We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful - Elegant - Yesteryear” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moondance Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moondance Inn
Save
You added Moondance Inn to your Saves list
1105 West Fourth Street, Red Wing, MN 55066   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Red Wing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Eau Claire, Wisc.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful - Elegant - Yesteryear”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My wife selected Moondance Inn as a Birthday Gift. Mike greeted us - warmly and sincerely - at the door, and from there we enjoyed a delightful "sleepover". The home is an "art piece". Our bedroom was comfortably furnished - good lighting so we could read in bed - plush linens, a cozy fiireplace - a place where you can form and keep some connected thoughts. The busy world was elsewhere. Mike made a breakfast omlet (preceded by frsh fruit and juice - coffee (good coffee!) and it was a fluffy treat! Nice location! Easy to find and close to downtown. Moondance is on our "short list" for return and renewal. Dick & Joan

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbmmcw2008, Owner at Moondance Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for writing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    10
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
84
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edina, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My wife and I went on a marriage retreat to redwing to get away and do some snowboarding.
We went a visited Moondance, Pratt Taber and also the Candlelight Inn. The Moon palace for sure has the best set up. Each room as a whirlpool - and also has more common areas to hang out in.
Breakfast was great. Fruit cup, warm muffins and then pumpkin pancakes with pecans. The next day was an omelet. Very fresh and nice. They were very hospitable.

I would stay again!

Room Tip: The Kings room is the best room available. king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Mike the own was an amazing host! The house was beautiful and had instantly become what will be a tradition to visit. We are vegan and vegetarian and he had no problem making us a breakfast that accommodated our eating style. In short, the house and owners provided the kind of experience that makes you wanna do whatever you can to help them succeed!

Thanks Mike!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are really elegant! The King's room has little bigger bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Awesome place to stay. The owners were very attentive to all needs. We really enjoyed Red Wing and the surrounding area. We walked to many of the attractions that we wanted to see in the town. Barn bluff, Red Wing brewery, Red Wing Shoes, the St. James Hotel, etc.

Room Tip: There's only one taxi in the town. If you plan to go out at night booking this place that is clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I celebrating our 1 year wedding anniversary here this past weekend. We stayed at the Moondance Inn, in the gypsy room. The decor in the house as a whole was awesome, interesting and one of a kind. The atmosphere of the entire place was also so relaxing. We had wine and appetizers with another couple staying there on Saturday night, and great front porch conversations with another on Monday morning. The beds were comfortable...extremely comfortable. The food was delicious...absolutely breathtaking, seriously. This is definitely the place to stay in Red Wing!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My hubby and I had a wonderful time. Stayed in the King room and it was beautiful. Red Wing is charming. We planned on drinking too much at dinner downtown to drive home and the B&B was close enough to walk to from the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and celebrated out anniversary here. Our room was perfect and the breakfast was excellent. I would recommend staying here you will not be disappointed!! The Inn keepers were very nice and many great stories about the history of the house and how they came to be the owners of such a beautiful house.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbmmcw2008, Owner at Moondance Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moondance Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moondance Inn

Address: 1105 West Fourth Street, Red Wing, MN 55066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only an hour's drive from Minneapolis and St. Paul the Moondance Inn is a magnificent five bed room bed & breakfast. Located with in walking distance to downtown dining and shopping makes our location perfect for exploring Red Wing Minnesota. Prices range from $125 to $199 a night and there are numerous walking trails along the Mississippi river. Downhill skiing, cross-country skiing, and golf are all within a 15-minute drive. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moondance Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.