We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4275 Highway 61 West, Red Wing, MN 55066   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Red Wing, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I was looking for a place to stay for a night away to get a break and relax with the kids, while recovering from surgery. We planned to stay only one night but ended up staying for 2. The pool was great and the staff very accommodating. One of the desk ladies even brought magazines to me at the pool where I was relaxing watching the boys. The room was comfortable and the breakfast filling. We will definitely be staying again and would not choose anywhere else in town to stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    31
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
31
27
3
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, MN
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

My family (wife, 1 yr old) stayed at this property for one night recently. Checked in around 9PM - check in was fast and uneventful. I received the exact rate I booked (special rate) and it was not questioned which I appreciated. Got a first floor room with two queens, and it was clean and appointed well with a flat screen TV and fridge in room. Beds were comfortable. The next morning, we did the complementary breakfast. This was the biggest plus of our stay - the breakfast was very ample with lots of cold and hot items to choose from.

So overall, solid and uneventful stay - but sometimes this is all you can ask for.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luvs2scuba
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

We stayed at the Country Inn and Suites over Memorial Day weekend, and they were great! The people at the front counter were very friendly, and they did a great job of stocking the breakfast in the morning. The breakfast was delicious - especially the rolls, as they were made locally! They also had waffles you could make, as well as biscuits and gravy and eggs! The room had a fridge and microwave, and a decent flat screen TV. The beds were comfy, and the lobby was very nice (they had books, games, and a tv in the lobby). The walls were a bit thin, but we bring a noise machine along whenever we travel, so we had no problem. The hotel is on the north side of Red Wing, so it's a little bit of a drive (and by that I mean less than 5 minutes) to get to downtown and the lake, but it was still close enough for our purposes. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay there. Also, they have a great restaurant (The Smokin' Oak) right across the parking lot. Normally we like to try out different restaurants when we visit an area, but this place was so good we went there twice! The smoked rotisserie meat is delicious!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

As others have noted, highway 61 is very loud with lots of big trucks. we stayed in a one-bedroom suite in the back and were not affected by the road noise. Our neighbors had very loud young kids, but the walls did a nice job of blocking. The place wasn't exactly cheap, but wireless and breakfast were included. The last thing to note is that the hotel is located a few miles from downtown Red Wing which was ok for us.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy_From_Normal
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Overall, this was a good place to stay, however I'll list a couple of things to be aware of. In our room, we exterminated about 20 Japanese beetles within the first hour after check-in. Highway 61 is very noisy and goes along the front of the hotel. Recommend getting a room in the back of the hotel that does not face the main road. The parking spaces for the hotel are shared with a restaurant and many times there were no available parking spots by the hotel.
Staff at the hotel was friendly. The breakfast had the standard fare, but was inconsistent with its choices for fruit. One morning it only had a bowl of apples. Another morning it had bananas, but too green to enjoy.

Pros
+ Front desk staff was friendly
+ Very comfortable bed
+ Free Wireless Access

Cons
- Frequest highway noise could be heard in the room
- Bath/shower drain was slow, resulting in showers in at least two inches of water
- Small parking lot

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010 via mobile

I don't know how old the place is, but it looks and smells brand new. The room was clean and spacious. Service left a little to be desired. The only morning that I was there for breakfast, the breakfast area was unattended. That would have been okay, except that they were out of all the items on the hot breakfast line, and coffee! I can take a lot, but you should never run out of coffee during the 07:00 - 08:00 hours. Other than that, the property was great.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

It was a great hotel - friendly people, clean. The only issue we had and that wasn't really anything that was the hotel's fault is that the main regular coffee container didn't work so they had to have us use the pump one which was fine. I did hear one customer say the eggs were cold but I didn't have any so I couldn't say for myself. Also, the whirlpool didn't work right - we had to keep going and turning the knob because it would quit and it never heated up so got really cold in there after a few minutes.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing

Address: 4275 Highway 61 West, Red Wing, MN 55066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off of Highway 61, the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson of Red Wing is near some of the area’s best attractions. It is just minutes from Treasure Island Casino, Welch Village Ski & Snowboard Area, Cannon Valley Trail, and Historic Downtown Red Wing. Smokin’ Oak restaurant is located next door.Guests at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing are greeted by welcoming décor and convenient amenities. You're welcome to relax in our comfortable lobby with beautiful fireplace and reading library. The Country Inn & Suites Red Wing offers complimentary enhanced breakfast, weekday lobby newspaper, wireless high-speed internet access, a business center, a fitness room, indoor heated pool, and whirlpool.There are a variety of room types to meet your needs whether you are traveling for business or leisure. We have deluxe rooms, whirlpool, two room and extended stay suites available. All of our beautifully decorated guest rooms feature microwaves and refrigerators. In addition, they feature flat screen TVs with cable and HBO, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Suites Red Wing Hotel Red Wing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.