We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wenneson Historic Inn

Wenneson Historic Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peterson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wenneson Historic Inn
Save
You added Wenneson Historic Inn to your Saves list
425 Prospect Street, Peterson, MN 55962   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Peterson B&B and Inns
Shoreview, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Discovered while searching for B&B's near Lanesboro for an anniversary weekend. What a find! Right next to the Root River trail so great access. I'm really glad we stayed here rather than in Lanesboro. Fun to bike to Lanesboro but wonderful to retreat back to the Wenneson Inn for peace and quiet away from the hubbub. Our room was beautiful and we chose a room with a whirlpool tub; perfect for after a long bike ride. The breakfast in the morning was excellent with seasonal fresh fruit, pastries and home made blueberry waffles! The hosts were friendly, hospitable and were a great resource of information for newbies like us to the area. The rates I found very reasonable, especially in comparison to Lanesboro. All in all this is A great value, wonderful place to stay, that I highly recommend. We look forward to returning again soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    2
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
9
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is the second time we have visited the Wenneson and it did not disappoint. Barry and Pam are great hosts who have only your comfort in mind. This B&B is located about 14 miles from Lanesboro, so it's outside the hustle and bustle of all that goes on in Lanesboro, yet is a good bike ride into Lanesboro. This B&B is right on the bike trail and you can even keep your bikes in their garage over night.

As always, I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We found this B&B online . I needed a quiet place to relax near Lanesboro and am so glad to have found the Wenneson in Peterson. We stayed in the Coachman room in the carriage house which was upstairs. It had several skylights, tall ceiling , comfortable bed and 2 comfy chairs, and was spacious. I was surprised how much the carriage house felt like it was part of the main house, but it was built right next to the house and the rooms are of the same style as the main house, so the whole thing is beautifully unified. The owners are very friendly and welcoming and serve a wonderful continental breakfast til 9:30 which I liked, as I didn't have to get up particularly early just to go get breakfast. Everything is spanking clean and neat. It is right on the beautiful bike trails which is another great advantage. The next time I head in that direction I will definitely stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUNCOMBE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Barry and Pam have the personalities and fine craftsman and decorating skills needed to turn an old building with lots of character into an inviting and comfortable place to stay. We came to ride the trails and were very impressed with this establishment and its owners. They keep on raising the bar for themselves with every improvement they make. We enjoyed an awesome breakfast with them this AM. Highly recommend! Kevin and Jan NW Iowa

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The historic Wenneson has been marvelously renovated while preserving its historic, periodic character. Pam and Barry Erickson were congenial hosts and were very informative of the history of the hotel and of the items of interest of Peterson. We were given a tour of the whole hotel, including every guest room. We had our choice from among several of them. The breakfast was more than a basic continental. An added bonus at the Wenneson was a bike rack inside a locked garage where we parked our bikes overnight. We highly recommend the Wenneson, with the Ericksons as owners and innkeepers, and we look forward to our next visit there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We will definitely stay at the Wenneson again! The inn is furnished with beautiful antiques and has a very homey feeling. Our room was the Coachman - a large, tastefully decorated room with a whirlpool tub to relax in after our rides. They serve a nice continental breakfast (pastries, bagels, fruit, waffles, yogurt, juice, coffee) that is just the right amount of food before heading out for a ride. Pam and Barry, the innkeepers, were very friendly and helpful. Being able to keep our bikes in their garage was great as we were able to go out to dinner, etc without having to bring them along. At night the inn and town is very peaceful which was just what we were looking for. I selected the Wenneson in Peterson for our 2 night stay because it is centrally located on the trail which makes it perfect for taking 25-30 mile rides in either direction right from the inn - Rushford/Houston to the east and Whalan/Lanesboro to the west. If you crave the hustle & bustle of Lanesboro (we did not) it is an easy ride there and you can park your bikes at the Visitor Center, shop and sightsee for as long as you wish (two hours was enough for us), and then ride back to quiet, peaceful Peterson.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This wonderful place was close to the Root River trail and extremely peaceful, relaxing and comfortable. We felt like guests staying with family. Pam and Barry were gracious, caring hosts who offered privacy but helpful tips fora out the area. Highly recommended for a nice weekend. We will be back, beautiful home!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterson
4.8 mi away
Meadows Inn Bed and Breakfast
18.1 mi away
Oakenwald Terrace
Oakenwald Terrace
#1 of 1 in Chatfield
4.5 of 5 stars 4 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hillcrest Hide-Away Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wenneson Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wenneson Historic Inn

Address: 425 Prospect Street, Peterson, MN 55962
Location: United States > Minnesota > Peterson
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Peterson
Number of rooms: 9

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wenneson Historic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.