We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hosts and lovely home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlelight Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candlelight Inn
Save
You added Candlelight Inn to your Saves list
818 West Third St, Red Wing, MN 55066   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Red Wing B&B and Inns
Minnesota
1 review
“Best hosts and lovely home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

The breakfast was WONDERFUL, home very pretty and location perfect.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    19
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
75
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

I was a bit worried initially because the kitchen was being renovated and the owners seemed distracted, but all was well by the time we left because of the lovely breakfast we had and the really nice chat we had with Lynette. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

This B & B is accurately described at its website. It is located on a quiet residential street. My bedroom, which is at the side of the house, was perfectly quiet. The historic house is very well preserved and tastefully decorated. The breakfasts were culinary treats. The owners were pleasant and helpful. Very strongly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Great place - we'd stay again. The morning coffee and muffins in our room before breakfast was a very nice extra treat. The house itself is gorgeous with a great history. Very close in and convenient to downtown.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

We planned a weekend in Red Wing months in advance and were looking so forward to our stay at the Candlelight Inn. From the moment we stepped in the place, we felt a chill. The place itself was charming with nice decor. The problem was the people who ran and worked at the Candlelight. After taking our money, they basically disappeared until the next day when a very late breakfast was served at 9:30 to 10 (we weren't asked when we wanted breakfast, but told). I had special dietary considerations which I told them ahead of time and when I asked for instant oatmeal instead of what was being served, I received a very cold response. I did get my oatmeal, but after the response, it was hard to eat it. And we skipped breakfast the next day at the Inn because it wasn't worth the hassle. When we got back in the afternoon at 3:30, our rooms were not completely cleaned (my cousin's and her husband's wasn't cleaned at all). When you go to a B & B you expect some warmth and service. We have stayed at many B & B's throughout the US and Europe and we generally love them. The Candlelight despite its name had no warmth, they just wanted your money.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

This was our first time staying at a B&B and we were glad we decided to try the Candlelight Inn. Our hosts were gracious, the inn was amazing and the food delicious. Our next trip to Red Wing will definitely include staying at the Candlelight Inn.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

The home itself was a old Victorian mansion with beautiful woodwork, stained glass windows and antiques throughout the house. Most of the bedrooms include double whirlpool baths and gas fireplaces. Breakfast was a full gourmet feast that words cannot describe it was awesome. For a romantic getaway this is the place to go!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlelight Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlelight Inn

Address: 818 West Third St, Red Wing, MN 55066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five enchanting bedrooms, all with private baths and fireplaces, some with whirlpools. Victorian antiques, stained glass windows and Quezal light fixtures complete the authentic look of the home. Minnesota Register of Historic places. Charming river town with shopping, golf, skiing, bike trail, Sheldon Theatre. Mid-week discounts. Full breakfast. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlelight Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.