We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mechanical Issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4275 Highway 61 West, Red Wing, MN 55066   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Mechanical Issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Short trip from Minneapolis to Red Wing for weekend getaway. Location and personnel were great, dining next door was excellent. Problem was with the room. The thermostat did not function properly and would not turn off at high or low temperature range. Ended up getting up during the night when temp reached 82 (set for 74). Front desk person came to investigate but could not figure out issue either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. I apologize for the maintenance issues with our heating unit. We have looked each unit and have resolved any issues.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Jessica Roskos
Assistant General Manager
Country Inn & Suites - Red Wing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    31
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
31
27
3
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Situated on the edge of town not easy to find unless you come in from the north. Good reception, nice rooms, great pool indoor and outdoor. Good reception, car to door for 1st floor rooms with small patio. Restaurant next door fast food, if you want more try Applebys half a mile north.. Breakfast a dissapointment but Perkins next door good for breakfast. A very good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

We have updated our breakfast options and belive these options will satisfy your breakfast needs.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Jessica Roskos
Assistant General Manager
Country Inn & Suites - Red Wing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This property was an affordable, clean, and quiet place to stay just on the edge of town. The rooms were more than adequate for the price and very clean, as it is a newer propert. We stayed for the convenience of having the Smokin Oaks restaurant located conveniently in the parking lot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Jessica Roskos
Assistant General Manager
Country Inn & Suites - Red Wing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Nice quiet place to stay.....the staff are very friendly and helpful....the room we had was nice and clean and comfortable...it was very quiet.......was a little bit away from things but that didn't matter to us because we only needed a quiet place to put our heads down and that was exactly what we got.....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Jessica Roskos
Assistant General Manager
Country Inn & Suites - Red Wing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is a newer, quite motel located on the outskirts of Red Wing. We found it to be quiet, restful and the staff were quite accommodating. If you are looking for a good nights sleep with no hassle this is the place for you. The only drawback is its located a bit far from downtown, but maybe thats why its so quiet. Would stay here again, for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Jessica Roskos
Assistant General Manager
Country Inn & Suites - Red Wing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sartell
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were looking for a hotel that had a bar and restaurant, but couldn't find one with availability. This property has the "Smokin' Oak" restaurant in the adjoining parking lot, so it worked out perfectly for us!
The hotel was clean, well kept, and the service desk was friendly and helpful!
The complimentary breakfast had great things to offer including breakfast potatoes, scrambled eggs, make your own waffle, to mention just a few.
We received a government discount, so it was very affordable! We had the king suite for the same rate as the double queen room that we also booked. The room was very spacious!
This hotel was a bit further north than the rest, but it was quiter that way too!
The pool and spa were clean and inviting.
A great find!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Dan Sullivan
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites - Red Wing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Our room was really comfortable except there was a mechanical sound above one of the bedrooms that kept us up one night - may have been the A/C in the room upstairs. We also had a bachelor party down the hall and a gymnast above. I don't blame the hotel for this but it did get a little loud. The layout of the room was great, the bathroom was huge with a great shower and the location was perfect - about 5 minutes from town. The staff was very helpful and quick when we needed anything. We did have trouble with our room key - having to go back to the front desk several times to get it to work. Check in was slow with the lady at the desk having some trouble getting things right. Breakfast was quite good - make your own waffles, a variety of cereals, juices, coffee, danishes, more. The Smokey Oak restaurant next door is excellent - and a good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. It sounds like you had some minor inconveniences with the noise from some other patrons and a key card issue, for which I do apologize. It looks like it didn't affect your overall stay though and that is wonderful to hear!

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Dan Sullivan
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites - Red Wing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing

Address: 4275 Highway 61 West, Red Wing, MN 55066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off of Highway 61, the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson of Red Wing is near some of the area’s best attractions. It is just minutes from Treasure Island Casino, Welch Village Ski & Snowboard Area, Cannon Valley Trail, and Historic Downtown Red Wing. Smokin’ Oak restaurant is located next door.Guests at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing are greeted by welcoming décor and convenient amenities. You're welcome to relax in our comfortable lobby with beautiful fireplace and reading library. The Country Inn & Suites Red Wing offers complimentary enhanced breakfast, weekday lobby newspaper, wireless high-speed internet access, a business center, a fitness room, indoor heated pool, and whirlpool.There are a variety of room types to meet your needs whether you are traveling for business or leisure. We have deluxe rooms, whirlpool, two room and extended stay suites available. All of our beautifully decorated guest rooms feature microwaves and refrigerators. In addition, they feature flat screen TVs with cable and HBO, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Suites Red Wing Hotel Red Wing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.