We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Paw Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Park Rapids
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Paw Resort
Save
You added Bear Paw Resort to your Saves list
31926 County Hwy 50, (Becker County), Park Rapids, MN 56470   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
LAST MINUTE OPENINGS 2015
East Palestine, Ohio
1 review
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Awesome Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

My wife and I went to Bear Paw in June. We had a very wonderful vacation experience. The owners were very accomodating and took great care in attending to our needs as well as all the guest. It was very peaceful and relaxing. We even got to see the space shuttle as it passed by one night. It is clear that Joel,Tracey, Joshua, Jacob and Becca and have put alot of hard work into making sure this resort is the best in the area (and it is) I know we will return again and we consider this to be a vacation experience we will always cherish. oh yea, the fishing was really good too.
Mike & Brenda Goughenour

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to hear that all of your needs were met to enjoy a wonderful vacation at the lake. Stargazing and watching the Space Station/Shuttle is incredible when you get away from the city lights. Two Inlets Lake does have great tasting fish! Can enjoy Walleye, Northern Pike, LargeMouth Bass, Crappie and Bluegill. Nothing like a fresh fish fry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    1
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
35
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lester Prairie, Minnesota
1 review
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Our family used to vacation at a family resort in Nisswa, MN for years and we decided to try something new. Bear Paw is perfect. The owners are wonderful and truly care about every family having a remarkable stay. Our family has stayed there now for three years, and we plan to continue to vacation at Bear Paw yearly. I would recommend it for anyone. It is relaxing and fun. The cabins are beautiful and clean. We have no complaints!

Room Tip: All of the cabins are beautiful! There is not a bad choice on the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks so much for your review. We are happy that when you found something new it turned out "perfect" for your family. The package of relaxing, fun, and clean is exactly what we want our guests to find staying here at Bear Paw. Look forward to seeing you yearly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony, Minnesota
1 review
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

My husbands family and I have made our vacation at Bear Paw resort for I believe 8 or 9 years now. We absolutely love spending our week there. The owners of the resort have become like extended family to us. They are very accomidating to all of our needs. We enjoy the relaxation, beautiful lake, and new friendships made every year. The resort is very well maintained and the cabins are fantastic. We are made to feel at home when we are there and look forward to spending another vacation with the Hays'. Thank you all soooo much. The Scheevel's

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that Bear Paw has provided you with everything that you need to make it a wonderful family vacation and that you feel at home hear. We will continue to maintain and update the Resort yearly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

The Bear Paw resort is special because of its owners. First, the facilities are extremely clean and well maintained. The cabins (and we've stayed in three different cabins over the years, are modern, comfortable, and cleaner than some 4 star hotels we have stayed in!) The beach areas are raked and cleaned multiple times a day. Firewood and campfires are provide each evening by the the gracious hosts. The lake is absolutely beautiful, clean and full of fish.

Last year was the first time in six years that we vacationed away from Bear Paw. We had a wonderful trip to Montana. It was awesome! But, as we were making our way back across the Dakota's my son said, "Montana was great, but I miss Bear Paw!" Enough said! The owners and gracious host at the Bear Paw are like a second family to us. The website says it all!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks so much for your review and the 4 star compliment. We are very picky about cleanliness in all aspects of the resort in and out. We want our guests to arrive, unpack and enjoy from the moment they set foot on Bear Paw Resort with no worries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand forks, nd
1 review
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

I have been going to Bear Paw for over 10 years. It is one of the best resorts in the state of Minnesota, and has outstanding accommodations for families of all ages. The owners are a responsible, caring family who work hard to make your stay one that is memorable and family related. Events are organized each day to allow for community involvement, however there is no pressure to attend. Our family had a huge reunion, which included multiple cabins. The owners were VERY accommodating, and have been this way for many years. They care about each person who comes to stay at Bear Paw, and are friendly, loving and kind. There are so many things you can do from fishing, boating, campfires, volleyball and ice cream sundaes! It is so much fun to watch small children release butterflies! Cabins are beautiful, clean and secure. The owners have resort policies to support a safe environment for families of all ages. If you love the loons, quiet sunsets and want a peaceful vacation, this is the place for you! I will be going for many years to come!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and staying with us since we have moved here. Yes we work hard to provide very clean and maintained accommodations along with maintaining a safe and secure environment as you mentioned. This is very important when you have many little ones running around and also have guests that are here for the peace and quiet. We look forward to more years with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

We felt we were all under the microscope!!!! The owners were VERY controlling!! Be carefull of the "rule book" we all felt like we were in grade school...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Sorry your vacation stay with us was not what you had hoped. Our Welcome book that is provided in each cabin shares guidelines for all of our guests to help provide a safe and secure environment for all guests of all ages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan, Minnesota
1 review
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

I have been vacation in the Park Rapids area for over 20 years, staying at many resorts in the area. The last 3 years, my family has stayed at Bear Paw and have really enjoyed our stay, so much that we have re-booked again for next year. The cabins and grounds are very clean and well kept up. All the cabins have been remodeled. My wife and I along with our 2 daughters always have a great time and look forward to it each year. We have met some new friends while staying at the resort. The owners are very nice and very accommodating. If you need anything, they drop what they are doing and help you right away. I would highly recommend this place if you like to fish, ski, relax, swim...etc.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you found your accommodations very clean and that Bear Paw had everything that you needed for that great family vacation. We are looking forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear Paw Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Paw Resort

Address: 31926 County Hwy 50, (Becker County), Park Rapids, MN 56470
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Park Rapids
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Park Rapids
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned resort with that "Mom-and-Pop" feel where you can choose to relax or enjoy the many fun activities we have to offer. The simplicity of staying in a cozy lakeside air conditioned cabin in the Northwoods provides the opportunity for your family to reconnect and make priceless memories. Along with all the water fun that you will see in this video we also have many other fun FREE activities available for all ages such as: sand court volleyball, tetherball, ping pong, shuffleboard, horseshoes and a huge playground. After going fishing for that first fish fry you can wrap up your evening relaxing at a cozy lakeside campfire while being serenaded by loons as the gorgeous sunset melts into the water. We invite you to come and stay at our "home" on the lake for your next vacation. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Paw Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.