We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Amazing! Way better then saint James and a better price!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pratt-Taber Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pratt-Taber Inn
706 W Fourth St, Red Wing, MN 55066   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Red Wing B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing! Amazing! Way better then saint James and a better price!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

What a Jem! In the heart of downtown red wing. We walked everywhere except when we went to a winery which deb (the owner of the inn) fiancée offered to drive us!
The room was spectacular! Chandeliers and oh my the bed!! I didn't want to leave! We were there on a very hot weekend and there are air conditioner units in each room you can control! Bonus! Plus the bathroom in our room was new and clean!! Marble walls and shower! Brownies sitting out when we came home and endless trail mix and cold bottled water!! Breakfast was fabulous! I can't say enough good things about this place I would recommend it to anyone!!! This was our first stay at a B&B and I don't know if we will ever stay at a hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
95
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had an agreement with the owner that if she was not home home when we arrived, the key would be left in a certain spot so that we could let ourselves in until she got home. We arrived at 4 PM to a locked door and no key! The porch was dirty and we went back to the car and called the owner only to get a message. Waited till 6 and called again to no answer. Forced to get a hotel downtown. About 8 PM, I get a call from the owner asking if I got inside. I said the door was locked and the key was not in the prescribed place. The answer was that the girl that comes in to water the flowers must have locked the door on the way out.....What about the plan to leave the key out? Not a good way to run a B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was my first B&B experience and I loved it! Deb was so gracious and hospitable. The king size bed was very comfortable and the homemade cooking was delicious! (gourmet breakfast in the morning and brownies waiting for us when we returned home!) This was our first but will not be our last trip to the Pratt-Taber Inn. This was a delightful experience and anyone that has a chance to stay here should.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quito
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My fiance and I just returned from a road trip to the Twin Cities and the night we spent at the Pratt-Taber was one of the highlights of our vacation. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a warm hello and a glass of wine. Our room was thoughtfully decorated and beautiful. We stayed in the Spring room but saw most of the others as well and would have been equally happy in any of them.

When we woke up in the morning, there was hot coffee waiting outside our room. By the time we came down for breakfast, delicious smells were wafting out from the kitchen. I took a few minutes to pet Deb's adorable cat and enjoy the screen porch while my fiance chatted with a friend of Deb's. Breakfast was just as great as the other reviews have claimed.

Deb could not have been a better hostess - it felt more like we were visiting a friend than staying at a B&B. We highly recommend the Pratt-Taber Inn and hope to pass through again on a future trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights and loved Deb's cooking (yummy breakfasts!) and gracious hospitality. The screened-in porch is icing on the cake. Deb's recommendations for a dinner spot and river tour made our stay in charming Red Wing so enjoyable.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband blindly booked this online, and luckily for both of us, the B & B gods were smiling on us. Deb shares her beautiful, painstakingly restored home with gracious aplomb. We were greeted warmly and immediately found ourselves unwinding with a glass of wine on the porch. Our room was formerly the maid's quarters, probably a bit smaller than the other rooms, but plenty of space, and beautifully appointed. The bathroom was huge, with a soaking tub option. Breakfast was a treat for foodies, but non-threatening to people who just like the basics. Delicious. Easy walking distance to the river and downtown. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

It is difficult to find new descriptors for the Pratt Taber or for the owner/hostess. We found our overnigiht to be extremely relaxing. Deb has a dresser in the upstairs hallway with trail mix and that evening some brownies. In the fridge she keeps bottled water on hand for guests. Mornings a pot of coffee will appear at 8 am with a scrumptious breakfast downstairs at 9 am. That evening we had planned that upon return from our dinner we would go back out for drinks. One look at the front screened in porch had us out buying wine to enjoy while people watching and enjoying the summer's evening. Out came Deb with a plate of brownies for us to enjoy with the wine. In the morning we took our coffee out to the porch where fellow guests eventually joined us. Max, the adopted Rag Doll cat, is a bonus with his mellow demeanor and large frame. Within fifteen minutes there is hiking/walking at Frontenac State Park, wandering in downtown Red Wing or crossing the river and driving the Wisconsin River Road through eclectic small towns.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pratt-Taber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pratt-Taber Inn

Address: 706 W Fourth St, Red Wing, MN 55066
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pratt-Taber Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pratt-Taber Inn to your Saves list