We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Keep Coming Back For The Hospitality....It Is Our Home Away From Home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mystic Lake Casino Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mystic Lake Casino Hotel to your Saves list
Mystic Lake Casino Hotel
2400 Mystic Lake Blvd, Prior Lake, MN 55372   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Prior Lake
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“We Keep Coming Back For The Hospitality....It Is Our Home Away From Home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have been visiting Mystic Lake Hotel since 1996, when a friend of mine first introduced it to me and invited me to stay there with her. I was amazed at the size of the property, the superb upkeep, and professional service. The hotel has been renovated in the last 10 years or so, and the results are phenomenal. It was beautiful before, but is stunning now. The hotel lobby is done in beautiful marble and exquisite chandeliers. There is a cozy fireplace area for those wishing to just relax, read or unwind in this space. The hotel front desk staff know me by name, as do the valet and bell staff who appear to be happy to greet me when I arrive. We all know that check in time is in the midafternoon, but Mystic Lake has always been eager to accommodate me with an early check in, should I arrive prior to 3 p.m. The rooms are consistently spotless, fresh smelling, with linens in perfect condition and workable electronics and amenities. My only complaint would be that the TV choices are way minimal. Why are there like 17 ESPN channels, and about 4 or 5 interactive TV/info channels? Only PBS, CBS, NBC, FOX, TNT and two encore channels. A blackjack channel that doesn't have audio. You can order movie$, lol. I am sure the minimal TV is intentional. They don't want you in the room. The decor is lovely, views are mostly great, convenience to the gaming floor and dining is easy. I feel safe (oh - they have safes in the room too)... At times they are a little overbearing with the security, needing to check your bag or suitcase at bus entrance or hotel entrance, but generally they are very accommodating. The giftshop is awesome, prices are reasonable, and the Mystic Showroom is absolutely gorgeous with no bad seat in the house! Mystic Bingo is a blast, and the fast food venues are YUMMY! Try the Vietnamese Pho at Fusion Noodle Bar, or the tuna sub at the sandwich shop. Waffle fries with nacho cheese are available at the grill, too! Mystic provides free shuttle buses from the Mall of America and various points in the Twin Cities. It's super convenient and the service is great. Rates are sort of high at times/on weekends, but if you belong to Club Mystic, you can be eligible for free or discounted rooms at times, depending upon your level of play. Again, it is my preferred place to stay anywhere in Minnesota, and compares with the hotels of the Strip in Las Vegas.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    74
    48
    23
    25
See reviews for
43
80
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Lots of cons, - not many pros. Cons - front desk slow, surly, and inept. No booze allowed anywhere in hotel! Very tight machines in casino. Very smoky. Hot tub was pretty murky. Location in middle of nowhere. Mattress sub standard. Pros - Room large, and clean. Minnehaha Grill food ok.:

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The hotel is very nice - though we stayed on a Saturday night and thought the rate a bit high compared to neighboring properties.

While it was not a problem for us, prospective guests should be aware that the entire facility, including sleeping rooms, has a no alcohol policy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

The hotel is beautiful, the casino is beautiful with the best selection of slots anywhere. If you're looking for an 85% penny slot,
you'll never find more of them than at Mystic Lake. Enough said.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We spent one night here during the Alan Jackson concert. Our room was very clean and large. We requested a non smoking room but most the of casino reeks of smoke. Our bed was very comfortable and the bathroom linens were soft and smelled good. We were pleased, other than our view of a rooftop. We were put in a handicap room and the shower had no lip, water got all over the bathroom floor but that was not something that couldn't be mopped up. Would stay there again,

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taveuni, fiji
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We werer greeted by a surly front desk person at 11:30 p.m. who told us that our reservation was cancelled due to having our credit card declined. Knowing that it was impossible (we had used it daily coming across the country) we asked for a manager. Our request was denied. We asked why it was declined and was told because of an improper expiration date. We asked for a copy of our folio to see a reference number of being declined. That was denied. We had Visa on the phone who said that there never was any denial or request from this hotel. We were told they were sold out but would re-instate us (wonder where they found the room) and dropped our keys and registration packet on the counter. No apoligy, no admission of their mistake. We were made to feel as if this was our fault. If it was not so late we would have left but sucked it up and explained to our very embarrassed son that they screwed up, were very, very rude and
we would deal with it in the morning but now we needed a place to stay.
Very charged up after our ordeal we went to the casino for a glass of wine to calm down. That's when we found out that this is a totally dry facility. Not a beer in the restaurants, casino, golf course etc. to be had. Try to find that out on their web site and you won't. You can't bring it in either. We would never had booked a place where in a steak house you can't get a glass of wine.
Now the good....the manager, Michael, the was great. When I told him of our plight the previous night he was embarrassed and apoligetic. He also comped us the next 2 nights lodging.. The rooms are o.k. Clean. The facility is very nice and the rest of the staff was excellent. The golf course was amazing...one of the nicest I ever played in the U.S. If only I could have had a beer after 9 holes.
if it wasn't for the check-in and the dryness of it I would highly recommend it. It is classy, friendly and pretty.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Yes a no drinking hotel and casino, loved it. Now if we could just get rid of the smoking. This hotel has amazing concerts, lots to do and food is awesome! Rates are fair. Service good. Tiger Woods designed the golf course, although I don't golf.

Room Tip: Beautiful rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mystic Lake Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Lake Casino Hotel

Address: 2400 Mystic Lake Blvd, Prior Lake, MN 55372
Location: United States > Minnesota > Prior Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Prior Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 586
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let's go for comfort. With so much fun and excitement at Mystic Lake(R) it's nice to know you can recharge in one of 600 spacious rooms. But the luxury and pampering don't stop when your head hits the pillow. Enjoy free Wi-Fi and valet parking, an indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna, an on-site spa and complimentary access to Dakotah! Sport and Fitness. It's the perfect way to stay and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Mystic Lake Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystic Lake Hotel Prior Lake
Mystic Lake Prior
Mystic Lake Casino Mn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystic Lake Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.