We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mystic Lake Casino Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mystic Lake Casino Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mystic Lake Casino Hotel
2400 Mystic Lake Blvd, Prior Lake, MN 55372   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Prior Lake
Hales Corners, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We've been going to Mystic Lake for quite a few years now, and each time we have a wonderful time.

Pros - The rooms are some of the nicest rooms we've stayed in! The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are great, and the casino is probably the cleanest I've ever been in - including the mega casinos in Las Vegas.

Overall, the majority of the staff are great...they are friendly and helpful, whether on the phone or in person. Granted, not 100% of the staff would get an "A" rating...but most would.

Cons - Each time I make reservations, they keep our preferences in their computer system. Although I ask for a room on the 3rd floor, which is the casino/lobby level, it's nearly impossible to have that request fulfilled. It doesn't matter if I make reservations months ahead or only days ahead. They actually don't even accept requests for the 3rd floor. They only enter "low floor". I don't understand why they can't at least attempt to honor that request.

Another thing that I don't understand - in such a nice hotel, why not include a refrigerator in each room? Instead you need to ask for one and they are given on a first come, first serve basis. In addition, there are no microwaves.

Overall, the pros outweigh the cons! I highly recommend staying there!

Room Tip: Request a refrigerator if desired
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    53
    31
    17
    19
See reviews for
35
55
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have stayed here a couple years ago, and it looks like they updated the bathrooms in the rooms. The beds are comfortable. The carpets and comforters might need updating. They are clean though. Connected to the casino, so you can go from taking a nap to losing a bunch of money within minutes. The staff is really friendly. Will return

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel here is basically a five-star facility tied around the gaming community's needs. They have fabulous room amenities and top-rated food dishes to be sure. As long as you don't mind the noise of the gamblers at the casino, you will be fine. They have a unique/huge fireplace upon entering the place that is very mesmerizing! Have fun doing everything that the place offers.

Room Tip: If you can get a suite on the 16th or 17th floors, you will be extra happy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

A girls weekend that was epic in every possible sense. Check-in was a smooth process and the front desk gal was terrific. Very courteous, very helpful and quick. Gave me the run down on hotel policy, directions and off I went. You have to show your hotel key every time you head for the rooms, I actually didn't mind this. It's very secure for solo female travelers if you were to want to head there by yourself.

I booked an Executive King room. These rooms are on the top floors and they boast the best view and frankly the best bang for your buck. Room is ridiculously spacious. Big bathroom with granite vanity, large shower, plenty of towels and toiletries. Large king bed with tons (6?) pillows, warm enough covers (it was cold that weekend) and extras stowed away in the armoire. The armoire was quite large. The left had a long door that opened to reveal a handy security box we used all weekend. Totally convenient to lock up the laptop, cash, etc in and super easy to use. It also contained the luggage rack. The TV was a decent size flat screen but we didn't use it beyond a quick check of the weather. The other side held our coats, etc.

Lots of natural light in these specific rooms which was really nice. We had an east facing room that made it nice to see the sunrise. The main room had your typical end tables, chair and then a table with 2 chairs next to the window. The other part of this room was a sitting area with a over sized sofa that had a pull out bed. Large screen tv in that area as well, and it also had large windows looking out to the northeast. A friend used the bed and said it was plenty comfortable. Pillows stowed in the armoire were useful for the pull out and a quick call to the front desk/housekeeping had them bring up the blankets. (Considering this call was placed at like 4am and it only took a few minutes was impressive.)

All in all, it was an excellent experience and our room was a steal at the price we paid for everything we got and the care the staff took to meet all our needs. Housekeeping had the room pristine when we arrived, too. Working in the industry, I know the value of good staff, especially the housekeeping. And whoever was responsible for housekeeping the weekend of 1/25-1/27 on the 14th floor needs some special recognition. They're excellent.

Though we didn't use the pool/spa/fitness center, we did go check it out. Pool is a nice size, the fitness center is very tiny but they have a shuttle that will take you to an off-site (free of charge) facility to use a massive gym and there's more to do there. Didn't investigate, but there were details in the booklets in our room.

Anyway, I'll stay here again in the future for any show I decide to see at Mystic. Despite being a local, the convenience can't be topped. :)

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the upgraded Executive King. It's the top floors, corners of the hotel and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We frequent Mystic Lake for the many outstanding concerts the host in their showroom. We often stay the night as well. Every time we stay, the staff, the hotel rooms, etc all exceed our expectations. It is a bit pricey, but well worth it in my eyes. We will continue to stay here after shows, and while in the area. Make sure you book your rooms early! They fill up quick! Overall, great place to stay, eat, gamble, and to see a show!

Room Tip: We choose the Executive suite. It's nice to have a bigger room, well...just because. Live for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus Falls, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night for a girlfriend get away. We both got massages and loved the spa with it's steam room.
Minnehaha Cafe insure had excellent salads and breakfast.
We did not have a coffee maker in our room which would have been nice to have.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Hotel Rooms were excellant, clean and very very comfortable. Staff was professional. New Bar (Meadows Bar and Grille) on second floor of hotel - excellant. Biggest problem with overall experience was Casino Player's Club and Hotel seem to argue and the Players club sends you an offer and you have to fight to get that price. Normal prices are extrememly high for Casino Hotel. Would not bother visiting again, not worth the extra drive for us. Lots of old machines, and very smokey and noisy, also saw dogs in casino (small dogs) and a young couple with a baby in a carrier playing slots. Security is questionable but to get a drink you need ID even in your 60's.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mystic Lake Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Lake Casino Hotel

Also Known As:
Mystic Lake Hotel Prior Lake
Mystic Lake Hotel
Mystic Lake Prior
Mystic Lake Casino Mn
Address: 2400 Mystic Lake Blvd, Prior Lake, MN 55372
Location: United States > Minnesota > Prior Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Prior Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and luxury are closer than you think – Mystic Lake is just 25 minutes southwest of Minneapolis and St. Paul! Mystic Lake's hotel offers nearly 600 spacious rooms and is just steps from the Midwest's largest casino. So come experience the ultimate Minnesota getaway, without going away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Mystic Lake Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystic Lake Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.