We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, wonderful family atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cactus

The Cactus
620 3rd Ave SE, Perham, MN
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 20 Restaurants in Perham
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food, wonderful family atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I totally recommend this place! Great, friendly staff, AMAZING food, great menu selection, and family friendly! Wonderful dining experience!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
iron,mn
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Anniversary trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were recommended to this restaurant. My husband and myself found it to be excellent food. I had the Grilled Steak and my husband had the Ground Sirloin stuffed with Blue Cheese. We both thought the food was excellent. My husband also had the Hash brown potatoes which were very good they had butter drizzled on them which made them very tasty.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere is average but if you have to go to the bathroom don't. The bathroom is disgusting!! It hasn't changed over the past two years. Smells, ceiling tiles stained and missing and cold!! . If they don't care what their bathrooms are like I can only imagine the rest. I do like some of their food, buck hamburgers are great. Not on my list of restaurants to go to. I live in the area.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blake M, Owner at The Cactus, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. I do want to assure you our restrooms are the next project we will tackle as soon as the snow melts. We have spent our time and resources remodeling and renovating more critical areas of our establishment. With such a large facility and multiple additions to the original structure, it seems that when one issue arises, about 10 follow. Again we appreciate the response, and will take it in stride to better our facility.

Thank you,
Blake Minge - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fun.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Cactus has always surpirsed me as a customer. Each time I've been there I was expecting something different yet each time I leave I have had a great time. The service is good. The food is good although there are a few menu items priced a little high. The salad bar is decent but not great. I've been there solo and with large groups and the food gets out pretty quick and has always been good quality. I keep coming back so they must do something right. It's worth a try. I really have no complaints!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vergas, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Come for a drink, stay for the ribs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Service was excellent. Nice choice of foods on menu. --Cooked perfectly. The ribs were great! Prices were good!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cactus also viewed

 

Been to The Cactus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cactus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.