We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best B&Bs we have stayed at!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Lantern Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Lantern Inn
721 East Ave, Red Wing, MN 55066-3435   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Red Wing B&B and Inns
Winona, MN
1 review
“One of the best B&Bs we have stayed at!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

The Golden Lantern in Red Wing, MN was without a doubt, one of the best B&Bs we have stayed at. It was immaculate, quiet, peaceful and elegant. The owners were friendly but not invasive and the food was delicious! We would love to go back sometime.
I would recommend it without reservation.

  • Liked — Spacious, beautifully decorated accommodations
  • Disliked — Parking and checkout time
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    30
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
11
157
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St.Paul
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2008

This is the stuff fairy tales are made of! Everything you can think of has been provided; from the in–room cd player with relaxing cds to the stocked mini fridge, bath products and robes to the morning wake up basket with coffee, tea or cocoa and in–room gourmet breakfast.
They will even arrange for a before bed in–room massage with a local therapist for you!
An incredible 1930s Tudor mansion, the Golden Lantern is impeccably appointed and maintained. Inn keepers Gary and Pat are there when you need them and out of sight when you don't. I highly recommend the Hideaway room for privacy and space, but you really can't go wrong with any of the rooms. The foyer, parlor and fire-lit sitting rooms are a victorian delight. The sunlight porch and patio are straight out of a home and garden magazine.
The grounds will make the hardiest gardener shrink with envy! There is a huge stone outdoor fireplace where the makings for s'mores are provided. Enchanting. Simply storybook!

  • Liked — The impeccable maintenance and attention to detail
  • Disliked — There were no negatives
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2008

The charm of old times when you sat on a balcony and enjoyed freshly made breakfast or curled up in front of a fire with your husband on valentine's day is what we experienced at the Golden Lantern Inn. The perfect getaway for parents of 2 little ones who wanted privacy, beautiful surroundings, and great hospitality.

  • Liked — Everything, the seclusion, the beauty, the food, the massage, all of it.
  • Disliked — That we only stayed for a couple of days.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2008

Wow, what a fabulous B & B...Gary and Pat are the most gracious host and hostess! We were delighted beyond measure with their accommodations and fabulous food and amenities. We would recommend their inn to anyone who wants to enjoy a great getaway.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2007

October 11, 2007
My husband and I have stayed in several bed and breakfasts around the country and have learned that it is the little things that count at these establishments. Gary and Pat McKenna, the owners and your hosts at the Golden Lantern Inn in Red Wing Minnesota provide many such touches from the fresh cookies in your room at check in time to the romantic fire in the evenings on the back patio. The rooms in the beautiful arts and crafts home are cozy and inviting. And the beds are oh, so comfortable!
Coffee is delivered to the rooms prior to a wonderful breakfast. Guests can also have their breakfast delivered to their rooms or eat in the enclosed porch and enjoy the beautiful garden.
We had a wonderful time at the Golden Lantern Inn. Gary and Pat are wonderful hosts. It is certainly worth the trip!

  • Liked — Personal service
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lantern Inn

Address: 721 East Ave, Red Wing, MN 55066-3435
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 4 blocks from downtown, this Inn was built by the founders of Red Wing Shoes. House is adorn with great woodwork and features charm, elegance, serenity, and comfort. Spectacular gardens and grounds. Many packages, specials and choices of venues for breakfast. Highest rated Inn in Red Wing. Four of the five rooms are suites. Four have fireplaces, four have Jacuzzis all have private baths. Breakfast available in your room--the only Inn in Red Wing offering this feature. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Lantern Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Golden Lantern Inn to your Saves list