We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wenneson Historic Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peterson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wenneson Historic Inn
425 Prospect Street, Peterson, MN 55962   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Peterson B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Not many people venture to Peterson, but choose to stay in Lanesboro instead. I didn't even know there was a B&B in Peterson until now. We stayed at the Wenneson for one night. Pam, the owner, was very accomodating and very friendly. We were in the Coachman Room, which was beautifully decorated, very clean and very roomy. The B&B is literally 50 feet from the bike trail and you can keep your bikes in their locked garage. This is away from the hubbub of Lanesboro. I would HIGHLY recommend this B&B to anyone who wants to get away from it all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    1
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
9
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We took a long weekend for biking and sightseeing. Peterson is located ideally in the middle of the Root River State Trail. The Wenneson was bought by the owners about 17 years ago, I believe, rebuilt by the owners and operated as a B&B until about seven years ago when it was sold on a contract for deed. The deed reverted a few years ago and they have been running it ever since. The husband is a builder and did much of the renovation which thoroughly modern in quality, but very tastefully decorated without excess fru-fru. Our room was bigger than the web site photo would lead one to believe. The breakfast was a buffet of fruit, pastries, coffee, yogurt, waffles. Plenty of hot water for the shower. Very quiet, lots of stars. We had a three day weekend and the got a great discount on the Sunday. We could keep our bicycles in the garage (locked at night) so we didn't have to shlep them around. Breakfast can also be had Judy's a block away and there is a Friday night Fish Fry there. While the fried fish is good, the boiled (yes) fish dipped in butter was supprisingly good as well (good price, huge portions). 5 miles away is Rushford where the Creamery has has good food for lunch or dinner (burgers, sandwiches, pizza) and 36 flavers of good ice cream. The 2 scoop cup can feed 4 people but most people seem to finish it off themselves (I couldn't). Pick up a couple of county road maps in Houston or Lanesboro at the info centers at the ends of the trail. Go south from Peterson or Rushford on any county road (especially the gravel ones which are well kept up) and drive into and above the valleys that make up the bluff country. Easily spend a couple of hours in the fall and see quaint farms, even an old mill, and more corn and soy beans than you knew existed. You'll have the roads mostly to yourself, and if you see a big farm dog eyeballing you as you stop for a photo, don't get out of the car. Have a healthy and delightful breakfast or lunch at the Country Store in Highland on Co Rd 10 just 10 min south of Peterson. See a play in Laneboro. The Wenneson is a wonderful well situated. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Monday was a great day for staying at the Wenneson Inn in Peterson, MN. We could check in early enough to enjoy a 14 mile bike ride to Lanesboro where we bought tickets to that night's performance at the Commonweal Theater. Back at the Inn we enjoyed the friendly hospitality of Pam and Barry. Up early on Tuesday for a quick 5 mile ride to Rushford for a giant breakfast as the Norse Kitchen, a must stop, just a couple blocks off the bike trail. We will be back at the Wenneson Inn soon, it's like going home to grandma's house but even better.

Room Tip: Betty's Room [the blue room] on the north side has west and north windows for great light and cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

I was in the area for business and was a little hesitant to stay at a bed and breakfast because I wasn't sure what to expect. I stayed in the treehouse room...very comfortable bed and very nice, thick towels. Great waffles, fruit & coffee for breakfast. The current owners have only been operating the inn since July 2009, but were very friendly and knowledgeable of the area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

I was dissapointed, as I had booked the room off of a website, and because they are new owners they did not honor the pricing or the M-Th special. The breakfast was fine, as we had waffles, fruit, yogurt, juice and coffee etc. The owners seemed really nice and knowledgable of what is in the area. Next time I book any bed and breakfast I will definetely confirm pricing and any specials they have.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenneson, Owner at Wenneson Historic Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
At this time the Kelly's were running the Inn. We are the original owners (The Erickson's) and do honor the special prices for Sunday thru Thursday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biglake
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

My oldest son and I dropped in for a weekend of site seeing and relaxing, I was amazed how much the new owners new of the area, they haven't owned it for a long time, they were so helpful and kind. We cant waite to go in the fall for the colors..Thank you for the great weekend.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

We had a great mid-week, two-nite stay in this lovely hotel right on the Root River bike trail. Charming hosts, clean attractive rooms. Everything we wanted in a romantic get-a-way! Highly recommend for privacy, comfort and convenience to the bike trail.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wenneson Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wenneson Historic Inn

Address: 425 Prospect Street, Peterson, MN 55962
Location: United States > Minnesota > Peterson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Peterson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wenneson Historic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wenneson Historic Inn to your Saves list