We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most charming and fun B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pratt-Taber Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pratt-Taber Inn
706 W Fourth St, Red Wing, MN 55066   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Red Wing B&B and Inns
LA
1 review
“The most charming and fun B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Inn has been beautifully restored with cool taste and lovin' care---you feel it imediatly. Every room has it's own vibe, and they are all excellant. This place is just special. We've experienced Napa to New England and enjoyed them all, but this experience is a notch above. Plus she has a great cat...Max. He too is quite unusual.

Debbie the owner made us feel so welcome it was a pleasure. She also makes the best brownies and the most amazing breakfast as well. She really is quite a wonder. Next time we go to Redwing we will stay there again, and probably take Debbie to dinner with us, she's so fun!.

Room Tip: Just don't miss it if you are in the area. Nosh is a great restaurant 15 min. away in Lake City
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
92
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, MN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This cozy B & B occupies a wonderfully restored late 19th Century brick house near the heart of Red Wing, MN, just an hour’s drive from the Twin Cities. Each of the four rooms has a fireplace and is tastefully decorated with furnishings of the period. Our room (“L’automne”) was spacious with several comfortable chairs and ample storage for our clothes. The en suite bathroom had a deep claw-foot tub and was supplied with handmade soaps. Deb, the proprietress, provides thoughtful touches throughout the day -- coffee outside our room in the morning, homemade super-chocolaty brownies, and Friday evening wine and cheese, hosted by Deb and her companion, Max. Breakfasts were substantial, healthful and delicious. Deb was always nearby, willing to refill your coffee cup and add to the conversation.

These features alone allow us to rate the Pratt-Tabor Inn a five-star experience, but over and above all this is Deb’s open, friendly nature that enhanced our experience even more. Then there is Max the cat who literally lives up to his name -- he’s a BIG boy with a wonderful friendly personality who likes any attention that guests give him. Even if you aren’t a cat person, Max will win you over.

The Pratt-Tabor is a perfect place to spend the weekend. We are looking forward to another visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed with the Pratt-Taber Inn the first weekend in November. Never having stayed with a Bed and Breakfast before we didn't go in with any expecations. With that said, Debra exceeded what I hoped for with a gorgeously decorated home, absolutely gourmet breakfast (spoiler for those that haven't been: there was a dessert portion to each breakfast), and an incredibly inviting setup with bottled water, wine glasses and brownies available at any time of the day. Waking up in the morning, Debra had fresh coffee made and available to the guests with needing to disturb anyone.

The rooms were exquisite. Decorated in the seasons and with our room being of the winter theme, I didn't think to expect so much warmth. The bed ended up being one of the most comfortable sleeping experiences of recent memory. One of the blankets was so comfortable, my girlfriend insisted Debra tell us where she purchased it and we tracked it down the next day.

As you can imagine, I am a fan and the only critique I can think of is to make the apple pie we had for the first breakfast available at all times. It was way too good to only have once.

Room Tip: We didn't try the others, but thoroughly enjoyed the winter room with an exceptionally comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Had a WONDERFUL stay with Deb & Max in the Summer suite at Pratt-Taber. Not sure we'll be able to have another B&B experience without always comparing it back to our time here in Red Wing. It was like they make it look in the movies...just lovely. Delicious homemade breakfasts, a lovely hostess, plenty of privacy, wonderful conversations with new people...all in a lovely backdrop. Autumn until Christmas is a magical time to visit as Deb's decorative creations are worth seeing all on their own. 8 months pregnant and I couldn't have been more comfortable... The attention is really spent on the fine details, and Deb clearly loves and is great at providing such a comforting experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Pratt-Taber isn't perfect, but perfection isn't the domain of any B&B anyway. We spent two nights in the Summer Room, and quickly grew to love its quirks and comforts. Deb, the innkeeper, is incredibly personable, dispensing delicious frittatas and entertaining stories in equal measure; and Max, the 30-pound cat that roams the Pratt-Taber and confidently exposes his belly to guests, is a fitting mascot. Situated just a few blocks from Red Wing's downtown and the Mississippi River, we found the inn a convenient launch for our daytime activities and a welcoming home when we returned. We will definitely be back at the Pratt-Taber the next time we are anywhere near the Southeast Minnesota area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We enjoyed our two days at Pratt Taber Inn. Deb was most gracious. Our "autumn" room was so comfortable. I was concerned because we had stayed at a Victorian home before and the furniture had been so tiny and fragile that nothing was comfortable. Not at Pratt Taber, we felt at ease just sitting and reading or visiting. Aside from the trains that you will hear anywhere along the Mississippi, the house was so quite. We could hear nothing from other rooms or any part of the house. We didn't even hear her bring up the coffee to just outside our room in the morning. There were always brownies and other snacks available. Breakfasts were yummy. I liked the scones and my husband was more than willing to have a little dessert after breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our one-night getaway from the Twin Cities at the Pratt-Taber Inn. The place is oozing character, the food is quite good, and Debra gave us a warm welcome. The restoration work on the house takes you right back to the Victorian era, and yet still has plenty of modern amenities. Very comfortable bed. For all this, it's amazing it's not more expensive.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pratt-Taber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pratt-Taber Inn

Address: 706 W Fourth St, Red Wing, MN 55066
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pratt-Taber Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pratt-Taber Inn to your Saves list