allowing you privacy. The little touches really made it worthwhile, the breakfast "appetizers", the selection of specialty beverages in the fridge and the beautiful gardens with little hidden benches, fountains and bird feeders, not to mention home made cookies that melted in your mouth.

One of the best parts was chatting with other guests over coffee on the screen porch while our bread baked just steps away in the outdoor oven. The smell was heavenly and made the whole experience one we will not soon forget.

My only regret is that we only stayed one night and not two! It would have been nice to have a little more time to climb the bluff, explore the area, relax in our luxurious room and enjoy the company of the hosts.

As to the reviewers that gave this place a bad rating, I would say that you obviously haven't stayed at many B&B's. Of course you hear the other guests walking around, it's a B&B not a hotel and of course the hosts talk to you....you are staying in thier home!!! Of course breakfast is a long affair, that is the point of the bed and BREAKFAST!!! Maybe those people should have chosen the Super 8 instead of this charming little slice of heaven.

We will definietly be back and will bring our friends too. Thanks Elaine and Robin for loving what you do and sharing your home with us.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great with awesome views. You would be happy in any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE WI
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Thank goodness for the central air of the Round Barn during that beastly hotter than Hades week last week! They accomodated our last minute reservation when another B & B where we had reservations ended up NOT having central air-OY! Round Barn's rooms are exquisite-we stayed in the Willow Room. The breakfast was four deeelicious courses-YIKES! Home baked bread, great stories, nice company, a bed we will end up buying on our own which we just melted into. Thanks Round barn-we WILL return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulda
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The facility is beautiful, the setting is peaceful and how wonderful not to have phones or TV!! Our room had a fun 2 person tub in it that we enjoyed very much. The breakfasts were magnificent! About the only thing I would add to other glowing reviews here is the owners are a wonderful Christian couple that take exceptional care of their guests. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Round Barn Farm Bed, Breakfast, and Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Barn Farm Bed, Breakfast, and Bread

Address: 28650 Wildwood Lane, Red Wing, MN 55066
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Round Barn Farm Bed, Breakfast, and Bread, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.