We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Smokin Oak Rotisserie & Grill

The Smokin Oak Rotisserie & Grill
4243 Hwy 61, Red Wing, MN
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 47 Restaurants in Red Wing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

They have so many options for dining. The BBQ is amazing and staff is wonderful. I look forward to going back again very soon.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    40
    22
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Union Grove, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR SERVICE THIS IS NOT WHERE YOU WANT TO GO”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We arrived at 7PM and it was Saturday night so the restaurant was pretty full. We were seated after about 20 minutes. Our waitress arrived shortly and got us our drinks. We then placed an order for appetizers (potato skins) and she said she did not have to write it down (we asked as she didn't have an order pad). She then returned about 10 minutes later with no appetizer but took our dinner order. We then had about an hour in which we never saw her and had to flag down another staff member for more beverages. After an hour she showed up with our dinner order and no appetizer this time with the manager who apologized when we said we no longer wanted the appetizer. He said he would wrap them up free of charge and we could take them with us. We then ate with no sign of the waitress to refresh our drinks or see if we needed anything else (again). We waited and waited for our check but again no waitress. The manager was now " hanging out" at the bar with fiends or customers(?) and my brother in law had to try and get his attention 3 times by saying " excuse me", and finally this guy turned around and got really rude with my brother in law when he tried to inform him that we hadn't seen our server for a long time. All we wanted was our bill so he finally said he'd check to make sure the appetizer wasn't on there ( it was) so he corrected it and gave us the bill. The food was rather good but the manager and waitstaff made us never want to return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
689 reviews 689 reviews
543 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
836 helpful votes 836 helpful votes
“One of the Worst Dining Experiences Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Decided to have lunch here on our bike ride on the Cannon Valley Trail. Asked to be seated in a booth and the host brought to a booth in the bar area. Seated in the booth next to us were the most DRUNK, LOUD, OBNOXIOUS and completely RUDE table I ever had the unpleasantness to be exposed to. We did not receive menu or silverware until several minutes after been seated. The food was very average and with the atmosphere we were subjected to the service seemed like an eternity. The vulgarity and loudness of this table did not allow us to have any conversation during our meal. Finally, the bartender had the guts to go over and tell them to stop. It didn't work. I told our server if these people are allowed to get into a car and drive that I would call 911. To the credit of the bartender I did not have to do this. He called the police for their behavior and possible driving under the influence. The police were confronting this group as we were leaving so I don't know the outcome, but was very happy they weren't allowed to drive drunk on Labor Day or any day! The bartender offered us a gift certificate and assured us that this was the first time in 9 years he'd ever seen clientele act in the manner this group did. The server had no business continuing to provide alcohol for this group. They ruined the meals of everyone sitting in this area. A shame to spend your hard earned money on a meal, only to have it ruined. Probably won't be back. To bad.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannon Falls, Mn
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Skip it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was the blandest most dull food imaginable. My husband and I both had sandwiches. They were edible but nothing more.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Super good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The only thing I didn't like were the chicken wings..they were the actual chicken wing with the drumstick attached and they gave you a sauce to pour over it. Other than that, the beer and burgers were awesome!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smokin Oak Rotisserie & Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Smokin Oak Rotisserie & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Smokin Oak Rotisserie & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.