We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AmericInn.com Orbitz.com
and 7 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
1819 Old West Main St, Red Wing, MN 55066   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Red Wing
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
“Updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This hotel was just average. Some of the rooms were being updated which is good and they looked nice, but not all were. Would have been nice to have updated room. Lobby needs updating. We were able to sit in lobby later in evening without any major problems as long as we were not too loud. The evening desk clerk was very accomadating and had wonderful customer service!!!! No prolems for us with reservations and check-in. Really Liked that they email and give you a reminder call with you reservation details and reminder of 48 hour cancelation policy. Friends had a room that was no smoking but had smoke coming into their room from another, not sure from vents or what. Overall it was an "okay" hotel. We were at the hotel for a baseball tourney.

Room Tip: ask for an updated room that faces the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I stayed here one night during a recent stay in Red Wing . I drove into town with no reservations and while this motel was a little hard to find(off Highway 61 north /but no clear access point) it was a pleasant place to stay. They advertise their"quiet" rooms and they lived up that reputation.In addition, the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. They gave me a room at the back of the unit- away from the highway. They had a nice pool which I used-ample towels on site.

In the morning, the free breakfast was very nice; fresh fruit, cereal, waffles(although you had to go to a seperate room to cook them) bagels, English muffins, yogurt, juice. The breakfast area was clean and nicely furnished and it was one of the better "free breakfasts" I have encountered.

Upon checkout, I asked the desk clerk for some directions and she was very helpful and as I was doing some family geneological research, shared with me some of her Red Wing history. She was "small-town friendly" and gracious and this always helps.

The motel is located right next to two or three others(all chains) and I am sure they are similar. But the breakfast and the friendly help made this a nice place to stay.

Red Wing is a charming Mississippi river town- historic and quaint. Ate lunch at the St James Hotel and it was very nice. Toured the Red Wing Shoe museum and store and walked along the riverfront plaza.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Highway 61- toward the back of the unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010 via mobile

We had reserved a non smoking room, but were told on arrival that none were available. We thought a smoking room might be okay, but the smoke smell in the room was so strong we did not even go into the room. Location was also right on highway 61. The staff was courteous and let us cancel the rooms on the spot. They did attempt to book us into their sister hotel next door, but were unsuccessful. We found another hotel that was much better for us. If you are a non smoker, you should call in advance to confirm you have a non smoking room. Just because you requested it does not mean you have it.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2007

We are from town, but wanted something for the kids to do during a recent snow storm. The staff was wonderful! The kids spent all day in the pool and just had a blast. In the morning we had a great complimentary breakfast that included waffles! What a great plus! We will definately recommend the AmericInn to our friends and family when they come to town! Thanks for a wonderful stay :)

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing

Address: 1819 Old West Main St, Red Wing, MN 55066
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AmericInn Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing to your Saves list