We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIRST GUESTS IN PENGER VAULT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wenneson Historic Inn

Wenneson Historic Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peterson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wenneson Historic Inn
425 Prospect Street, Peterson, MN 55962   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Peterson B&B and Inns
Ankeny
1 review
“FIRST GUESTS IN PENGER VAULT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We've absolutely loved our times at The Wenneson! This was our second stay and we found it equally as charming as the first time. We stayed the weekend of August 4th, celebrating our 33rd Anniversary. We were the first guests at the Penger Vault which made our stay extra memorable! Our room was beautiful, bright, and spotless! Pam and Barry could not have been more accommodating and friendly! On Saturday it was raining "cat and dogs" and Pam offered us the use of an umbrella and rain ponchos which we gladly accepted. Breakfast was great with waffles hot off the griddle, pastries, fresh fruit, cereal, juices and coffee. We also loved having our bikes safely tucked away in storage for the night. We highly recommend BOTH The Wenneson and The Penger Vault! We cannot wait to come back! Thank you, Pam and Barry!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    2
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
9
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife & I just returned from a very pleasant stay at this beautifully restored historic Inn. Very tastefully decorated rooms, all with private baths, were very comfortable. And the Inn was remarkably quiet at night – even with the full house.
Pam & Barry were very cordial and accommodating throughout our stay and were most helpful with directions and recommendations for dining.
We appreciated the garage for storing bikes at night (locked) and the spacious porch for relaxing and visiting with other travelers.
We both look forward to visiting with the innkeepers again. I’m anxious to see what Barry & Pam are able to do when they direct their talents to the Old Bank Building.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our group of eight had a wonderful 3 day stay at Wenneson Inn. We enjoyed the bike trail that runs right by the B&B. Pam and Barry were gracious and helpful hosts. We were served a good breakfast, spent the night in a lovely room, clean, nicely decorated and comfortable. They were helpful in suggestions for area places to eat and information about the bike trail. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and two teenage children recently spent three nights in the Attic Room at the Wenneson Historic Inn. The location was perfect, right on the Root River Trail. The suite was the perfect size for us, with two bedrooms, a sitting area, and a large bathroom. It was very clean and more comfortable than the typical hotel room, and also very reasonably priced. We were able to use the garage for locking our bikes overnight, and there was also a refrigerator for storing our snacks. It was perfect for biking the east end of the trail, which is less heavily traveled than the Lanesboro area. Pam and Barry also provided a nice breakfast. Judy's Kitchen restaurant is two blocks away, where I had a great milk shake, and there are several more dining options in nearby Rushford. I highly recommend the Wenneson Inn!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was a very nice, historic inn that was restored beautifully. We stayed in a beautiful, spotless room with our own bathroom and had a secure place to store our bikes. There was a large porch to sit and relax in the quiet little town and a beautiful fountain. She had roses and other flowers for us to enjoy. Our hosts were very friendly and full of stories and history of the area! We had a wonderful breakfast. We will definitely stay there again! The only thing is we had to go to another town to eat supper. A little restaurant or pub there would be nice!

Room Tip: go to their website and look at the different choices. They also have a bank they are re-doing that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband and I spent last weekend at the Wenneson Historic Inn. Our hosts, Barry and Pam could not have been nicer. We were treated with first rate hospitality. The room was nicely decorated, charming and spotless- we've never been in a cleaner room. The common areas were warm and welcoming. We had a nice breakfast - Belgian waffles,pastries,fresh fruit,juices- with good conversation with Barry and Pam. The location was convenient to all of the local attractions including right off the bike trail. Barry and Pam graciously helped us with our minor bike repair and helped us schedule a golf outing. We would highly recommend this Inn to anyone looking for a quiet get- away

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I recently spent a weekend in Peterson as guests at the Wenneson Historic Inn.
Not only is the inn itself very unique and charming, but the hosts were very gracious and accomodating to us, such as offering to lock our bicycles into their own garage overnight for safekeeping. We stayed in a separate building - an old bank(!) building that has been converted by the Inn owners to a residence-type room. This building is about a block away from the main inn, and when I accidently locked our key in the room on the first day there, a quick call to the owner brought her walking over to let us back in. The room was nicely appointed, very large, comfortable, and quiet even though it is on Peterson's main street, next to a restaurant. We are already making plans to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wenneson Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wenneson Historic Inn

Address: 425 Prospect Street, Peterson, MN 55962
Location: United States > Minnesota > Peterson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Peterson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wenneson Historic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wenneson Historic Inn to your Saves list