We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lakes Cafe

Lakes Cafe
136 W. Main St, Perham, MN
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 20 Restaurants in Perham
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I'm really bummed I didn't have the same experience as everyone else...

We stopped in for lunch the day after The Lakes Cafe reopened after their recent remodel. The service was pretty brutal--it took 10 minutes for a server to greet us, my food came out after my friend was done eating his. Once I received my burger and fries, I was pretty disappointed. My burger was pretty bland with a cold piece of cheese slapped on top and my fries didn't seem to have any potato in them.

One positive if that the staff is really nice! I think the workflow is just a little rough.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perham, Minnesota
1 review
“That dishwasher holly is so sweet and friendly.she makes every comfortable. And get dishes off the table so we can sit when they”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Great people.love the food and rich is so nice to he came out talks to people what a great guy he is . And food came in and try the fish on Friday its to die for. Mmmm

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perham, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I love the food!!! It;'s a go to place in Perham MN. I just wish they were open later then they are. Why do I have to write a 100 characters minimum??

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hometown Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is your basic home style restaurant with all the standard food items you would expect to see on the menu. My favorite is the Cheesy Hashbrowns with Bacon. Order anything on the menu early or late. Owners work the kitchen every day. Open at 4am during deer hunting so you can grab breakfast before you hit the stand.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perham, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Great Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Dine like a local. When you are in the lakes area for fishing, golfing or the weekly turtle races, this is the perfect place for a country breakfast or lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakes Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Lakes Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakes Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.