We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class, charm and wonderful atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The River Nest B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reads Landing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The River Nest B&B
20073 County Road 77, Reads Landing, MN 55968   |  
Hotel amenities
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Class, charm and wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The River Nest was very nicely designed as a bed and breakfast, so all the details make it a wonderful and enjoyable place. The room was spacious, with a fireplace in between the sitting room with a fantastic jacuzzi tub. The decoration was modern and simple, just right and very welcoming. Bill and Carol were great hosts and the food was delicious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

I would highly recommend staying here when in Wabasha. We planned on spending one night on the Mississippi before heading to the Twin Cities the next day. We certainly had an enjoyable stay. Upon our early afternoon arrival, owners Bill & Carol steered us to tour the Eagle Observatory in town. We were not disappointed...we were fortunate to catch a live eagle "show", which was amazing. Our downstairs room was spotless , with luxurious bedding and towels. It had a neat windowed sitting room in front where we could watch the fast moving trains go by. Surprisingly, listening to their sounds as they passed was quite relaxing, though it may bother some individuals. One hour prior to breakfast, we had a knock at the door to find a tray with a pot of coffee and homemade delicious scones (unlike any others I've tasted.) The breakfast was also all homemade and plentiful, consisting of a total of five courses. Before leaving, Carol took our photo and emailed it to us, which was a nice personal touch.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branch, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The River Nest B&B is the most Fantastic B&B I have ever stayed at. I come back year after year, 1st weekend in April Bill and Carol are super Hosts and Carol will not let you leave hungry and her baking is to die for!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This is our sixth stay with Bill/Carol at The River Nest. As I mentioned in the title, this the best B&B experience around in this area. Both of the suites are modern with fireplaces, jacuzzi tubs, and spectacular views of the river (including a perfect spot for watching bald eagles.) They are down to earth, friendly folks that warmly welcome you into their home. Lastly, you should never leave hungry! Carol's homemade breakfasts are tremendous and filling. Thanks again for another great weekend and we look forward to coming again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, Owner at The River Nest B&B, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thank you. Enjoyed your stay very much. Hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove MN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed in the lower suite at the Bed and Breakfast. We enjoyed the jacuzzi and fireplace.
We woke up to seeing about 10 eagles on the river diving for food. Also woke to the yummy caramel rolls and coffee. Carol also had hot chocolate for the non coffee drinker.
The trains do go past but we counted a few then just forgot they were there.
We walked down to the Brew Pub for our meal on New Years.
We had a wonderful time. Also love the huge shower.
Can't wait to spend more time there.

Room Tip: I would probably want to stay in the upper room next time to see the whole view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Nice place. Carol & Bill have a relatively new house with two suites. Very close to Wabasha Minnesota. Trains are close to just about all locations in the area. Nice thing is train does not blow it horn when driving by this location as it does when you are in town. Stayed in the "garden suite" which had its own access to the outside. Breakfast was great. We would definitely stay hear again. http://www.therivernest.com

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The River Nest B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Nest B&B

Address: 20073 County Road 77, Reads Landing, MN 55968
Location: United States > Minnesota > Reads Landing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Reads Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New construction in 2005. The River Nest B&B is on the main channel of the Mississippi River in Reads Landing Mn 90 miles south of the Twin Cities, and 2 miles from Wabasha. Fantastic eagle viewing and bird watching. Train enthusiasts will have the main track of Canadian Pacific and Amtrak right out front. Only 2 suites, so quiet and intimate. Both suites have private bath with walk-in shower, queen bed, fireplace, jacuzzi, sitting room, private deck, TV, wi-fi, and refrig. Carmel rolls and coffee in your room and then main breakfast in dining room an hour later. Breakfast includes fruit dish, and egg-bake main course, breads, jams, and DESSERT. We grow our own raspberries and strawberries and use our own fresh garden produce as the season allows. We would love to host you! GLUTEN FREE, SUGAR FREE, MEAT FREE BREAKFAST UPON REQUEST!! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The River Nest B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The River Nest B&B to your Saves list