We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lawther Octagon House Bed and Breakfast

Lawther Octagon House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lawther Octagon House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Lawther Octagon House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
927 West 3rd Street, Red Wing, MN 55066   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Red Wing B&B and Inns
MN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

Penny is a most gracious hostess, and her poochie pal B.J. is a darling. Upon our arrival, we were greeted with wine and treats on the screen porch, just the norm for Sat. nights at the Octagon House! We laughed and talked with the other guests for a couple hours, and then had a lovely, private stay until breakfast the next morning, when we rejoined the group for a delicious meal. Penny shared much about the local history, and the importance of the house and family who once lived there. Our room was comfortable, and we really enjoyed our stay. Great location to walk around downtown, too.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

This was the second time that we have stayed at the Octagon House in Red Wing, and for sure not the last. The atmosphere is very charming and elegant. Delicate fabric covers the walls of this Victorian style B&B. A beautiful view of Red Wing, MN from the rooftop, which you will not find anywhere else nor forget. The breakfast served is so delicious you will not want to leave. Everything about this place is worth exploring. We cannot wait to go back!

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2007

We love this property and we love Penny. We always spend some time catching up and telling stories in her comfortable 'lounge' room, drinking wine and eating a few of her great snacks. Penny has the ABSOLUTELY best breakfasts. One of the friends we came there with has a nut allergy and Penny went out of her way to make sure they food was served special for our friend so she would not have any reactions.

Staying at Lawther is like staying with the 'Cool Mom'!!!

:]

The Hunters, Champlin MN

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2007

We had the most lovely time at the Octagon House in Red Wing. Penny, the proprietor, was a delight! The décor is lovely, the hors d'oeuvres were delectable, the rooms were lavish and Penny's breakfasts were outstanding. We will definitely return to this charming home-away-from-home.

  • Liked — Penny's personal touch
  • Disliked — There wasn't anything not to like!
  • Tips/Secrets — Check out this b-and-b, it's fantastic!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2006

We had a very relaxing time at this very beautiful B&B. This getaway was just what we needed after the busy holidays. This B&B was not only beautiful but so well maintained. The breakfast was wonderful and the portions were very large. The presentation of the food was excellent. The B&B keeper was very friendly and shared many stories about the Lawther family. We loved the history of the home and also enjoyed viewing some of the other rooms in the house. We realized a one night stay is not enough and will plan our next experience for a least two nights. We are anxious to share this great find with our family and friends and look forward to future visits. Thnaks Penny!

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2006

You would be hard pressed to find a B&B with a more friendly and wonderful hostess. Penny maintains a beautiful Victorian home, cooks the most memorable breakfasts you'll ever have, and generally makes you feel at home in the adorable town of Red Wing.

I've stayed here many times, and I'm sure I will be back. I cannot say enough good things or recommend it highly enough. You will not be disappointed if you go!

  • Liked — Great food!
  • Disliked — If you're looking for technology or if you have trouble getting around, you may be disappointed.
  • Tips/Secrets — The Cannon Valley bike trail is incredible, as is the shopping in downtown Red Wing.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2006

My boyfriend and I have been to Red Wing several times for weekend getaways and every trip means a mandatory stay at the Octagon House.

Penny is the most gracious, friendly host, offering great recommendations for local food and shopping, a beautiful house, and a breakfast you'll never forget.

Once you go, you will definitely want to return and stay with Penny again.

  • Liked — Penny's hospitality is second to none.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lawther Octagon House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawther Octagon House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 927 West 3rd Street, Red Wing, MN 55066
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lawther Octagon House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.