We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FriendlyPlace, Second Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AmericInn.com Orbitz.com
and 7 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
1819 Old West Main St, Red Wing, MN 55066   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Red Wing
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“FriendlyPlace, Second Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was our second visit to the AmericInn in Red Wing. After a bad experience in town at another hotel, we sought out this one knowing we had a positive experience in the past.

The room included a small refrigerator, coffee maker, flat screen TV with decent cable selection, and a Clean Remote for the TV. Even had a newspaper at our door in the morning. The breakfast selection was good and the great room lobby with fireplace is a pleasant area to hang out and it in.

Our particular room was handicapped accessible. While we did not need the room specifically, it included lowered beds, a "roll in" shower with flip down seat and a second, lower peek hole on the door.

The room was what I would consider a bit high price-wise, but it is a great location in town and it is a consistent, quality visit.

The staff also was great. We needed some extra things one night and the staff member up front was happy to help. I was also surprised to receive a phone call a few days before our reservation to remind us and ask if we had any questions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Wing, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My parents stayed here for 2 nights and it was very nice. The pool area is open 24 hours for adults and each time we went swimming we were the only ones there. The sauna was electric and the whirlpool was spacious. The room was clean and very quiet. The lady working the desk was very nice and suggested a few places to eat and things to do while in town. Continental breakfast was average. They do have a waffle maker! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Our room was great. Very spacious and clean. We enjoyed the pool and whirlpool during the adults only hours. We didn't get up early enough for breakfast but we enjoyed when we stayed previously. This was our second stay at this hotel and we will be back should we be in the area again.

Room Tip: The King Deluxe Room with Whirlpool was great. Worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Iron MN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We met our son & wife there for an event at Treasure Island. Perfect location and the staff was excellent and very friendly. Room was a little higher than I'd expect, but the town was sold out, so attribute that to supply and demand. The rooms were clean and had basic needs. Bathroom was a little small. We liked the "germ free" remote! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, South Dakota, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Even though this is a typical chain motel, we were really impressed by the desk staff; Helpful, informative, friendly and thorough. The beds and pillows are excellent!
The location is near the old Red Wing Pottery factory and about a 5 minute drive to the downtown area. Breakfast was adequate. Pool was indoor and nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

My family (wife, 2 yr old, baby, and I) spent one night recently at this property. Price was $94 + tax which was a bit high for this motel. Hotel looks a little run down from the outside, but was clean on the inside, both our room, the lobby area, and the pool area. Staff was friendly at check in and out. Rooms are a tad dated and the bathroom is really small (toilet couple inches from the tub AND the bathroom door). Light over the sink did not work well. Beds were average, worked for one night. Flat screen TV a plus. Breakfast the next morning was pretty good with the usual cont. selection. Nothing special, just a solid breakfast.

So overall, have to rate as average as this property was right down the middle. Nothing wrong with the stay, was quiet and clean, but the price was a little high for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Nice big room with a jacuzzi tub in the bedroom. Very comfortable bed. Two windows to get fresh air. Not far from a river park and an access point to the Cannon River Bike Trail. We have always had a good experience at AmericInns.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing

Address: 1819 Old West Main St, Red Wing, MN 55066
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AmericInn Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing to your Saves list