We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4275 Highway 61 West, Red Wing, MN 55066   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Red Wing
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This property was an affordable, clean, and quiet place to stay just on the edge of town. The rooms were more than adequate for the price and very clean, as it is a newer propert. We stayed for the convenience of having the Smokin Oaks restaurant located conveniently in the parking lot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Jessica Roskos
Assistant General Manager
Country Inn & Suites - Red Wing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    22
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
20
15
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Nice quiet place to stay.....the staff are very friendly and helpful....the room we had was nice and clean and comfortable...it was very quiet.......was a little bit away from things but that didn't matter to us because we only needed a quiet place to put our heads down and that was exactly what we got.....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Jessica Roskos
Assistant General Manager
Country Inn & Suites - Red Wing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is a newer, quite motel located on the outskirts of Red Wing. We found it to be quiet, restful and the staff were quite accommodating. If you are looking for a good nights sleep with no hassle this is the place for you. The only drawback is its located a bit far from downtown, but maybe thats why its so quiet. Would stay here again, for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Jessica Roskos
Assistant General Manager
Country Inn & Suites - Red Wing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sartell
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were looking for a hotel that had a bar and restaurant, but couldn't find one with availability. This property has the "Smokin' Oak" restaurant in the adjoining parking lot, so it worked out perfectly for us!
The hotel was clean, well kept, and the service desk was friendly and helpful!
The complimentary breakfast had great things to offer including breakfast potatoes, scrambled eggs, make your own waffle, to mention just a few.
We received a government discount, so it was very affordable! We had the king suite for the same rate as the double queen room that we also booked. The room was very spacious!
This hotel was a bit further north than the rest, but it was quiter that way too!
The pool and spa were clean and inviting.
A great find!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Dan Sullivan
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites - Red Wing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Our room was really comfortable except there was a mechanical sound above one of the bedrooms that kept us up one night - may have been the A/C in the room upstairs. We also had a bachelor party down the hall and a gymnast above. I don't blame the hotel for this but it did get a little loud. The layout of the room was great, the bathroom was huge with a great shower and the location was perfect - about 5 minutes from town. The staff was very helpful and quick when we needed anything. We did have trouble with our room key - having to go back to the front desk several times to get it to work. Check in was slow with the lady at the desk having some trouble getting things right. Breakfast was quite good - make your own waffles, a variety of cereals, juices, coffee, danishes, more. The Smokey Oak restaurant next door is excellent - and a good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. It sounds like you had some minor inconveniences with the noise from some other patrons and a key card issue, for which I do apologize. It looks like it didn't affect your overall stay though and that is wonderful to hear!

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Dan Sullivan
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites - Red Wing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Glacial slow check in, inadequate bathroom lighting, dirty soap dish and a miniscule breakfast selection, all for $120.00. Why bother with this when there are several better options available.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
I would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Country Inn & Suites, Red Wing. I am sorry to hear we did not live up your expectations. We take all comments seriously and use them to improve our overall product. We are turning over new leaf at the Country Inn & Suites, Red Wing. We have an all new management team that is using your comments and feedback to make improvements and address past areas of concern. I apologize for our past mediocrity. We are making great strides in becoming a hotel that meets your expectations. I thank you for comments and hope to see you again in the future.

Dan Sullivan
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites - Red Wing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Minn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

This is an average hotel. It's location is not great, and hwy 61 is very noisy. The worst part was the breakfast. The dining room was filthy, your feet stuck to the floor. Food choices were next to nothing. When we commented to the manager our disappointment he just blew us off. I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
I would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Country Inn & Suites, Red Wing. I am sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We take all comments seriously and we will use them to improve our product going forward. I apologize for your breakfast experience during your stay. Our breakfast presentation and cleanliness is area and we don't take lightly and has become a major focus for everyone on our staff. We are a new management staff as of July and with your feedback we look to improve on all past areas of concern. We thank you for your feedback and encourage you to stay with us in the future. Dan Sullivan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing

Address: 4275 Highway 61 West, Red Wing, MN 55066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off of Highway 61, the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson of Red Wing is near some of the area’s best attractions. It is just minutes from Treasure Island Casino, Welch Village Ski & Snowboard Area, Cannon Valley Trail, and Historic Downtown Red Wing. Smokin’ Oak restaurant is located next door.Guests at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing are greeted by welcoming décor and convenient amenities. You're welcome to relax in our comfortable lobby with beautiful fireplace and reading library. The Country Inn & Suites Red Wing offers complimentary enhanced breakfast, weekday lobby newspaper, wireless high-speed internet access, a business center, a fitness room, indoor heated pool, and whirlpool.There are a variety of room types to meet your needs whether you are traveling for business or leisure. We have deluxe rooms, whirlpool, two room and extended stay suites available. All of our beautifully decorated guest rooms feature microwaves and refrigerators. In addition, they feature flat screen TVs with cable and HBO, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Suites Red Wing Hotel Red Wing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.