We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect First Experience with B&Bs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pratt-Taber Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pratt-Taber Inn
706 W Fourth St, Red Wing, MN 55066   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Red Wing B&B and Inns
quito
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Perfect First Experience with B&Bs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My fiance and I just returned from a road trip to the Twin Cities and the night we spent at the Pratt-Taber was one of the highlights of our vacation. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a warm hello and a glass of wine. Our room was thoughtfully decorated and beautiful. We stayed in the Spring room but saw most of the others as well and would have been equally happy in any of them.

When we woke up in the morning, there was hot coffee waiting outside our room. By the time we came down for breakfast, delicious smells were wafting out from the kitchen. I took a few minutes to pet Deb's adorable cat and enjoy the screen porch while my fiance chatted with a friend of Deb's. Breakfast was just as great as the other reviews have claimed.

Deb could not have been a better hostess - it felt more like we were visiting a friend than staying at a B&B. We highly recommend the Pratt-Taber Inn and hope to pass through again on a future trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
95
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights and loved Deb's cooking (yummy breakfasts!) and gracious hospitality. The screened-in porch is icing on the cake. Deb's recommendations for a dinner spot and river tour made our stay in charming Red Wing so enjoyable.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband blindly booked this online, and luckily for both of us, the B & B gods were smiling on us. Deb shares her beautiful, painstakingly restored home with gracious aplomb. We were greeted warmly and immediately found ourselves unwinding with a glass of wine on the porch. Our room was formerly the maid's quarters, probably a bit smaller than the other rooms, but plenty of space, and beautifully appointed. The bathroom was huge, with a soaking tub option. Breakfast was a treat for foodies, but non-threatening to people who just like the basics. Delicious. Easy walking distance to the river and downtown. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

It is difficult to find new descriptors for the Pratt Taber or for the owner/hostess. We found our overnigiht to be extremely relaxing. Deb has a dresser in the upstairs hallway with trail mix and that evening some brownies. In the fridge she keeps bottled water on hand for guests. Mornings a pot of coffee will appear at 8 am with a scrumptious breakfast downstairs at 9 am. That evening we had planned that upon return from our dinner we would go back out for drinks. One look at the front screened in porch had us out buying wine to enjoy while people watching and enjoying the summer's evening. Out came Deb with a plate of brownies for us to enjoy with the wine. In the morning we took our coffee out to the porch where fellow guests eventually joined us. Max, the adopted Rag Doll cat, is a bonus with his mellow demeanor and large frame. Within fifteen minutes there is hiking/walking at Frontenac State Park, wandering in downtown Red Wing or crossing the river and driving the Wisconsin River Road through eclectic small towns.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in a few B&Bs-and I'm always a little hesitant in what to expect. This was an unforgettable experience! I stayed in the Spring room which was very delightful and complete with a claw foot tub/shower! The owner was so pleasant and helpful and even served fresh, hot brownies before bed. The breakfast was first rate-a true gourmet experience! I highly recommend a trip to Red Wing with a stay at Pratt-Taber Inn!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Wondeful B&B located in beautiful Red Wing, MN on the Mississippi River. Beautifully decorated period house within walking dstance to downtown Red Wing with the St. James Hotel and Sheldon Theater as attractions. Our hostess, Deb, was so personable and very knowledgeable about the history of the house she has lovingly restored. Delicious night time treats, morning coffee and tasty breakfasts. My friend and I spent 2 nights there as a gift from my son and daughter-in-law and couldn't have asked for a better gift. Thank you, Deb, for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Four rooms to choose from: winter, spring, summer, fall each wih their own distinctive decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

we spent 2 nights here after a lot of travel across continents and before our long flight back home to India and i cannot think of a better place to unwind, relax and just be. the B&B is gorgeous- from the lovely old world ambience ( every piece in every room chosen with care) , great breakfast and Deb's warm and easy hospitality . i would recommend this place highly

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pratt-Taber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pratt-Taber Inn

Address: 706 W Fourth St, Red Wing, MN 55066
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pratt-Taber Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pratt-Taber Inn to your Saves list