We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
11308 Highway 55, Plymouth, MN 55441
(763) 525-0500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 75 Restaurants in Plymouth
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
myreviewsareaccurate
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yuck!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Ordered the big ribs on Sun at 3PM for take-out. Truly, I think they steamed the ribs from the day before and sold them to me. You know making money is the bottom line. I could have cook better ribs in my oven at 350 deg for 3 hours. That's exactly how they tasted. Wet gooey and no flavor. My advise is to stay away from the Plymouth store!!!! This review is accurate truthful and honest.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“I only go here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I go to many Famous Dave's places but this one is one of my favorite stores. The staff and fast, fun, and friendly and I have never had any problems with my order but if I did I am confident it would be fixed to my liking as soon as possible. My favorites are the Mac and Cheese, rib tips and ribs. I always get them naked and dip in Devil's Spit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ Brisket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Like many people I have tried a lot of different Famous Dave's BBQ sauces. They are all quite tasty and flavourful. I had never had the food here though until recently. My company had Dave's cater a lunch for us. Let me tell you it was wonderful bbq. So on that delicious meal inspired me top try the food here at the resteraunt. I ordered a BBQ beef brisket sandwhich with mac and cheese on the side. Well the bun was perfectly toasted and the meat was absolutely perfect. It seemed so tender and full of great flavor. Truly the best BBQ sandwhich I have ever eaten. This place is great and I can't wait to eat here again soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“they forgot how to make good brisket”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

typically love the place but over past few months quality and value had eroded, the once tender briskett meal was dried out and reminded me of an Arbys sandwich and to top it off they dropped their drunkin apple side.. so for briskett ho elsewhere

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Always consistent; good take-out service; food is good but ordinary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Yes, "ribs are just ribs". Good food, and well-executed recipes, but the recipes and flavors don't stand out as special. Reason to go is convenience of take-out, and good & predictable take-out service. There are better places for more original, more true-to-form rib and sides recipes, but they are harder to get to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous Dave's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.