We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Comfort Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2345 43rd St NW, Owatonna, MN 55060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Owatonna
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Splendid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We got a corner room, separated from the other rooms by a stairwell, so it was wonderfully quiet. We had a fridge and microwave, too, for no extra charge. We asked for extra towels and they arrived right away. We didn't use the pool but we looked at it and it looked clean and nice. The breakfast was great, with scrambled eggs and sausage links. The staff was friendly, the parking was convenient. We had an excellent stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAIHospitality, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind words, and thank you for taking the time to post your review of Comfort Inn Owatonna MN.

Comfort Inn Owatonna recently completed a full renovation adding additional amenities such as more microvaves and refrigerators, new paint, carpet, and furniture. Our goal is to continue to improve every guests experience, and provide excellect customer service.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you again.

Sicerely,
Vicki Lysne
Comfort Inn
Owatonna MN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    14
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
16
12
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is an excellent motel, great rooms, fantastic staff and this is the best parking for cars with a separate parking for rv's and tractor trailers.

Let me rant and rave about the rv/truck parking. The car parking is directly in front of the motel like normal, there is a 10 foot grass strip and then you have the rv/truck parking. It's paved with lines for parking. It's far enough from the front of the motel so you won't hear a refrigerated trailer running.

It's within walking distance of several restaurants and a Subway. It's also within walking distance of a Cabella's which can supply cold weather gear and rv stuff to whoever needs it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAIHospitality, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the excellent review ragarding Comfort Inn of Owatonna MN.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us, as well as our hotels location and parking.
We look forward to serving you on future visits to the Owatonna MN area.
Thank you again for taking time to comment on Comfort Inn Owatonna MN.

Sincerely,
Vicki Lysne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Person checking us in and person serving breakfast today were very kind.. The service was great! I wish I caught their names... We came in on 7/22.

Likely due to humidity, our first room and it's hallway smelled like dog urine. Our quick move to another room was fixed immediately. Our bathroom fan didn't work but the water was hot. Seemed like a bit pricey for what we got at 100.00/the night.

It was a great pool and hot hot tub that helped invigorate us after a week in the boundary waters

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAIHospitality, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to review or hotel. We are truly interested in hearing from our guest, and value all comments we recieve.

It is always a pleasure for me to be able to share kind words of praise with our staff on how well they have done. Our focus at Comfort Inn is on customer satisfaction and we strive to be proactive and address any issues as they arise. I am pleased to hear that the front desk was able to move you to a better location during your stay, and that our front desk and breakfast attendant are providing great service. Thank you for sharing the date of your stay, since I was able to personally thank the staff working that day on your behalf.

I am truly sorry about the bad carpet smell, and want you to know that the same staff member had a maintenace request to have the carpets shampooed, which was done the following day.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope we see you again on your next trip to the Boundary Waters or any visit to Owatonna. Feel free to contact me personally next time you are in our area and I would be pleased to personally assist you.

Sincerely,
Vicki Lysne
Comfort Inn
Owatonna MN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I recently stayed in the Comfort Inn...had to go out of town suddenly and arrived late...to find this little number...Customer service was Excellent...The room was clean, and smelled clean...Great location with plenty of dining and Cabela's next door. I could walk to get a bite to eat. Coffee. And bought way too much Chocolate at the local Russell Stover shop. Would stay again and highly recommend. Thank you Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

First, I want to thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am very pleased to share these possitive remarks with our Comfort Inn staff. Thank you for recognizing thier efforts. It is always rewarding to hear "thank you" for a job well done.

I understand that business travelers like yourself often have demanding schedules, so I truly appreciate your willingness to take the time to say "thanks" and share the experirence you had at Comfort Inn Owatonna.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Vicki Lysne
Comfort Inn
Owatonna MN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison,Wi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel is nice. From other reviews here, I guess they did renovations. Overall it looks good. The room was clean. The front desk staff was polite. Overall it was pretty quiet. The only real complaint I had was the breakfast. The advertise a hot breakfast. It started at 6, by 7 the were out of everything "hot" and had to prepare more. We had to be somewhere, so ended up not being able to eat anything but a cinnamon roll. The breakfast room is very small and cramped. There are several lunch and dinner choices at this exit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAIHospitality, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about Comfort Inn Owatonna.

Also, thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent visit to our hotel.

Your kind words for the front desk staff and housekeeping are truly appreciated. Given the nature of the hotel business, the hours can be long and demanding. Good service depends upon our staff giving their very best at all times, that's why it is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff's efforts.

Your comments regarding our breakfast are valued feedback, and I will make sure that we make improvements in this area.

Sincerely,
Vicki Lysne
Comfort Inn
Owatonna MN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, IA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We met some relatives here for the weekend. I was a little skeptical after reading about all of the remodeling, but found no problems. The stairwell carpet was torn out, but in order to make things better I guess it has to be replaced some time! The beds were very comfortable and had lots of pillows. Room was clean and the breakfast had a large selection. It is within walking distance to Cabela's as well as Famous Dave's and a couple of other restaurant selections.

Room Tip: We had a room on the end, away from the elevators. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAIHospitality, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. On behalf of our hotel owner and staff, we are delighted to receive your kind words of praise.

We accomodate many guests, and strive to make each stay a satisfying one. It is through the eyes of our guests that we can accurately assess the quality of our accomodations and service.
Our new renovations and redesign are part of our commitment to continue to provide our guests with the quality they should expect.

Again, we appreciate the kind words. We are committed to toal guest satisfation, and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Vicki Lysne
Comfort Inn
Owatonna MN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

we had just stayed 2 days in feb for a hockey tournament was not impressed at all. One of our parents pulled out the hideaway bed for their child the sheets were dirty, between the second and third floor was vomit when we checked in on friday and was still there sunday when we checked out. Our 6yr old child found a porno box from a dvd in the drawer that was very graffic i brought it to the front desk and was told it would be handled but never recieved an apology. There is only one ice machine that is located on the 1st floor to supply the whole hotel needless to say we went the whole weekend without ice had to purchase it elsewhere cause it could not keep up. If you do decide to stay i hope for your sake manager Joel is not working the guy is unprofessional and very rude.

Room Tip: find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAIHospitality, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at Comfort Inn Owatonna MN. At Comfort Inn we accommodate many guests each evening and strive to make their stay a satisfying one. Therefore, I am very concerned to hear of the problems you experienced during your recent visit.

First, I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken very seriously. Your willingness to share that experience is truly appreciated. Please accept my sincere apology for any inconvenience these issues have caused.

It seems that our housekeeping did not provide the quality of service that is to be expected. Therefore, I have addressed the above mentioned issues with our staff involved in housekeeping and room inspections to help them improve their process.

We are still in the process of a renovation and redesign here at Comfort Inn, and it is our goal to accomplish this with the least inconvenience to you, our valued guest. We are aware there was a paint spill and overspray from the remodel. While the paint spill between 2nd and 3rd floor is permanent, our new carpet is here and will be completed soon.

Your patronage is very important to us and we hope you will allow us the opportunity to demonstate that we can not only meet but exceed your expectations on a future visit to our area.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. If there is anything I may do to assist you please don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely,
Vicki Lysne
Comfort Inn
Owatonna MN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 2345 43rd St NW, Owatonna, MN 55060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Owatonna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Owatonna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge style architecture welcomes you; modern guest rooms; renovated in 2013. Located next door to Cabela's, 2 mi. South of Medford Outlet Center. Restaurants within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Owatonna
Comfort Inn Owatonna
Owatonna Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.