We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip dinner and enjoy an amazing breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlelight Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candlelight Inn
Save
You added Candlelight Inn to your Saves list
818 West Third St, Red Wing, MN 55066   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Red Wing B&B and Inns
Brainerd, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Skip dinner and enjoy an amazing breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a great overnight at The Candlelight Inn. We did a Sunday night stay in the Rose Garden Room. The gas fireplace was cozy, we loved the small Japanese style soaker tub, and we were blown away with our multi-course breakfast. Luckily, we decided to skip dinner downtown (not many places open on a Sunday night) and we're glad we did. The only negatives of our stay were the somewhat uncomfortable mattress and the fact that the old house ran out of hot water when I wanted to take an evening bath. By morning the hot water was in ample supply. We loved the cheese and crackers in the cozy library upon arrival.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    19
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
74
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chilton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Upon arriving at the Candlelight Inn, my husband and I immediately felt enthralled by the beautiful woodwork of the Inn. Breakfast was a wonderful 3 course meal. We thoroughly enjoyed exploring Red Wing, the bluffs, historic district with the world's largest boot, Cannon Valley bike trail, Mexican meal...the Mississippi River area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, mid-week, right after this Labor Day. We were the only guests so it was very quiet and relaxing. The B & B is on a quiet street about 3 blocks from the downtown area so we did walk to some of the sites. Lynette and Zig greeted us and after showing us our room, told us they would have wine and snacks waiting for us on the first floor. They left a carafe of red wine, two kinds of cheeses and sausage. We drank and ate on the veranda, which was lovely. This was available to us both days. I took pictures of all the rooms as no one else was staying and she encouraged us to do so. Each room had its own bathroom and was well appointed. The suite on the first floor was really lovely and large. Our room, Margaret, was nice. We had a queen bed, fireplace, dresser, night stand, small table with two chairs, small couch and another stand. The bathroom was tiny but very clean and had everything we needed. In the hallway outside our room was a small refrigerator stocked with free ice, coke and diet coke. Glasses and a wine opener were also available. She had hair dryers too if you asked and plenty of towels. Also, downstairs in the foyer was a steady supply of nuts, chocolate covered raisins and mints. We helped ourselves. At 8:15 AM, they ring a bell and outside your room is a lovely stand with coffee or tea (we had both) and some fresh tiny muffins. We took the stand downstairs both times and drank and ate it in the sitting room. Breakfast is at 9 AM. It was so good. Breakfast each day was delicious. Over two days we had fresh fruit, fruit compote type starter, eggs, a potatoe and sausage casserole, blueberry french toast like casserole, sausage, cake and ice cream and cherry pie and ice cream plus coffee, tea, water and oj. We loved it. She was also very cognizant of our privacy and joined us to talk at dessert after asking us. Lynette has a blog and also will do cooking classes. I think it is the perfect spot for a group of women who want to get away and learn some new dishes OR for a romantic getaway. There was plenty to do in town for a couple of days.

Room Tip: I think any room is a good choice. There is one that has a whirlpool in the bedroom. There is also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend at the Candlelight Inn! We are young-ish (24 and 29) and unmarried, and I wasn't sure if we would be welcomed at a B&B, but Lynette and Zig couldn't have been any more gracious and welcoming to us. No one questioned when we came and went and all the other guests were genuinely nice people as well! The 3 course breakfasts were amazing and the house is beautiful!! We stayed in the Rose Garden Room and the Victoria Room, both were very nice! Coffee and muffins at your door at 8:15 every morning -- just wonderful! Nice location close to downtown, perfect for taking the train into town as it is just a 4 block walk from the depot!

Room Tip: The tub in the Victoria room was larger than the tub in the Rose Garden room, but the fireplace in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed in the Butternut suite with its heart-shaped whirlpool. Our stay started with a personal welcome and orientation by the owner. It was apparent that she loves welcoming her guests. The small details make this place a stand-out. There were snacks, wine, water and pop available all the time. The decorating was homey and made us feel like family. There was a coin search in the suite that was tracked in a journal. Each visitor noted how many coins were found and hid them again for the next guest. Coffee was delivered outside our door and announced with a tinkling bell. The breakfast followed and was full of delicious treats served with charm. Added to all the things we loved was the fact that downtown Red Wing was within walking distance. What a wonderful way to spend a romantic overnight.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Nice relaxing atmosphere...lot's of attention to detail.. Comfy bed. Wonderful breakfast! Certainly didn't go away hungry. It was all homemade....(you could tell)The wine & cheese on arrival were a nice touch. Located near shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Went to this B & B, stayed at the Rose Garden Room with fireplace and jacuzzi tub. There were 5 different suites in this B & B. The host and hostess were charming and had evening snacks, cheese and meat, with wines. Morning coffee or tea were brought up to your door an hour before the three-star breakfast. Tables were all assigned and set up for the 10 people-our first course was strawberry and cream soup, as well as the coffee, tea, juice, water. Our second course was wild rice, bacon quiche,with fruit and homemade cinnamon roll. Our third course was chocolate souffle. The hostess also came and advised all of us about the story of this B &B, and there was also hidden coins in every room. Very relaxful for us.

Room Tip: Some suites have jacuzzi and others have showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlelight Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlelight Inn

Address: 818 West Third St, Red Wing, MN 55066
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five enchanting bedrooms, all with private baths and fireplaces, some with whirlpools. Victorian antiques, stained glass windows and Quezal light fixtures complete the authentic look of the home. Minnesota Register of Historic places. Charming river town with shopping, golf, skiing, bike trail, Sheldon Theatre. Mid-week discounts. Full breakfast. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlelight Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.