The location was very good - very close to where I needed to be.
Desk was friendly and helpful at check-in. Late checkout was granted, but limited to 2 PM. Unfortunately, they put me in a room facing the main road on the ground floor. The sound-proofing was poor and the road, which didn't seem that busy, was surprisingly noisy at night. Also, the room had venetian blinds, which didn't block out the light effectively. The curtains didn't close, so no joy there.
The room was spacious and comfortable, but the kitchen was not well stocked. One pan, no pots. Even then, the burner doesn't get hot enough to boil water in 45 minutes - I tried and gave up. All the cooking basically had to be done in the (very capable) microwave using pyrex bowls. This is my main complaint about the hotel - what's the point of a residence style hotel if you can't really cook for yourself? I'm not looking for much - a 2.5 qt sauce pan and a burner with enough power to boil water in 20 minutes.
The mattress was sagging, but only on the side closest to the bathroom. It was clear no one had rotated it in a long time.
My room was basically clean - the crew did a good job every day cleaning the dishes and the bathroom. The room could have used a deep cleaning, however. I thought I had lost something, and in my search, I found bubblegum (still in its wrapper), a green army man, and a pink children's toy. It was clear no one had moved the furniture in quite a while. Lots of dust and dirt in the corners.
Restaurant is typical for this class of hotel - pretty poor. Very limited options for low-carb eaters: fake(?) scrambled eggs and breakfast sausage. No tuna, no hard-boiled eggs, very limited veggie selections at breakfast and lunch. Not a big deal - I went to Costco and cooked in the microwave.
The gym is a joke - tiny, frequently out of towels, the equipment is sparse (2x treadmill, 2x elliptical, 1x bike, free weights with two benches, and that's it.) Low ceilings - you can't really do anything over your head if you're standing up. Would have liked to have seen an erg. The equipment needs maintenance, too - he elliptical on the left squeaks fiercely. I didn't use the swimming pool, but it looked nice.
I would say that the hotel is typical for its class, but for the price, you can do better.
Make sure to ask for a room away from the main road. Try to get off the ground floor.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April 11, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for your response on trip advisor about your recent stay in March.
I am glad to hear that the hotel staff was great to work with in extending a late check out for you that day.
I am sorry to hear that there was a soundproofing with the windows in your room. We unfortunately at times have prior guests that do open the windows for fresh air. They do try to shut them, but they can have issues at times with a secure closing. Our staff is trained to check all the windows at check-out to ensure that they are closed and locked correctly. It sounds as though your room may not have been checked prior to your stay. They are double pane glass windows, and when closed correctly shouldn't have any noise concerns. If you would like to contact me, I would be more than happy to look further into the issue further. I just need your name and/or room number to verify where you had stayed.
I am not sure if you noticed or not, but behind the Venetian blinds there are black out shades that can be rolled down on both windows in your room. This would reduce/eliminate any additional lighting to come into your guest suite. The curtains on the exterior of the window are for decoration purposes only, and do not close.
In regards to your comments about the kitchen supplies, I am sorry that you experienced that. We do have fully stocked kitchens that should have a fry pan, a small and medium saucepan and a Dutch oven pan. The staff did not complete that room correctly if those items were not in your room, and I apologize for that. Did you contact the front desk during your stay to make us aware of that so we could get those to your suite for you? It sounds as though the stove top was not functioning correctly. We do have many guests that utilize our kitchens to cook and prepare their daily meals, and have no issues. Could you contact me to let me know the guest suite that you were in, so we can test that stovetop? That should not take 45 minutes to boil water. Other suites we tested take about 5 minutes to boil water.
We do rotate our mattresses each quarter of the year. To help us with that we have a sticker on the mattress itself so we don't rotate to the same sides each quarter. Once I hear back, we can certainly take a look at the condition of that mattress in your suite. We are a very busy hotel, and many of our beds have been upgraded with new mattresses due to our high occupancy.
With part of our Residence Inn brand breakfast standards, we do serve scrambled eggs that are prepared from liquid eggs daily. We also have make your own Belgium waffles, cereal, bread, muffins, fresh fruit, activia yogurt, two varieties of Yoplait yogurt, juice, coffee and traditionally one other hot item that we rotate daily for a variety. The rotational items are usually pancakes, French toast, breakfast burrito, English muffin breakfast sandwich or biscuits and gravy. I am sorry to hear that the options above didn't have something that would work within your diet needs.
Our exercise room is been commented by others as being one of the better hotel exercise room. As you stated in your response, we do have a total of 5 machines, free weights, and a yoga station. Each piece of equipment does have a personal flat screen attached for your private viewing. Unfortunately with the other pieces of equipment that we do have currently don't have the space for the ERG machine, but will look into that as we upgrade our equipment. We will be five years old next week, and do make sure to do quarterly maintenance checks on the equipment.
I appreciate your feedback. We look forward to you coming back and giving us another opportunity to show you what we have to offer.
firstname.lastname@example.org or 763-367-3151
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.