We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting my silverplate out of the closet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pratt-Taber Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pratt-Taber Inn
Save
You added Pratt-Taber Inn to your Saves list
706 W Fourth St, Red Wing, MN 55066   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Red Wing B&B and Inns
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
“Getting my silverplate out of the closet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

April 30, 2012

You have inspired me to get my silverplate out of the drawer and begin using it again. We so enjoyed all your antique filled rooms and the tour of "things to come." Coffee, breakfast, and treats were delicious. Appreciated the lovely linens and the trip back in time. Don and I will be back. May even plan a girlfriend trip in the fall! Best of luck in your new renovation project.

Kay & Don

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
105
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Deb made us feel more than welcome from the first greeting through our final goodbyes the next morning. Sharing a glass of wine she served with cheese and crackers, we learned about the house's history, her renovation, and got dinner recommendations. We met her delightful cat Max, who resembles a persian sheep rug. Deb's breakfast is way, way beyond anything we have had for many years at similar establishments--the very best french toast served with real maple syrup, superb mixed fruit, whipped cream, smoked bacon done to perfection, apple turkey sausages, great coffee and juice, all in quantity. Vintage woodwork and antiques melded with modern tile shower and good beds and linens, all in a quiet, quaint neighborhood in one of Minnesota's top tourism destinations!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My first time with a B & B inn was one of the best experiences of my life. The atmosphere of Pratt-Taber was totally charming. The decor, from the living and dining room, to the bedroom was outstanding. The bed was so comfortable that I sank in it and had a hard time getting up so I could go to dinner! And the brownies! Yum! The only thing that beat that was the breakfast that I had in the morning. My only disappointment was that I forgot to take the last brownie from the tray when I left. Thanks Deb for a wonderful visit! You made me feel like I was leaving a friend's house. I'll be back again. Oct.?

Room Tip: I stayed In the Winter room which had a King size bed that could convert to 2 beds and had a blue de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We only stayed at the Pratt-Taber for one night but would have loved to stay longer. Deb is an outstanding host and welcomed us warmly, suggesting places to dine and answering questions about her home. Breakfast was delicious. I can't imagine how we could have had a better time and plan to return.

Room Tip: All are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAMSEY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I was looking for a get-away oozing with charm and a friendly atmosphere to take my cute little wife. We were very fortunate to pick the Pratt Taber Inn in Red Wing. Our hostess Deb was very gracious and has an infectious laugh. She made us feel right at home in her beautiful inn. We were just a few blocks from downtown Red Wing and enjoyed the renovated theater, the little shops and sounds of church bells every hour on the hour. It is a bit like a Norman Rockwell painting come to life. Highly recommened. Jim Moldenhauer, Ramsey, Minnesota.

Room Tip: The Autumn Room at Pratt Taber was beautiful, felt like had traveled back in time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This was my first visit to a B & B and I must say, Deb has set the bar extremely high. The craftsmanship of the Inn and it's decor is absolutely stunning. Warm brownies outside your room at night, to a pot of coffee waiting the next morning. Deb is/has herself a real gem with this Inn and I look forward to returning.
This is definitely a must see/stay in Minnesota.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed with Deb at the Pratt-Taber for our anniversary. We have stayed in other B&Bs and this stay had to be one of our best. The house is tastefully renovated without losing the character of the period. Deb is a wonderful innkeeper and host. She made it feel like we came home. The next time we are in Redwing, we will stay here no question.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Spring Room. I especially loved hearing the church bells from down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pratt-Taber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pratt-Taber Inn

Address: 706 W Fourth St, Red Wing, MN 55066
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pratt-Taber Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.