We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience-great hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Round Barn Farm Bed, Breakfast, and Bread

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Round Barn Farm Bed, Breakfast, and Bread
Save
You added Round Barn Farm Bed, Breakfast, and Bread to your Saves list
28650 Wildwood Lane, Red Wing, MN 55066   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Red Wing B&B and Inns
minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“wonderful experience-great hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This is a great place.
The breakfasts were wonderful and creative. Each had 3 courses--a beautiful fruit plate with a homemade sauce, a main course, and a dessert. The eggs benedict had a wonderful citrus hollandaise. The stuffed French toast had a filling of apples and other flavors. All of the bread is made on site.You are sent home with a loaf that is in the shape of the round barn. There were almond cookies left in the living room to munch on. Robin and Elaine are very willing to share their recipes, and we came home with some.
There is a very artistic attention to detail in the decorating. It is lovely, but not fussy. The furniture is lovely, yet comfortable. Beds and linens first rate. We were on second floor, where there is a sitting room. There is a little refrigerator there, stocked with interesting sodas and waters--not just standard fare. It is a great place to sit and read, or have a cup of tea.
The grounds are beautiful, with trails for walking. The moon over the fields was gorgeous.
The round barn itself is a wonder. We really enjoyed hearing it's history and how it was lovingly restored.
Elaine and Robin did everything to make our stay memorable and comfortable. They are pleasant and personable.
I bought some wonderful slippers knit by Elaine's sister that were available to purchase.
The only negative are the train whistles. I like trains, and didn't mind the noise, but I can see where some people might have issues with this. They do supply ear plugs, if you want them. See--they think of everything
Worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    5
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
40
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Go on a weekend to ensure you get to be apart of making bread that you get to take home! The bread is simply fantastic! The air jet bathtubs are really great!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This place was a piece of work to say the least. The owners are creepy and rude, even to children. I think one comment that sticks in my head was a little girl who was the flower girl at the wedding we attended here said to the owner as she passed "I’m going to be the flower girl" the reply was "o/k … whatever" and thats just one of many. What ungrateful host to a wedding party that just rented out the entire establishment. Heaven forbid you accidently spill something (bring your checkbook it will be an expensive spill) or need to use one of the guest rooms to change a child’s diaper. We had to sneak around like we were 12 years old and hiding from the boogie man for fears of being hounded down by the owners and watch at every turn. What a joke. Best place in Red Wing 3 year’s running.Hmmm I think they need a few more places to judge from. I would rather stay at the best western down the street. Don’t be fooled by the cheesy video on their website.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

The food was great and the grounds were beautiful, but the inkeepers are overbearing and intrusive. It feels like an obligatory visit to a unlikable relative's house where you are forced to follow them through their activities and listen to all of their stories that they think are way too entertaining. Yawn. Paying for the experience adds insult to injury.
On top of that, they are creepy. They have the charm of the group from deliverance and it is obvious that an unscripted social gathering freaks them out, hence the control over every minute and every conversation. This is not a peaceful get away. In fact, the most exciting thing about the weekend was trying to get our stuff packed as quickly as possible and get the hell out of there!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We had a girls weekend at the Round Barn Farm in Red Wing, MN and we could not of had a better time!! The property is amazing and the owners are fun and full of energy. We stayed in the Willow Suite and it was the biggest suite in the house. The suites all include your own bathroom and are self controlled on the temperature. There is a mini fridge on the second floor with water and sodas that you can help yourself to. There is coffee and tea also if you want it. In the morning at 7 am you will find a tasty breakfast treat waiting for you..we had homemade blueberry muffins that were heart shaped on the first morning.
I am a very picky person and I was thrilled with the 3 course breakfast each morning. Robin and Elaine are very good in the kitchen and have stories to share at breakfast. On the weekend you get the special treat of helping Robin bake homemade bread! Then you get to take your loaf home too!!
They take you on a tour of the barn and the garden area. You can go hiking on their property or just sit in the gazebo or the front porch....Blaze (the cat) will be watching for you to give him a nice pet on the head!
Then if you feel like heading to town (a mere 4 miles) you can check out the pottery, the river, the fiesta ware and all kinds of fun stuff!!
Then when you come back home you will fall asleep in the best bed you have ever slept in!! It is so comfortable!!!
It was an amazing weekend and I cannot wait to go back!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We were guests at a wedding that took place at the Round Barn recently. The wedding party had booked the entire B&B for two days for the wedding, setup, and other festivities. The entire time we were there, the hosts hovered around us, acting as if our every move was going to wreak havoc and destruction on their property. We understand that weddings are large affairs that can be unruly and sometimes chaotic. Contingencies for this should be put in the contract just to make sure, but a certain amount of trust and would have been appreciated. The day of the wedding, they put up signs forbidding anyone except for overnight guests from entering the upstairs rooms, even though parents, family, and other members of the wedding party needed access to the bride and groom's rooms to fetch various things for them. Each person who entered was accosted and asked to explain him/herself. The downstairs restroom was also off limits to all guests on the day of the wedding. We had porta-potties rented for our use, but the only water source provided to us was the hose outside. The hosts also charged per-minute overtime past checkout for the extra time we spent cleaning up the barn prior to our departure. They did let us borrow their corkscrew and dustpan, but made everything else seem like a major inconvenience to them- as if we were intruding on their property instead of being guests there.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We spent two nights in the Quilted Bird Suite. From the very moment we arrived, Robin and Elaine were so friendly and hospitable. They really pour their heart and soul into this, and it shows. The building and grounds are beautiful with lots of space to relax and explore. The B&B is new construction designed to look old, meaning that you get modern amenities (individual climate controls, logical room layouts) with historic charm. Most B&Bs lack one or the other, but not Round Barn Farm. The place is absolutely immaculate and well-maintained. We never saw a speck of dust or a hint of peeling wallpaper.

The morning started at 7:30 with optional outdoor bread-baking. Don't miss it if you're staying in the summer months. Breakfast was at 8:30 and was a long, phenomenal affair. The food was superb! After breakfast, we got to tour the round barn. Robin and Elaine really love this barn and its history.

The only thing we didn't like about our stay was the noise. You do expect some noise in a B&B (though perhaps less given this is a new house). We heard hallway noise and footsteps above us, the 7:00 coffee service in the foyer, and a frequent loud train at all hours. However, the bed is so comfy and the room so tranquil that we quickly forgot about any disturbances.

We love B&Bs and this one is definitely top-notch. We hope to get back! Thanks, Elaine and Robin, for a wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: The back of the house might have less train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Round Barn Farm Bed, Breakfast, and Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Barn Farm Bed, Breakfast, and Bread

Address: 28650 Wildwood Lane, Red Wing, MN 55066
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Round Barn Farm Bed, Breakfast, and Bread, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.